We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At natures doorstep”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yellowstone River Motel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just outside Yellowstone, with Elk wandering in the street this location is hard to beat. This is a very comfortable motel with fantastic help. If you are looking for a luxury spa, stay in the city. If you are eager to explore this is the place.

There is alway coffee, tea, a warm smile and two dogs waiting for you in the lobby. Comfort and cleanness are the #1 job for the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A2native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was looking for a value near Yellowstone since I had only a 1 day side trip to take photos. A 14 hour drive to arrive so I was not looking for thrills.
A very clean place with the staff/owners very helpful and friendly. Good beds, very clean bathroom and close to everything. The park, right across the street.
My wife and I have paid double the price for a motel Gardiner the year before, never again if this place has an open room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here in September 2013 on a trip to Yellowstone. The town of Gardiner is very interesting and this motel was a pleasant surprise. After checking in on a lovely, warm, late afternoon we noticed a sign that pointed to the river in back of the motel. To our surprise we found a lovely patio with chairs and a small table overlooking the river. We enjoyed our wine and had an interesting conversation with a German traveler visiting the US with his son. The motel rooms were clean and comfortable and great value for the price. Also only a couple of blocks from town restaurants. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank mdona267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My family stayed at the Yellowstone River Motel for just one night. The room was nice and priced comparatively to other hotels in Gardiner. They have actual cribs, not just a pack-n-play to use if you need one which is nice. We asked for a later check-out due to us needing to drive to Livingston early in the morning the day after checking in to meet with the local priest, and were given one, but it really seemed like the request was a big deal and a big inconvenience. The free wifi is really nice and very easy to connect to, unlike some larger chain hotels. They even have a nice little patio with a view over the Yellowstone River out back. This hotel does not serve a continental breakfast whereas there are other hotels in Gardiner priced nearly the same that do. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Have used a lot of motels for groups and yes the beds are comfy and the place is clean. However the owner took the time to explain where to go that was good on our cycle to Livingston the next day. There was free coffee and all done with a smile. the place was full when we were there which says something too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooooose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Great place for less expense! Has a great view of the Yellowstone River at the back! We stayed there 2 years ago and it was a nice experience. Though we stayed for just one night but it was a good experience. The beds are comfy. Not 3,4,5 star comfy but good for after a tiring day! Has great restaurants along the Roosevelt arch which is just a few minutes away.

Room Tip: Even if you are a couple try and get 2 queen beds. We did that during our Yellowstone trip and glad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Himaan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

It took us longer to go thru Yellow Stone Park than we thought and ended up pulling into Gardiner, MT very late. We thought we would be able to find a more reasonable place to stay in this quaint little town rather than staying in the park. We got to the front desk at 10:30pm and were plesantly greated by one of the owners and her adorable/playful dog. She made us feel very welcome and gave us a great rate on the room. We were in the newer wing with a very comfortable, spacious, spotless room. We were surprised to have a fridge, microwave, toiletries and free Wi-Fi for what we paid for the night, probably the best deal of our entire trip thru Montana! The view of the Yellow Stone River at the back of the hotel is beautiful, be sure to check it out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbiesuegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
764 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,055 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone River Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone River Motel

Address: 14 Park Street, Gardiner, MT 59030
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Yellowstone River Hotel Gardiner
Yellowstone River Motel Gardiner, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing