We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax after a hike in Yellowstone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yellowstone Basin Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Gardiner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My wife an I stayed for a couple of days at the Yellostone Basin Inn this past October while visiting northern Yellowstone National Park..The property was only four miles out of town and it was a very easy drive to and from the park. The room we had was large and very upscale with nice ammenities such as a stove, refridgerator, sink, etc. Greg, the owner, manager, and concierge was incredible. He knew which springs were flowing at Mammoth Hot Springs and the best places to hike, see wildlife and other beauties of the park. If in the area again, we will certainly return to the Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

The owner Greg made us very welcome for our 3 night stay last week. Since there were 4 of us we were upgraded into an enormous and spacious suite, complete with 3 bedrooms, kitchen, 2 bathrooms, 2 reception rooms, & a dining room!
The free breakfast majors on organically and locally sourced ingredients, but was definitely american style in content.
Greg is a fountain of good information and is very willing to share his knowledge with the guests, - very helpful!
The only downside of the YBI is that it is nearly 5 miles out of town on the Livingston road, so a drive back into town is necessary each evening for a meal. However the early morning views across the valley from the elevated situation are worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjpvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Although it bills itself as a B & B, don't expect the classic B & B experience. The rooms aren't fancy, the facility is very much akin to a roadside motel in appearance and the breakfast is a fairly limited albeit tasty selection of a few entrees served out of small chafing pans.
However, what in fact sets this place apart is service, and lots of it. Owners Greg and Sabina Strauss are almost fanatical in their attention to detail and dedication in making sure their guests not only enjoy their stay at the Inn but in nearby Gardiner and Yellowstone as well, even to the point of offering a picnic lunch as an option for those spending the day in the Park. Greg is filled with facts, info and suggestions to park visitors and his advice to visit Rosie's cafe in Gardiner and the nearby Lighthouse restaurant were spot on. Affable, helpful and knowledgeable, he was seemingly everywhere at once and made our stay even more enjoyable.
The inn is about 5 minutes outside Gardiner on a quiet hillside, and quite easy to locate. The rooms were meticulously clean and lacked nothing in the way of amenities, and the bed was the best we encountered in a month on the road. Truly exceptional!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gomersdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My husband and I found this Inn on Tripadvisor. It proved to be as nice and clean as the previous reviews stated. There were 2 comfortable queen beds in our room. I liked the feature that the bathroom had been split into 2 rooms; one with the shower/tub and the other with the toilet and sink. This arrangement makes it easier if there is more than just one couple sharing the room. Breakfast was in a separate house where everyone can mingle and enjoy a full hot/cold breakfast. Our thanks to Greg for his tip to not miss the biggest hot basin.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWtraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We were a bit concerned when we were told in a local gas station that the Inn was 9 miles north of town. However 9 became 4.5 in fact, and most of the road is 70mph fast, so in reality its isolated, with good views, but not inconvenient for Gardiner and the northern part of Yellowstone. Their suite allowed us to spread out after a week or so in National Park Lodges, and it was good to find things like a TV in the living room. Breakfast is essentially a no choice hot dish arrangement with a few add-ons, but nontheless tasty. Best though if you inform them of likes and dislikes beforehand. Take some coffee- they provide a coffeemaker but not coffee. Its not really an "inn" tin the sense that a UK person would understand- more like a B&B really.

The alternative choices in Gardiner are not especially interesting, and its easy to conclude that this is probably the best choice in or near town. .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed at the Yellowstone Basin Inn for two nights while we explored the park. We were pleasantly surprised by all aspects of the Inn. The rooms were clean, well appointed and the sheets were great - 100% cotton, nice quality. The Inn serves a hearty and delicious breakfast, a convenience and great way to start the day. I highly recommend taking advantage of the bag lunch for purchase, which was provided complete with a cooler and ice pack. This meant as we explored the park we did not need to worry about finding lunch, or timing our excursion around lunch time.

The best part of the stay was the innkeeper, Greg. He has a wealth of knowledge of the park and is eager to share it. We had limited time and Greg made recommendations for the highlights of the park. He basically planned our trip for us, which allowed us to get the most out of our time. He clearly loves what he does. He enjoys meeting new people, finding out about their plans and how he can help. This is the kind of service that just isn't available in your typically motel or hotel that you would find in Gardiner and made out trip so much more enjoyable than it might have been had we been "on our own."

We even got lassoing lessons on our last day! I highly recommend the Yellowstone Basin Inn as the place to stay in Gardiner.

Room Tip: Lovely suite with 3 bedrooms, kitchen and living area accommodates up to 8 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finnie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Yellowstone Basin Inn, and it served as a great location for access to Yellowstone NP. The owner, Greg Strauss, is very familiar with the YNP and made very specific recommendations about which of the many, many sites in Yellowstone NP to visit. We saved time by focussing on sites and attractions that gave us the biggest bang for our limited available time.

Breakfast was included, and it was delicious. Nice variety of choices in the breakfast bar and great coffee. Nice dining room with a scope for viewing any wildlife that might be on the mountain side across the valley.

Nice hot tub, too.

We had two very good dinners in Gardiner, and both restaurants were recommended by Greg. Dining options can be hit and miss in these small Montana towns, and we were pleased with Greg's recommendations.

If you stay there, ask Greg for roping lessons!!!

Room Tip: We saw the Cottage Suite (although we didn't stay there). This suite would be perfect for a fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
4.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
764 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,058 reviews
4.4 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
371 reviews
4.8 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Basin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Basin Inn

Address: 4 Maiden Basin Drive, Gardiner, MT 59030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gardiner
Price Range: £81 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowstone Basin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run Inn just a few miles north of Gardiner. Our first priority is to welcome you as friends and help you have an unforgettable Yellowstone experience. Comfortable, clean and inviting rooms. This is the Yellowstone you came to see: quiet, scenic mountain views, with wild animals roaming freely. •Enjoy our complimentary hot local/organic breakfast buffet May-Oct. •One-on-one personal Yellowstone itinerary planning included. •Smoke-free and pet-free property •Certificates of Excellence 2011-2016 •Free Wifi, HDTV, private bath, air-conditioning. •Some kitchenettes and full kitchens • Incredible views of the park • Porch with bistro tables/rockers (May-Oct) • Free calf roping lessons on the front lawn (May-Oct) •We make green choices: We recycle. We use earth-friendly laundry soap and natural cleaning products. Free organic toiletries in room. Duvet-style bedding for extra cleanliness. Sustainable bamboo towels. Eco-harvested Made in Montana log furniture. We are active in our local area to help keep the Yellowstone ecosystem loved, cared for, protected and valued. Savor your time with us: Relax and watch a mountain sunset. Calf roping (lassoing) with the owner right in our front yard. Tell stories to other guests on the front porch and listen to theirs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Yellowstone Basin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Basin Hotel Gardiner
Yellowstone Basin Inn Gardiner, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing