We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to see in a beautiful setting”

Lewis and Clark Interpretive Center
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Great Falls
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on a bluff overlooking the Missouri River in Giant Springs Heritage State Park, this visitors center provides information and exhibits about Lewis and Clark's famous journey and the historical significance of the United States' westward expansion.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lots to see in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This museum sits on a bluff overlooking the river, and features dramatic floor to ceiling windows. The video is well done and helps refresh your memory as to Lewis & Clark's amazing journey. It is socially conscious in its treatment of women and native peoples. The exhibits are detailed and extensive, offering artifacts and facts that really help you envision the challenges faced by the Corps of Discovery. Take the time to experience any outdoor demonstrations that might be offered during your visit. We saw firestarting and flint musket re-enactments on the river's edge that were fun and educational. The trail down to the river takes you by native plants and trees that serve as a habitat for many birds, bunnies and (according to the signs) a snake or two ;-) All in all, this is a high quality, well managed museum--well worth your time. Don't miss Giant Springs either, a beautiful, relaxing park (and fish hatchery) just a quarter mile up the road (or river trail). It would make a perfect picnic spot, if you pack a lunch. Enjoy!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SavvyConsumer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    104
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great display”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The park service has done a great job of displaying in a timeline what the Lewis and Clark expedition went through to accomplish their mission. Plan to spend some time and enjoy it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very informative and well-curated exhibits giving a chronological account of Lewis and Clark's journey. We thought we would just go through quickly, but wound up there for two hours. I found it so interesting that I bought a one-volume abridgment of Lewis and Clark's journals in the museum bookstore, and I've nearly finished reading it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank heelergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arapaho
Level Contributor
505 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“More than we expected”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We are on a Lewis and Clark Trail trip, we started in Billings, MT and following it to Astoria, OR. This museum explains a lot about their journey and what they went through. The staff is very helpful if you have any questions and the two films are very good. We stopped in twice while staying in Great Falls. Well worth the trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Make sure it's part of your Montana vacation plans”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stopped at the museum in the morning before driving out to the mountains for our vacation. We thought it was great with its excellent and informative exhibits that will be enjoyed by both adults and children. The staff was also very helpful, and directed us to other sights in the Great Falls area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lewis and Clark Interpretive Center also viewed

 

Been to Lewis and Clark Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing