We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Town is lacking”
Review of O'Haire Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
O'Haire Motor Inn
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Great Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Town is lacking”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed at O'Haire Motor Inn on our way to Glacier National Park. We took a walk downtown about 6pm and were approached two different times by people asking for money. Did not have a safe feeling and would avoid area - except in main busy part of the day. Hotel is ok , showing its age but the mermaid show is fun.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 60097Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohairemanager, General Manager at O'Haire Motor Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback on our property. I have forwarded your review to our local authorities and downtown association for their information. Panhandling is a new problem to us in Great Falls and it needs to be addressed by the authorities. Please know that our hotel is a very safe place to stay. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that you'll give Great Falls another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    63
    24
    7
    1
See reviews for
19
68
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
the villages, Florida, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Price and location are right. However, mermaids swim Tuesday - Saturday only. Monday night was amateur night but no swimmers showed up... Construction is 1960's bomb shelter - prestressed concrete beams. Parking and pool are on second floor which speaks to the strength of the building. This must be the place the engineers who built the Titan missle silos stayed back then. Very clean, well kept (preserved) and friendly but scenic views of nearby parking lots only. Downtown is sloooow in the evenings but a river park is just a few blocks away for a nice stroll.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cinepuxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This hotel is very definitely unusual - it has mermaids and an 85 (ish) year old piano player. Nevertheless it was great fun and make such a refreshing change from the usual 'chain' hotels. The location is downtown which is convenient if you want to look for somewhere to eat but we used the Restaurant attached which is very very good. We had a really good evening meal and breakfast in there. The hotel at a guess was in its time a traditional old fashioned motor in where travelling salesman stayed, possibly dating from the 50's or 60's going on the buildng style but this all added to its charm. As for the sip'n'dip lounge well what can I say, never been anywhere like that before. The hotel pool has a glass wall opening onto the bar and in this they have a young lady, with little clothing except a bikini top and 'mermaid tail' swimming around. She's very good too, extremely athletic and a brilliant underwater swimmer. Then came Pat the piano player, I don't know how long she's played in there but has to be some time. It was brilliant I can't remember when we had such a laugh. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, staying here made a really fun interval in a very long trip from Yellowstone to Banff. And - to top it all, you get a little yellow plastic duck to take with you wherever you go, take photos of in iconic places, and upload them to the website. So the little duck is in for some fun photos in the next few months when we take him to Europe.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank theoldgits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This hotel is fine, but the real attraction is the bar--the Sip-N-Dip, featuring two young mermaids who spend hours in the pool, which has two windows facing into the bar. The theme is Tiki bar, and to top it off, the music is sensational--Pat has been playing the piano/organ and singing there for over forty years. She's priceless. The drinks aren't huge, but they are very affordable. Stay in the hotel so when you call it quits, you can walk down the hall to your room. There is nothing else like this. And it's in Great Falls, of all places. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank photolandscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Stayed overnight for a flight to Las Vegas. Friendly service, clean rooms. Was Sunday so we did not get to enjoy the mermaid and bar entertainment. Secure parking inside. Would stay here again. Came highly recommended and would recommend to others. Duck is very photogenic and travels well.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimmyBrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Wow. This little place, although maybe a bit dated was fantastically clean. It has a cozy feel and was a nice place to bed down for the night.

The bar is insane. The staff are efficient and kind. Pat playing the piano was rockin out outlaw country tunes. And who could forget the mermaid. That girl must have a real good set of lungs or infact be a real mermaid. She nearly never appeared to need a breath.

I'll be back, for sure.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahurtinalbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
434 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We checked into a little place called the O’Haire Motor Inn, this is one place you want to Google. Be sure to read about their lounge, the Sip ‘N Dip!! Behind the bar is a huge aquarium, they actually hired a guy and a gal that don mermaid/merman attire and they swim around entertaining the customers. They also have a piano bar where Pat, probably in her eighties, plays. She was a hoot. She has been playing at the place since they opened in the mid-sixties.

A fun part of this place is the rubber duck. In your room is a rubber duck which becomes yours. Then when you travel you take your duck and take pictures of where you are and send them back to them. They have huge wall where they post all the pics they receive. Really, you need to Google O’Haire Motor Inn!!

The restaurant attached to the motel is Clark and Lewies and serves a great dinner and an equally good breakfast. At $70 a night it can’t be beat. Have duck will travel!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank punkinlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Falls hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arvon
Hotel Arvon
#4 of 29 in Great Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greystone Inn
Greystone Inn
#15 of 29 in Great Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Great Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Market Place Great Falls
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Great Falls
Staybridge Suites Great Falls
#2 of 29 in Great Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Great Falls - Missouri River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Haire Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Haire Motor Inn

Property: O'Haire Motor Inn
Address: 17 7th St S, Great Falls, MT 59401-3692
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Great Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Great Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Haire Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful and historic downtown Great Falls. Within walking distance of shopping, dining and the Charlie Russell museum. Home of the famous Sip 'n Dip Lounge and mermaids. Offering you the kind of western hospitality you expect to find in Montana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your O'Haire Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Haire Motor Hotel Great Falls
O'Haire Motor Inn Great Falls, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing