We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, functional motel at a reasonable price”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yellowstone River Motel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence
Idaho Falls
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clean, functional motel at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The location is excellent, good price and clean. My family rented 2 rooms. One was rather small with a cramped shower and the other room was larger with a regular sized tub/shower. Both rooms were clean and comfortable enough. The rooms were a good value for the 1 night we stayed. The reception gentleman was very friendly and helpful. I would stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    86
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
59
73
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The staff here were very friendly, pleasant, and accommodating. They were helpful and knowledgable about the area. We stayed in the newer part of the hotel. It is a very clean motel, close to shops and restaurants walking distance. The back of the motel over looks the river. Would stay here again, and recommend it to others. Betty was awesome.

Room Tip: Book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank verna506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at this motel last September and we felt that it was a very nice place and a good value for the money. We had a room in the back of the motel property that was only adjoined by 1 room and it had a back door that opened up to face the river. We didn't ask for this room but it was a pleasant surprise!!!! There were some restaurants and shops within walking distance and we felt very safe later at night walking around. The man who checked us in wasn't over the top friendly but he was nice enough. We would stay here again on a trip to Yellowstone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horsedoc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I stayed here in October, 2012. The very first time I entered the lobby I received a warm welcome; they didn't have a room for three so they gave us a mini-apartment at the same price of a standard room.
The apartment was great, the location was great and the deers were just outside the door...it was like sleeping in Yellowstone itself!
We stayed here for two nights while visiting Yellowstone...in our plans we had to move to West Yellowstone on the third day, but we enjoyed the "Yellowstone River" so much we asked for two more nights; unfortunately there weren't vacancy!
If you're planning to visit Yellowstone, go with the "Yellowstone River", you won't regret the choice!!
Don't forget to visit the patio on the river...and to play with the friendly dog!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francesco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE PA USA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Our family of 5 stayed here one night on our way from Bozeman to Wyoming via Yellowstone NP.. I called the motel after reading reviews on TA. I actually called a few times, trying to figure out the best room arrangement because of our family size and 2 boys 1 girl gender mix. Each time I called I spoke to a different staff member, but they were all very courteous and worked to give me the best price. We ended up booking a 3 bedroom kitchenette (really a full kitchen, fully stocked). So we could freeze and refrigerate our water bottles for the park the next day. The kitchen and bathroom were immaculate. The bathroom was very good size. Our 17 yr old son had a double bed in a small room, and the other two had twin beds in a room. My husband and I had our own room and air conditioner. The TV is in the kitchen up on the wall--there isn't a living room (or sofa); but the kids didn't seem to mind. With all the travel time in the car, they were happy just to have time to watch tv. I would definitely stay here again. It is an older property, but for being right down the street from the gate to YNP, it was very economical. We left bright and early in the morning, so didn't have coffee & donuts that were offered (office opens at 7:30 am). I would stay here again. It was within walking distance of shops and restaurants, and while the kids watched tv, my husband and I walked around, had a beverage by the river, and came back with pizza. If you are staying a few days, this would be an economical room because of the kitchen. Lodging can be quite pricey so close to Yellowstone, but I thought the rate for what we had was very reasonable. The room was also quiet. This particluar "room" doesn't have a view, but because of its location, you can easily get out and take a walk around the corner from the room to see the river.

Room Tip: If you have a family of 5 or 6, ask for the 3 bedroom kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UkieFinnGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We were staying south of Yellowstone Park, and decided to spend two days driving the park, which put us in Gardiner Mt. overnight. After a recommendation by a park ranger in Jackson, we stayed at the Yellowstone River, I can't thank that ranger enough. Yellowstone is an old fashioned motor motel, without any frills, but with hugely friendly staff, great location, great recommdations, and as people have said before, that great little area out back that overlooks the Yellowstone River. It's not a Hyatt. It's much more fun..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank St.LouisEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Great place and the best location to visit northeast of Yellowstone. Lamer Valley is the best place to watch wildlife in Yellowstone, and the location of this motel is very convenient to commute between the town and valley. Rooms are clean, good view of Yellowstone River from the patio, and are three stars for our family.

Room Tip: Room with kitchen located in the back of the property recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madison_junction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.7 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#2 of 6 in Gardiner
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone River Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone River Motel

Property: Yellowstone River Motel
Address: 14 Park Street, Gardiner, MT 59030
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Yellowstone River Hotel Gardiner
Yellowstone River Motel Gardiner, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing