We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for families or fussbudgets, but a cool place”
Review of O'Haire Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
O'Haire Motor Inn
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Great Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
260 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Not for families or fussbudgets, but a cool place”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I was hesitant about OHMC, in spite of friend's assurance who stays there regularly. His tolerance for smokiness and old carpet exceed mine, but we did want to imbibe at Sip n Dip and not drive, so I decided we'd try one night, and move second night if need be. The OH grew on me and we stayed both nights. The folks aim to please and front desk was very helpful. The labyrinth of musty, old carpeted hallways, with weirdly stenciled doors from the confusing bi-level parking, doesn't create a great first impression. Frankly, they are a eyesore (and is there such a thing as a nose-sore?) Our third floor end room---#313, King bed w/ fridge, etc---was pleasant enough, though, with nice light, clean and well appointed, though some corners of it did, at times, smell a little bit smoky or stale (but I'm super sensitive to off smells--my husb thought it was 100% fine). The carpet was notably clean and new. The sheets weren't scratchy and the bedding was modern and fresh. The bathroom was sparkling clean, and we liked the vintage green and yellow tile. Great cable TV, wireless did not work in our room but the ethernet cord did. For the price (about $79/nt), we got two nights' fantastic sleep, very quiet room. Our friend on second floor did not fare as well one night, when a Sip-fueled lovers quarrel erupted in the wee hours. Not for families, as the Sip n Dip bar is at the heart of the place. I'd stay there again, and can recommend #313 if you can roll with the spirit of the place.

Room Tip: Away from the Sip n Dip and not facing the main street. King w/fridge #313 was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    63
    24
    7
    1
See reviews for
19
68
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Scootered from Denver to Calgary and stayed at the O'Haire Motor Inn on the way - great find! Had a bike washing station in the garage (got the bugs off the scoots), fun Sip n Dip lounge with excellent food (no mermaids on Sunday :( though April made the evening fun... Rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Rode our scooters from Denver, CO to Calgary CA. The O'Haire Motor Inn was one of our stops along the way. They had a wash station in the parking garage where we removed the bugs and grime before enjoying a very nice meal in the Sip and Dip Lounge. April took very good care of us and recommend some nice meal selections. Started the next day out with a big breakfast at the O'Haire. We were there on a Sunday so we did not get to observe and enjoy the mermaids...we were so disappointed but had a great time at the Sip and Dip. Motorcyclists, Scooterists will find this place very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
290 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Its been 35 years since I stayed here with my parents. This time I still had my parents but now I brouht my wife and son. We've stayed at the mid-town and the Greystone all within 2 blocks of Ohare. Ohare has a pool and the mermaids, the rooms are also very clean, the beds were more comfortable that the other hotels I mentioned. Great place and our new favorite.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibber1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Found this place reading reviews like you are. I love a divey motel, and while this place is that to a certain degree, it's rooms are completely descent, and the bar is a trip with good, cheap drinks. We ate from the restaurant menu, and the food was excellent! Will stay here every time I'm in Great Falls.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbruno74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is not my first time staying at this Hotel. Arrived late with no reservation but the lady at the front desk treated me as though I had booked the complete hotel.The parking is excellent you have a choice of the main level which is completely covered or the second floor which has a partial cover.There is also a bike wash station complete with buckets rags all kinds soap and cleaner. The rooms are fresh and inviting. Over all a great place to stay and inexpensive.

Room Tip: If you are in doubt ask to see the room before you decide if you want to stay or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butte, Montana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed at the O-Haire Motor Inn mostly because it was the only place in Great Falls available under $150 the weekend we were in town. For Saturday & Sunday the rooms were less than $100 per night. I have to say I was a little nervous because I knew the motel had been around for a good long while. I have to say that the bathrooms were some of the cleanest I have ever seen in ANY price range. Not a speck of grime, mold or mildew - everything was sparkling clean. It was amazing. The room was also very, very clean and comfortable. The AC worked just fine and covered any noise from the street. I would recommend this motel to anyone if they were looking for an affordable, clean, comfortable place to stay. The neighborhood is a little sketchy, but since parking is in the garage or up on top, it wasn't much of a concern.

If you go, you MUST stop in at the bar and stay until Pat has played a few songs for you. I can't even begin to explain the experience of watching mermaids, listening to Pat play the organ and having a drink. He style is a mix of a day at the ballpark, a spin through a Polka Festival and a cocktail at an AARP Convention.

Also, breakfast at the attached restaurant isn't bad at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zander21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Falls hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arvon
Hotel Arvon
#4 of 29 in Great Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greystone Inn
Greystone Inn
#15 of 29 in Great Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Great Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Market Place Great Falls
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Great Falls
Staybridge Suites Great Falls
#2 of 29 in Great Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Great Falls - Missouri River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Haire Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Haire Motor Inn

Property: O'Haire Motor Inn
Address: 17 7th St S, Great Falls, MT 59401-3692
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Great Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Great Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Haire Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful and historic downtown Great Falls. Within walking distance of shopping, dining and the Charlie Russell museum. Home of the famous Sip 'n Dip Lounge and mermaids. Offering you the kind of western hospitality you expect to find in Montana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your O'Haire Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Haire Motor Hotel Great Falls
O'Haire Motor Inn Great Falls, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing