We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yellowstone Basin Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Gardiner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at this motel completely. The facilities were clean and very nice. We enjoyed the western theme of the Duke Room. Debra had a wonderful breakfast prepared for us each morning and we also enjoyed the view of Electic Mt and an elk herd while eating in the mornings. Greg was very hospitable and extremely informative as to sights to see and places to go in Yellowstone Park. It was more like a casual time with friends than a motel stay. We will recommend this Motel and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rantuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

I was initially a little worried as we drove out of Gardiner past the usual hotels that we would end up in the middle of nowhere, but I needn't have worried, the Inn is only a few minutes down the road from downtown Gardiner, where we had very good meal at the Iron Horse. The Inn made a very pleasant change from the chain hotels, the room was very spacious, and chatting to the other guests, and the owner, Greg, while enjoying the excellent breakfasts was most enjoyable. Lovely views from the breakfast room - a bald eagle was perching atop a tree opposite, and Greg had a telescope set up for wildlife spotting. We spent two nights at the Inn while we explored the Mammoth area of Yellowstone and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavinia4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at the Inn during our trip to Yellowstone. It is close to the park, and very nice and clean. The innkeepers Greg and Sabina were very welcoming. Greg gave our 11 year old son calf roping lessons as soon as we were checked in, told us where the best places to eat in town were and made sure we had everything we needed. The hot tub was very relaxing, the internet and TV service were great as well. Breakfast was delicious and there was plenty to choose from, breakfast casserole, cold cereal, oatmeal, orange juice, milk, fresh fruit, etc. Sabina marked up our map of Yellowstone with all the best stops and places to see while in the park. The beds were comfortable and the rooms had plenty of space. We were glad to have found it, what a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missfanuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed in the suite on the second floor above the office. Greg, the owner, was very helpful and informative. Advised where to eat in town, where & when to look for specific wildlife in the park and even around the motel. Breakfasts were very nice. Bed was comfortable. Room was spacious and had new furnishings. The only significant negative was there appeared to be no sound barrier between our room and the other upstairs room next to us. We could hear the children constantly running up and down their stairs and we could hear the adults talking over our own TV. Sleep quality and rooms were rated 3 because of the noise from next door.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaddyDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were on family vacation and stayed at a lot of hotels along the way. We were made to feel welcome at The Yellowstone Basin Inn and it was more like the owner's home opened up for guests. We were made to feel at home and very comfortable. The rooms were large and accommodating. Greg provided great tips on restaurants and rafts trips. His calf roping lessons were a hit with the kids (17 and 15 years old!). Great view from the property and my wife and I saw a bald eagle in the tree across the road. The hospitality and service they provided was outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

What a gem! My husband and I were so happy to have found this inn. It is less than 10 minutes away from the Mammoth hot springs area. Best value you'll find in the north yellowstone area. Very cute clean comfortable stay. Internet is fast and breakfast is healthy organic and tasty. They also have a 24-hour hot tub. Greg, the innkeeper, is so friendly welcoming and really goes out of his way to help you. Greg gave tips on places to see and roads to avoid and even gave us a map with his personal highlights, genuinely helpful! Definately an addition to the yellowstone trip and would recommend all family and friends to stay here. Best guest service I have ever experienced, you will not be disappointed! Love the yellowstone basin inn, thank you!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lisaur911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Affordable, clean, quiet gem 4+ miles from the north Yellowstone entrance, away from the hubbub of the park and Gardiner, great mountain views, viewable wildlife, eagle flyway (Yellowstone River corridor). Hot-tub/spa, great breakfasts (in opposition to previous review, portions were MORE than adequate and selection was huge), owners will prepare sandwich lunches to carry on park exploration days. Greg, manager, is friendly, outgoing, available for park and dining advice, and free steer roping lessons, if you're so inclined...perfect place to wind down from a busy park day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harley3335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gardiner hotels
4.3 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
4.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
375 reviews
4.8 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
4.3 mi away
Yellowstone Big Rock Inn
Yellowstone Big Rock Inn
#4 of 6 in Gardiner
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Basin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Basin Inn

Address: 4 Maiden Basin Drive, Gardiner, MT 59030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gardiner
Price Range: £80 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowstone Basin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run Inn just a few miles north of Gardiner. Our first priority is to welcome you as friends and help you have an unforgettable Yellowstone experience. Comfortable, clean and inviting rooms. This is the Yellowstone you came to see: quiet, scenic mountain views, with wild animals roaming freely. •Enjoy our complimentary hot local/organic breakfast buffet May-Oct. •One-on-one personal Yellowstone itinerary planning included. •Smoke-free and pet-free property •Certificates of Excellence 2011-2016 •Free Wifi, HDTV, private bath, air-conditioning. •Some kitchenettes and full kitchens • Incredible views of the park • Porch with bistro tables/rockers (May-Oct) • Free calf roping lessons on the front lawn (May-Oct) •We make green choices: We recycle. We use earth-friendly laundry soap and natural cleaning products. Free organic toiletries in room. Duvet-style bedding for extra cleanliness. Sustainable bamboo towels. Eco-harvested Made in Montana log furniture. We are active in our local area to help keep the Yellowstone ecosystem loved, cared for, protected and valued. Savor your time with us: Relax and watch a mountain sunset. Calf roping (lassoing) with the owner right in our front yard. Tell stories to other guests on the front porch and listen to theirs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Yellowstone Basin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Basin Hotel Gardiner
Yellowstone Basin Inn Gardiner, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing