We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad, the mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Market Place Great Falls
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Great Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2005

Stayed for 2 nights. We arrived an hour before the 3 p.m. check-in to find a very frazzled desk clerk who was on the telephone when we walked in. She ignored us until she finished her call (no eye contact even). She then told us we would have to come back at 3 p.m. as she was too frazzled to find us a room that was available after consulting with a cleaning staff member. They did not seem to be communicating very well with each other and she just gave up. So we finally said no problem and went shopping. There are good stores right beside the hotel - Old Navy, shoe store, book and pet store etc.

The first night, we were kept awake until about 2 a.m. by the person above us. It sounded like he was pacing and moving furniture! No sooner than we had gotten to sleep but the phone rang with a wake up call which we had not placed. We went down to the front desk afte breakfast and again found the staff not very good at customer contact (this is our business so we really notice it!) When complained about the noise upstairs, the desk clerk's response was to tell us we should have called down to complain. Our response was to ask how that would have helped - the person was not partying, just moving around - would they have told him he had to go to bed now? And regarding the wake up call, he said they were having trouble with the system. The best he could offer us was 25% off the night. We had expected perhaps a free night.

Both days we were there, we kept seeing a message light on our telephone and there were no messages recorded. Guess that also related to the phone problems they were having.

We were a bit late getting down to breakfast (about 9:25 a.m.) and by then a lot of the food was cleared away. Managed to get some cereal and toast etc. That night was better for noise, although we had been told there would be nobody above us and, judging by the lights we saw coming home, there was. Apparently they went to sleep at a reasonable time.

General comments: Really tried to like the hotel. We had a suite which was good for 2 sisters travelling together. The bed win the bedroom as very large and very comfortable, a nice room with a desk, t.v., air conditioner unit. Small room but all you need. The pullout was the same as ever other pullout bed in the world - better than sleeping on the floor but not by much. Felt the suite smelled a bit - could be new carpet smell (although my sister thought it smelled kind of like b.o.) The living room has nice with a couch and chair and a small balcony which overlooks the parking lot and some nice houses and condos. We liked the location very much, felt like we were living in an apartment rather than staying in a hotel. There is good access there to everything, 5 minutes drive to the mall, about 8 to Target. Close drive to Walmart and Sam's Club etc. There was a very small but very good little kitchen with a coffee maker and coffee paks, a small fridge, microwave, sink, and a Rubbermaid container under the sink with some sytrofoam plates, plastic cups and cutlery etc. You could actually make a little meal out of it. The bathroom was pretty good, very long counter top, nice showerhead (apparently it has won awards), cute toiletries, very white towels that were thick but a little stiff for my liking, a very nice shower curtain set up. Felt the bottom of the bathtub could use a good cleaning with bleach, maybe not dirty but definitely stained. The fan apparently did not work which we forgot to mention to the hotel. The door did not close very well which was a bit of a problem in the middle of the night, had to close it quite firmly and it woke my sister up. The last morning there, the toilet plugged on us.

That morning, we decided we'd better hot foot it down to breakfast and got there earlier (maybe 9:10 or so?) All the omelets were gone and there were no more to be had so pretty much all that was left was hi-carbohydrate stuff except for the bacon. I tried a cinamon bun and found it to be pretty gummy. They do have a good selection of bagels, ok cereals, instant oatmeal, fruit and yoghurt. It's a cute little set up and the young woman stocking it seemed very sweet and quite helpful.

So basically, we were kind of underwhelmed but the price and location were pretty good. Front desk staff really need to get some eye contact and customer service skills going. Maybe would try it again as we really did like the suite idea. As a general comment, we found the shopping in G.F. to be ok, the mall is floundering but really liked Herbergers Department Store. Small Target, very noisy Walmart. Ate at Appleby's after driving around for a long time trying to find it (ask directions!). They give huge portions by Canadian standards, we could have split a meal. Loved the location and the next night tried the pizza company just down the road from Appleby's and really liked it a lot. There do not seem to be many choices of places to eat in town. We wandered around downtown a bit (we had come there a lot when very young and use to love the downtown). Of course, like most towns, the downtown has changed radically and there is not much of interest and it's pretty sad. Gone are the lovely department stores and small but nice shops, taken over by Target and Walmart. Sad but that seems to be the way of the world.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gingersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 290 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2005

Mapquest directions do not give you a good idea where this hotel is located in Great Falls. the front desk staff couldn't help much either. I finally found it in a shopping center area. well worth the drive around town to find it.

stay here instead of the regular Holiday Inn if you can. they do honor the government rate, important if you are on business. the front desk was very kind as I was so tired. long day of meetings and driving in hot weather.

the room was large, clean and very comfortable beds, with good lighting and internet access. great breakfast bar! showerhead, travel size amenities all exceptional. good lighting in room.

only thing, the tub seemed to not have been cleaned. didn't find out till morning shower, it had a greasy feel to it, and a few hairs. had to leave quite early so didn't say anything. too late to do anything about it anyway.

I would stay again, I would inspect the tub first next time and say something if it wasn't clean. but nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank flwrgrdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2005

I arrived in Great Falls around 11 p.m. on a Saturday night after a very bumpy flight from Charlotte, NC via Minneapolis. After waiting for what seemed like an eternity on my bags to arrive, I called the Holiday Inn Express for the free airport shuttle they offer. Within 10 minutes, a white van pulled up and just like that, I was off to the Holiday Inn Express.

Upon arriving, I found the lobby to be small, but neat. The staff was very friendly and the check-in was quick. My room was on the 4th floor. It was very nice and very clean, although the bathroom was a bit small. It was still fine though. The bed was extremely comfortable. In the morning I enjoyed the breakfast... it even included biscuits & gravy... a breakfast staple for a Southern guy like myself. I had to take the shuttle back to the airport to pick up a rental car. Once again, the shuttle was very timely and all went smooth. I recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Great Falls.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TMackDiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2005

My first time (of many I hope) staying in a Holiday Inn Express and it was excellent!!! Service was great, I even got guest of the day! I forgot my computer cable and they lent me one. Beds were very comfortable, rooms very clean and quiet. Breakfast was above average with many choices. The hot cinnamon rolls were awesome! Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jazz99Spokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2005

This hotel has the best staff in Great Falls. The breakfast with many healthy and hot choices is a great benefit along with the high speed internet.

3  Thank toboggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Billings, MT
210
Reviewed 18 December 2003

Thiks is a new facility and well maintained. A great area for morning and evening walks as well. Close to a movie theater and small but contemporary shopping area. The staff at this property have been well-trained in customer service and do everything they can to make your stay pleasant.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Falls hotels
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Great Falls
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Great Falls
Hampton Inn Great Falls
#6 of 29 in Great Falls
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Great Falls
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Great Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Great Falls
#7 of 29 in Great Falls
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Great Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Market Place Great Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Market Place Great Falls

Address: 1801 Market Place Dr, Great Falls, MT 59404-3488 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Great Falls)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Great Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Great Falls
#4 Romantic Hotel in Great Falls
#7 Business Hotel in Great Falls
Price Range: £61 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Market Place Great Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Conveniently located off Interstate 15, the Comfort Inn & Suites® hotel is less than three miles from Great Falls International Airport and offers free airport transportation for its guests from 5:00am to Midnight. Located in a beautiful residential setting that is within walking distance to numerous retailers and specialty stores, restaurants, a movie theater, fishing opportunities and bike trails. Near BNSF, Montana Expo Park, Benefis Health, Great Falls Clinic, North Western Energy, Montana Refinery, Specialty Mills and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Market Place Great Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Market Place Great Falls Hotel Great Falls
Comfort Inn And Suites Market Place Great Falls
Holiday Inn Great Falls
Great Falls Holiday Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Market Place Great Falls Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing