We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern room but poor free breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Ponderosa
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Great Falls
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Our room had been recently updated and was large. It had a micro and refigerator along with the other basics such as coffee maker, and iron/board, etc.

What we did not like was the fact that the free "Continental Breakfast" was a coupon which you used next door at a restaurant from which you could only order a couple items from the menu, such as heavy pancakes! Their web site does not make that clear!

When we walked into the restaurant, there was no staff in sight! There were three older women customers at a table. We waited and waited. Finally after speaking out loud, and still no one came, we walked back toward the kitchen where a girl with piercings in her face and the (cook?) said "can I help you?"! Well, we ordered the pancakes and coffee. Neither were good, and the service was bad. Had to ask for refills on the coffee.

Then you are expected to tip for that service, or not....

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelalot963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

The room was clean and I booked it because it was within walking of distance of city fireworks display. It was nice to be able to park under the hotel building. The room rate included a breakfast from the restaurant associated with the hotel. We could order from a menu that had about 6 options on it. The food was good. There is an outdoor pool on the second level. Our room looked out on a cement wall, so that was not attractive. The staff was nice and helpful. The place does smell old, as I notice someone saying this in another review. We all slept well! Internet was good and the kids were happy with the TV channels available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a better view than a cement wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 715MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I checked in late so this review reflects a stay of less than 8 hours. I received a hospital discount since I had a friend needing emergency care. The room was still pricey but typical best price available for the Great Falls hotel market. Roughly $70 including tax.

The room was clean and spacious with full ammenities. Bed was firm so those with back problems be aware. Wifi was avilable, however, due to the concrete building construction, difficult to get a strong signal in the room. Hot breakfast is included with the stay. Be prepared to order something extra at additional cost off the restaurant menu as the free meal options are very limited and would only fill the smallest of appetites.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

there r only 2 good things about this hotel the rooms r ok wouldnt say great and the other is the breakfast was good. ok now the bad things about this hotel the a/c in the room wasnt working right, bath tub was dirty, the train at night was sickening, the area would see a few drunk guys every day and also at night i think there some kind of bar close by would here them at night

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dogecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I paid low (thanks to my AMA membership) and got very very good value for the money. It was a quiet (older)hotel in historic downtown Great Falls. This is unlike many 'down town' areas and is very quiet and unpopulated, more of the shopping is one 10th avenue, but, there are some unique stores to take in in walking distance. There was underground parking; clean bright white sheets; tv with plenty of channels; Wifi, that worked fabulously. ;decent windows (plenty of daylight, but also great window coverings that gave good coverage to keep the room dark for a good sleep in if one desired).

There was in the room a fridge, microwave and coffee maker as well as a blow dryer and plenty of towels. Too, there were vouchers included for breakfast which was off a 'lite' menu, but very satisfactory keeping hunger at bay until later in the day. There is loads of other restaurants around town to take in for other meals, but if you don't need a big spread for brekky this is perfect.

I recommend this if you want to have a decent place and keep your money for shopping or dining out etc. Very good dollar value, as far as I am concerned!

Too.... there is an outdoor pool (not suitable now, but I'm sure in the summer it feels great!)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryGoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We got what we paid for. We wanted a reasonably priced place located down town. This was what we got. Sure the place is a little on the old side, and as a result not as "clean" as a new place, but staff was friendly and everything was very convenient. Free breakfast at the restaurant next door was great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Although the rooms said non-smoking you could smell the cigarette smoke amongst other types of smoke. The beds were about the only clean thing in the room. The bathtub was dirty, although you could tell that it had been wiped down and cleaned, I took a piece of toilette paper and was able to wipe up dirt from the bottom of the tub (what appeared to be stained). The clerk at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful, that is the only reason keeping this review from being marked as terrible versus poor. When in the bathroom you can hear conversations taking place in the neighboring rooms and or parking garage. (sound carrying through the vents). There was also people arguing until 130am in the pool area that echoed down the hallway. I could also here every step that the person in the room above us was making.

Room Tip: Not on the first floor, so you don't here people above you walking. Also request a room not clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RFguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
Greystone Inn
Greystone Inn
#16 of 30 in Great Falls
119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#18 of 30 in Great Falls
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Great Falls - Missouri River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
O'Haire Motor Inn
O'Haire Motor Inn
#12 of 30 in Great Falls
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Great Falls
Holiday Inn Great Falls
#21 of 30 in Great Falls
352 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Great Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Ponderosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Ponderosa

Address: 220 Central Ave, Great Falls, MT 59401-3190 (Formerly Quality Inn Ponderosa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Great Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Great Falls
Price Range: £45 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Ponderosa 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Ponderosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Ponderosa Hotel Great Falls
Quality Inn Great Falls
Great Falls Quality Inn
Econo Lodge Ponderosa Great Falls, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing