We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful respite!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gardiner Guest House B&B
Ranked #3 of 6 Gardiner B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
“Wonderful respite!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Gardiner Guest House and wish we could have stayed longer. Lady Nance was a wonderful host making us feel welcome immediately. The home was such a joy to return to after a long day of exploring in Yellowstone. Nancy has considered every detail from having drinking water in the room to having bath salts for a soak in the claw foot tub. Her garden is lovely and there is a porch swing where one can relax with a cup of coffee. I would highly recommend a stay in this beautiful home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
217
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My family and I spent 5 nights at the Gardiner Guest House, 3 in the "Hobbit House" and 2 in the main house. The property oozes charm and Nancy is very gracious. The rooms seem clean, breakfast is very good and there are many thoughtful touches, including snacks, books and videos. We knew in advance that our stay would be split between 2 rooms. I had booked a fishing trip with the host, Richard, who owns a nearby fly shop, and he dismissed my concerns about changing rooms on the day of our trip saying "things like that work themselves out." Well, it worked itself out when we got up before daylight, packed the car without help and then were chided by the fly shop staff for being 10 minutes late. That night a loud party next door woke us at 2:AM and we were again chided for not waking the hosts, who have a sign on their door that says "KEEP OUT." So be aware, that charm only goes so far.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRsystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

What a joy! Our two couples stayed five nights with Nancy and Richard while we visited Yellowstone. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would have thought it would have been difficult to prepare a different breakfast for five days but Nancy easily met the challenge. The breakfasts were great but we were even more impressed by Nancy and Richard's ability to be friendly, helpful and gracious hosts as they extended a warm hospitality to all of their guests. One suggestion to guests is that you don't need to bring books or maps of Yellowstone on your trip. Nancy and Richard have an extensive library of Yellowstone and Montana books and maps that you can use while you are there. In addition, when you arrive they provide a comprehensive Yellowstone tour book for your use while you are a guest. If the books and maps aren't enough, Richard has extensive knowledge about Yellowstone and appeared to be able to answer just about any question that we could ask. Our next trip to the area, or when we are just passing through, will certainly include a night or two at the Gardiner Guest House.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grady T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My partner and I stayed two nights in this gem located just blocks from the North entrance of Yellowstone Park, with it's welcoming garden in this otherwise rustic town. Each morning we were out of the house quite early and the hostess provided us with a delicious packed breakfast featuring homemade fruit and nut bread. It was so nice to stop and enjoy it in an early morning setting in the park before the crowds began. The hosts were friendly, open, and helpful, and Nance's stories had us in stitches.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed for two nights in the cabin in the back. It has a small kitchen on the first floor and bedroom/bathroom on the second floor. It was very cosy and comfortable with little touches everywhere to make you feel welcome. Very comfortable beds as well! We had our two kids with us and there was enough space for them to play. The breakfasts were a terrific start to the day. Staying here greatly enhanced our visit to Gardiner. Thanks Nance we are still talking about our visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed in the cabin for two nights in the first week of June. It was very pleasant, and Nancy and Richard are the most friendly and helpful of hosts. The breakfasts were terrific, the evening cookies to die for. Richard made some touring suggestions that were very useful. When we had a last-minute change of plans, they were gracious and flexible enough to give us an early breakfast, at short notice. Gardiner is only a five-mile drive from Mammoth Hot Springs, though that drive is up or down the canyon of the Gardiner River and involves a 1,000-ft. difference in altitude (down to Gardiner). It's a good jumping-off point for a daytrip through the Lamar Valley to Silver Gate or Cooke City and back. We would recommend the Gardiner Guest House whole-heartedly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zorepm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We only stayed one night on our way through Yellowstone but it was a great find. The house is inviting, the rooms quaint and clean and the host, Nancy was a delight! Our breakfast was great...two kinds of French toast, sausage, a rum fruit compote, fresh fruit and a buffet of yogurt, healthy cereals/grains and toppings. Nancy had scones and fresh pumpkin bread with chocolate chips out at the "tea bar" that we're so tasty for an afternoon snack! Her garden is so beautiful, we found ourselves drawn to the porch swing so we could gaze at her poppies, iris and roses. She definitely has a green thumb!

Room Tip: We stayed in the only room with a private bath. The other two rooms were lovely though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zumba31153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gardiner hotels
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
355 reviews
4.9 mi away
Yellowstone Basin Inn
Yellowstone Basin Inn
#2 of 6 in Gardiner
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardiner Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardiner Guest House B&B

Property: Gardiner Guest House B&B
Address: 112 Main Street East, PO BOX 173, Gardiner, MT 59030
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1903 Folk Victorian located in uptown Gardiner has three well appointed rooms and one cabin. Breakfast offered:cold buffet as well as a daily hot entree. Amenities include TV/Movies in parlor,books and games,hot beverage sideboard, and WIFI. Moments away from Yellowstone National Park. Restaurants and shops with in walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gardiner Guest House B&B Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing