We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very helpful”

Great Falls Visitor Center
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very, very helpful”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This has to be, hands down, the most helpful visitor's centre I have ever been in.
Most have been helpful in some way or other-and most were friendly--but something about this one and the individualized attention just struck me in a way beyond all others.

Originally we stopped by to look into the trolley tours, but there was a sign on the door saying they were cancelled at that time. (I don't know if they've since started back up)
But they were very helpful with other suggestions to see the Great Falls area--we wound up driving around to the dams/falls-and had a good time doing that.
they also had excellent, helpful suggestions on parking, farmer's market, shopping and the water park.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank zedmanab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    10
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic little interpretive centre!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My family and I were greeted by a park official that was very friendly and nice enough to explain our best options for purchasing park passes and where they could be used. Then we walked through the door and were greeted by a visitor centre staff member who explained where to go, what to see, and gave us some interesting facts about Lewis and Clark. He was very good with the children. We watched a video in the theatre about Lewis and Clark and their experiences at Great Falls, then we explored the rest of the facility. Our kids had a great time learning about the history and staff were always available to answer questions. After looking around, we took the elevator to the river-side trail and walked down to the beautiful Giant Springs, which has to be experienced, as words and pictures do not do it justice (lots of nice picnic spots as well). The fish hatchery next to the springs was also a wonderful highlight of the visit. The gift shop on our way back had some very unique items for a fairly decent price. This was a great place to stop and see, no bad comments at all.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Seanwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Useful”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

When we have visitors we always send them there for info or we go over and pick-up packets to mail to friends. It could be at a more visible spot but it is located at a beautiful park. There is plenty of parking and it isn’t too hard getting in and out. The city is always telling how important tourism is, however; they have just announced that they will no longer fund any part of the center so we will see if it can stay open.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VW1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innisfail, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Helpful And Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The staff are always happy to help us and have an upbeat attitude. The large flag out front makes it easy to spot.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ILoveChinchillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“See the Overlook Flag”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The significance of the center is the Overlook Flag, a local project that was inagurated on Independence Day, 1984. Previously, the most identifiable landmark in the Great Falls area had been the Big Stack, completed in November 1908 for the smelting company in Black Eagle, and destroyed in September 1982.
The Overlook Flag has become the landmark for the city, and is very visible from most of the town. The visitor center is a part of this location, which is above the river, and a great spot to start if touring the area, since it gives a great vista for navigation and planning areas to visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank algologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Falls Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Great Falls Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing