We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deer Crossing Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Hamilton B&B and Inns
woodland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The BEST bed and breakfast I have ever been too..Stayed in the cabin in the back. There is a natural spring that runs along side the cabin, makes it so relaxing...you can sit on the porch and enjoy the outdoors. It is all self contained. Stu and Linda are wonderful hosts..can't wait to go back..

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
37
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houghton, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We spend a few nights here while doing day hikes in the mountains. This was a beautiful setting to relax in the evening. Stu and Linda are wonderful hosts, making sure we had everything we needed and providing great advice on areas to hike and places to eat. Fantastic breakfasts started the day before we went out hiking. We stayed in the Big Sky Suite, which had a private deck - a great place to sit and read with a cup of coffee as the sun came up, or relax in the evening. We would love to come back next year!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Let me start by saying that I reserve excellent ratings for places like grand hotels in tropical locales, so to me, an "average" review is pretty good. :)

My husband and I stayed at Deer Crossing as part of a 5-day motorcycle ride through Idaho, which we thoroughly enjoyed! We were very tired when we arrived, and Stu met us in the driveway as we pulled in. He was very helpful and accommodating, and we immediately felt comfortable and at home. The grounds are very peaceful, and we were told to feel free to wander and roam anywhere on the property. Bad planning on our part: we only stayed one night, so we didn't really get to appreciate everything that is there!

We stayed in the Charlie Russell Suite, knowing that a double jacuzzi would be awesome after our long day's ride. The room included a bottle of wine, a few cans of beer, and some bottled water or soda, can't remember which. The only downside to this room is that none of the windows open except one small one in the bathroom, so there isn't any cross-ventilation. There are two large ceiling fans that help with airflow though, and we would choose this room again.

I would describe the furnishings of the place as dated but comfortable. The house has a very cozy feel to it, and I think had we stayed longer, we would have been very comfortable wandering around the house. Nothing is made to feel off-limits. Everything was clean.

Breakfast was great and plentiful, and we enjoyed the company of the other two couples plus Stu and Linda. Stu had a lot of great information to share about beautiful places to go, not only nearby but throughout the Northwest, and we've already looked up several of them! Again, poor planning on our part! Next time we will stay two nights and at least take a nice hike!

The pictures on their website are a very accurate representation of the property. If you like what you see there, you won't be disappointed.

If you are coming from the north, check your directions. We turned onto Camas Creek Loop at the north side, which caused us to have a LONG ride on a dirt road. Had we turned in on the south side, it would have been much shorter. Look for Rocky Mountain Log Homes, a very large business, and turn in just at the end of that. If you are on a motorcycle, be warned that either way, it's still a couple of miles on the dirt, and some of it is loose sand. Probably wouldn't have been a big deal if we hadn't already been so exhausted when we arrived!

Room Tip: We liked the Charlie Russell room for the double jacuzzi, but if you don't think you will use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb18560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deercrossing, Owner at Deer Crossing Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Interesting story about the Charlie Russell room. The people who lived here when that addition was built are good friends of ours. She had an adventure when a bear wandered in the house while she was baking with the doors open (True!) So, she asked that there be no windows that opened in their main bedroom, They're BIG windows and it's been on our list forever to replace but....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I wanted a little romantic getaway so we stayed in the Montana cabin at Deer Crossing B&B near Hamilton Montana in the Bitterroot Valley. The cabin was perfect with a FULLY stocked kitchen and comfortable queen bed. They REALLY thought of everything in this cabin...even a propane barbeque next to the cabin with a handy picnic table and cooking utensils.
We hiked up scenic Blodgett Canyon (and did a bit of fly fishing for brook trout) and hiked around nearby Como Lake...a gorgeous and fairly level hike of 7 miles.
The hosts were exceptionally friendly without being a nuisance and the breakfasts were delightful. We enjoyed the numerous wildlife on their property: saw deer, wild turkeys and numerous hummingbirds on their many feeders. Birders will have a field day with the many varieties of birds in this area. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Wales, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were looking for a relaxing stay and found it at Deer Crossing!! The Montana cabin is so nice and the property with the beautiful lawns and trees automatically brings the stress level down. As two women traveling alone, we felt safe and never had a moments issue in any of the towns we visited, and truly enjoyed all the people we met, starting with Stu and Linda. Stu's blueberry pancakes were out of this world delicious and the Miss Linda is so warm and friendly and serves a great breakfast beautifully and we can't wait to return to get a little more of sitting on the cabin porch and enjoying the last little bit of afternoon and evening. Bring carrots, the horses and one friendly donkey are always looking for a treat!! We rode horses with Miss Becky and the trip was one of my very best experiences with the B & B, and visiting towns in the valley. Planning on returning mid-July and doing it all over again!
ps Hi to Missy!! You were lucky Emily didn't take you home!!
CBear

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbear1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 14th anniversary at the Deer Crossing Bed and Breakfast and we are glad that we did. The place is like paradise, and the owners Stu and Linda are very warm and friendly. I am looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Meadows, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed for four nights in the Montanan cabin, overlooking the meadow. Every morning we were treated to deer, elk bugling, turkeys as well as Steller's jays and magpies. After coffee in the cabin, we headed on up to the sunroom for a delicious home cooked breakfast. Great cabin, fully equipped and nice and clean! Stu and Linda gave wonderful suggestions for activities and wonderful places for dinner, including the amazing farm to table restaurant, Sleeping Child Farm to Table Restaurant. We hated to leave and can't wait to go back. The best Bed and Breakfast we've ever stayed at! Jeff and. Zoe Greenwood

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deercrossing, Owner at Deer Crossing Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
One of great things about owning a B&B is that we get to live here in the Beautiful Bitterroot Valley and that we see people from all over the world, from all walks of life. It is our joy to have you as our guest and wish you did not have to leave either.... although it would get a little crowded. Guess there's room in the barn with Freedom, Shiloh and DonKay... See you again soon. Montana forever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
9.5 mi away
Bitterroot River Inn & Conference Center
9.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Hamilton
119 reviews
18.1 mi away
Trapper Peak Outfitters & Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Super 8 Hamilton
Super 8 Hamilton
#3 of 6 in Hamilton
162 reviews
17.9 mi away
Time After Time Bed and Breakfast
12.2 mi away
Rye Creek Lodge
Rye Creek Lodge
#2 of 8 in Darby
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Crossing Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Crossing Bed and Breakfast

Property: Deer Crossing Bed and Breakfast
Address: 396 Hayes Creek Rd, Hamilton, MT 59840-9744
Region: United States > Montana > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful Bitterrot Valley about half way between Yellowstone and Glacier. Enjoy our great property, have a great Montana breakfast and feel what "Big Sky Country" is all about. We accept kids, pets, and are also a "Barn 'N Breakfast" where we want you to bring your horses. Great activities, great trails, wonderful restaurants and sports of all kinds. Let us be your guide.... Stu & Linda ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Crossing Bed And Breakfast Hamilton, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing