We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Daly Mansion

Daly Mansion
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Tours are on the hour, starting at 10 AM and ending at 3 PM. Grounds are open from 9 AM to 5 PM. Located on 46 acres of lush landscape, the Daly Mansion is the historic home of 19th Century American industrialist Marcus Daly. The exhibits here convey the story of Daly and his rise from working-class immigrant to copper magnate, as well as local, regional, and international history tied to his extended family. Today, the Mansion is a hub of local culture, entertainment, engagement and historical interpretation. We see nearly 10,000 visitors annually, and a team of over 100 volunteers are dedicated to preserving the grounds and house for the enjoyment of all who enter. The Daly Mansion is a treasure of history and intrigue, and we are thrilled to share it with visitors and community members alike.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Lovely Mansion, very informative period dressed host who took us around. For $30 for a family of 4, very good value!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A beautiful location”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is one of my favorite spots on the planet! Take a tour of the past and step into a different time altogether!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

this was a good place to visit that showed how the rich folk lived. Greta arboretum of different trees that were planted over 100 years ago, old style swimming pool and elaborate landscaped grounds.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank gd454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fascinating story - wonderful house”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our tour guide's family had personal ties to the Daly family which added a personal touch to the tour. The movie at the beginning of the tour set the scene for the rest of the visit. I'm happy that they are collecting only things that belonged to the Daly family rather than trying to fill the mansion with a lot of 'stuff'. We had visited the house of one of the other Copper Kings in Butte, so this was an interesting addition to our history lesson on copper in Montana.
We weren't sure we wanted to drive to Hamilton rather than do more in Missoula, but we were glad we made the drive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KathuP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fascinating Story - Lovely Venue”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We took the guided tour of the Daily Mansion that starts with a short movie. We arrived early and were invited up to the 3rd floor to look at displays not included on the tour. I highly recommend this. Daily's life was so exceptional it takes a bit to take it all in. This home is totally furnished to correct period with new items being donated regularly. Daily's horse stock won 5 Kentucky Derbys! Ask about the stables that have been restored beautifully down the road.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jeans163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daly Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Daly Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing