We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Road Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Ramona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Summer Road Trip”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

During our sixth day of our summer road trip, Best Western PLUS, Gardiner, Montana was one of our favorite. The staff were as friendly and the rooms as clean as all the Best Western we have stayed. What set them apart from the rest was the location of our room over looking the river and elks early morning feeding across the river.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Irenio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    361
    203
    63
    33
See reviews for
371
351
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our second time here and the location / views are breathtakingly. If you want somewhere local for Yellowstone then this is the place - just outside the famous North Gate. But it is getting old now & it shows in the rooms. The breakfast isn't great either - but the views win it.

Room Tip: Got to be a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceebee1360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, England
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

How on earth did this place get to be a Plus? Driving in it looked like an old style motel and it didn’t get better going into the small, cramped reception lobby. There was no elevator so we had to lug all our cases up stairs (we had requested a quiet room and that was where it was) and the receptionist was unable to change our room. The room itself was dull and dingy with dark, chipped furniture. There was no comfy chair to sit in and no desk, although there was a small round table with 2 chairs. The window did open to let in fresh air but that revealed dirt in the runners and rotting wood frames. The window itself couldn't have been cleaned in a very long time either. There was a build up of dirt in the floor corners of the bathroom floor and a small shard of glass on the carpet when we first walked into the room. Breakfast is outsourced to an equally crumbly building and was mediocre at best. On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable and we slept well and it is very close to the entrance to Yellowstone. I realise this is a harsh review and I am also aware that they are aiming for a rustic feel, but there is a world of difference between ill kept and rustic. We had also just driven from the excellent Best Western Plus in Missoula and there was just no comparison.

Room Tip: Just don't go there to start with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

After reading other reviews, I was concerned with the choice I made booking this BW+ in Gardiner. It was a pleasant surprise and much better than expected. Our room was a bit musty smelling, but once we turned a/c and fan on, all was well. Décor and beds were fine and the room was spacious. Wi-Fi was just so-so and the free breakfast next door was not much to write home about. Unfortunately, our room came to $193 for one night, one of the highest price nights on our entire Black Hills/Yellowstone 10-day trip. Overall I would recommend this place, but it probably should only be a Best Western without the Plus!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Best Western provided us with not only an excellent view, but the accommodations and the location of the hotel were ideal. The feeling of the small western town was evident throughout. The staff was excellent, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling with children. I traveled with my 5 children and our family suite was spacious, clean, and very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank N433OSsandrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

When we starting planing our cross country trip we knew we wanted to stay at Yellowstone's North Entrance. I had some difficulty picking a hotel bc I didn't think there was very much information about accomodations in Gardiner. I'm happy to say we were very happy with the Best Western. The hotel was easy to find and well located. There was plenty of parking and the staff was very courteous. They even called 10 or 15 minutes after we got in our room to make sure everything was as expected. We had a mountain view room which was very clean. Even the carpet. The bathrooms looked like they had been recently remodeled. The beds and pillows were great as well. As for the breakfast, it was adequate.The hotel gives you a voucher for the restaurant next door. I don't think they are affliated so I'm kind of hesitant to relate this as I wouldn't want anyone to not choose the hotel because of this. My complaint was that the staff there was very unorganized. We sat down when we got there bc there was no hostess nor were there instructions. When the waitress finally came over she told us we weren't supposed to sit down. I felt that she did not like that. We watched this play out the rest of our time there. As far as the food goes for a free hotel breakfast it was good. There was a variety of things to choose from. The eggs seemed real and the coffee was good.
I have seen some posts that the hotel is expensive. It would be if it wasn't right at the entrance to Yellowstone! This part of the park was the headquarters for years and there is a lot to see and do. We went into Gardiner in the early evening and had dinner but returned to YNP just to see the sunset. The nearness and ease of getting in and out of the park is priceless. You have to factor that in to the room price. In my opinion the rates of this hotel was comparable to others in this area and even a little less expensive than West Yellowstone. It's a good solid pick in the area!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgbga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wampum, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel on July 16, 2014 while taking a 3 week driving trip across the country. The hotel is set up like one of the 1950's resorts in upstate New York. Upon check in, we saw another guest come to the front desk to as for more towels for his room, so we did the same. Apparently there is no housekeeping service other than room cleaning.

We stayed in room 125, which was on the bottom corner of an outbuilding. It was extremely noisy with people going up and down the metal staircase on the side of the building all night long. You should also be aware that the ice machine is in another building.

We had rented a jacuzzi room, and upon entering found it had an odd smell, similar to a wet dog. We didn't know if it was previously rented by a person traveling with their pet or if the dampness from the jacuzzi made it smell that way.

We felt the room was overpriced at $200 per night for the service an amenities. I would not recommend this property.

Room Tip: I'd select a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gardiner hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
751 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
354 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Big Rock Inn
Yellowstone Big Rock Inn
#4 of 6 in Gardiner
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs

Property: Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Address: 905 Scott Street West, Gardiner, MT 59030-7778 (Formerly Best Western Plus By Mammoth Hot Springs)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel Gardiner
Best Western Hotel Gardiner
Best Western Gardiner
Gardiner Best Western
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs Gardiner, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing