We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting--would look cooler without the dam”

Ranked #5 of 33 things to do in Great Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alberta
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice setting--would look cooler without the dam”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I understand why they have dams on this river--and I appreciate they still have falls after the dams--but it would look cooler without them-or if they were less obvious.

Still we had a good time driving to each of the dams (on both sides) and checking out the sights.

This was our last stop-and it would be a nice place for a picnic (Except there are no washrooms--be aware of that.)

Still a good view, cool setting and fun.

the bridge is wobbly on its own--especially if others are walking on it with you.

Each of the 4 dams/falls we went to had something going for it--except the Morony dam--horrible drive to it,,and hard to see anything--still, we were being completists.
We only hit the ones we could drive to as it was too hot that day to hike.

Glad we saved the best one for last though.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank zedmanab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    63
    27
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ryan Dam”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Well! We spent about 30min looking for this place. After checking into our hotel, the lady at the front desk advised us to go check it out. If you don't catch the road sign right away, prepare to get lost! haha, it was a nice walk, and pretty interesting to see. There are fish just hanging around (but you cannot fish). It was a nice little walk, and everything is blocked off for your safety. It's about a 45min-1hour thing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
523 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Scenic if you like dams”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Nice setting with a walk across a suspended foot bridge to nice setting...dam sits atop a large Missouri river fall

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“JDP16”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Wow a very impressive sight. Must have been stupendous in Clark's day. Breathtaking valley, rushing river and falls. Great little picnic area. The road is a little narrow but worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JDP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go farther”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Go just four miles farther to moroney dam and enjoy some fishing two of us caught three foot northern pike. We let them go for others to enjoy but wow, what a blast it was catching a fish like that.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ryan Dam - Great Falls of the Missouri also viewed

 

Been to Ryan Dam - Great Falls of the Missouri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing