We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way Overpriced”

Celtic Cowboy Pub & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Celtic Cowboy Pub & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 190 Restaurants in Great Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located in the oldest commercial building in the heart of Downtown Great Falls, The Celtic Cowboy Pub and Restaurant brings outstanding food, drink and Live music to a wide variety of patrons. Utilizing over 10,000 square feet of this 1890 livery stable, The Celtic Cowboy is not just a Pub, it hosts the Darkhorse Wine Snug, a private wine bar, the Darkhorse Hall meeting and banquet space and the Pub itself, featuring over 30 beers on tap, along with full compliment of liquor and fine wine list. The Celtic Cowboy, Eat, Drink and be Irish!
Reviewed 22 May 2014

While they offer dishes that most places do not have, they are way overpriced for this type of town. Atmosphere is awesome and the have a great Bar. Not sure this is a place that speaks to the clientele of this town

1  Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Owner at Celtic Cowboy Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

Thank you for your review, we will take your comments into consideration as we try to improve our guests experience.

Sláinte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 340 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a new joint venture, opening on the west end of the downtown area. It has an Irish theme of a pub with Irish food and folk music. Several blocks from Bert & Ernie's, it has the potential to be a truly high end restaurant. I/we have eaten there five times, always at 3.5 to 4 stars for the food. it can be noisy. If you want a good choice of brew, and great pub atmosphere, with good to great food, it has no competition. It is pricey (average meal will be in the $25 per person range, more if you drink, which I don't). Absolutely no complaints on that, the staff is tremendous, the food and ambience superb. I feel like I am in a large city bistro or pub.... Seattle or even San Fransciso. Kudos, long may they run. It has set the bar hear, if you will pardon the expression. One of the owners is an attorney friend, Channing Hartelius, a famous raconteur of our little city.

1  Thank algologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Owner at Celtic Cowboy Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

Thank you for your review, We always appreciate satisfied customers and we will take your comments into consideration as we try to improve our guests experience.

Sláinte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I would rate our overall experience as poor. The restaurant was not that busy but it took awhile to get waited on. When our dinner arrived 2 out of the 4 orders were wrong. We went on ahead and ate our dinner while our friends waited for their correct orders to be delivered. Needless to say we were all finished while they were still eating. Awkward! I had such high expectations what a let down.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Owner at Celtic Cowboy Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

Thank you for your review, we will take your comments into consideration as we try to improve our guests experience.

Sláinte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Celtic Cowboy just opened in February or March. The staff are friendly, and the wait for a table is not long. The gaming machines, which are few, are tucked away in a corner. Music is usually offered on the weekends. The Pub is in a restored building downtown and is interesting. When I ate there I had a Ruben sandwich and fries. The fries are done somewhat differently and are crispy on the outside and nice and soft on the inside. The sandwich was very large, with lots of corned beef and I was able to only eat half. The next time I am going to order one sandwich to share and two fries. I have heard rave reviews about their fish and chips also.

Thank ALICE_KGreatFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Owner at Celtic Cowboy Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

Thank you for your review, We always appreciate satisfied customers and we will take your comments into consideration as we try to improve our guests experience.

Sláinte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was our second visit. We had a terrible first experience in February but wanted to give it a second try, hoping the bugs had been worked out. We were again disappointed.

We started our meal with the Sausage Bites for an appetizer. They were over-cooked, dry and tasteless. For our entrees, we ordered the fish and chips and the Irish Nachos. The fish was ery bland and watery, as if they had deep fried frozen pieces of fish. The cayenne aoli had the flavor of cayenne but nothing else. It reminded us of wallpaper paste. I ordered the Irish Nachos. They were out of Dubliner cheese and substituted cheddar, which was very disappointing! We were there early in the evening (5:30 PM), so why hadn't they had time to get more? Also, I had a hard time getting past the overwhelming aroma of what I suspect was liquid smoke. Other than that they didn't really taste like anything. Our server was attentive, but we couldn't help but notice that 2 of the 3 bartenders were drinking beer behind the bar. Not very professional.

I give them less than a year of survival if they don't get their act together. We're not going back until they do.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank JLight7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Owner at Celtic Cowboy Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2017

Thank you for your review, we will take your comments into consideration as we try to improve our guests experience.

Sláinte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Celtic Cowboy Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Celtic Cowboy Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing