We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REAL BUFFALO JUMP & on going Archaeological dig”

Wahkpa Chu'gn Archaeological Site
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Havre
Attraction details
Belgrade, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
730 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“REAL BUFFALO JUMP & on going Archaeological dig”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Although the obscure location of this Buffalo Jump and Archaeological dig is set behind Holiday Village Mall do not let that detour you. This is an eye opening and historic site which has more to see and hear about then you'd expect.
The original flounder of this location at age 16 is still the active Curator so many decades later.
Words are hard to discribe this historical site, it is a MUST see!!!!!! Only open in the summer months for visitors.
The guide was full of information about the sites and the ongoing digs. Not shards of bones but full skeletons of Buffalo, layers upon layers of history.
For adults and children, photos allowed.

A Division of H. Earl Clark Museum: ....."the seeds of our density are nurtured by the roots of our past"
www.buffalojump.org Ph:406-265-6417

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffreyshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ARLINGTON
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Archaeology, experiential history, personal dedication”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is that rare site where careful research and the desire to tell a story well have come together to give the visitor a sense of life in another place and time. Some attractions do that with costumed interpreters. Wahkap Chu'gn does it with an extraordinarily well managed site that is now accessible to most visitors, even though it's strung out over several locations on a steep cliff. Overlooking the beautiful Milk River, with badlands in the distance, your 45-minute tour will explain how Native Americans of three different cultural groups would have stampeded buffalo over the cliff and then processed them. There is a small interpretive center, but the real finds are still in situ, in small huts where they can be protected and visitors can see them close up. Our guide, Christy, was very knowledgeable (and did a great job of piloting the cart down the steep hill). She also hit the foam bison target with her atlatl, inspiring us to put some real muscle into our own throws. You can really tell how much the managers, John & Anna Brumley, and guides care about this important site and about improving it so that its story can reach as many visitors as possible.

TIPS: You may want to call ahead and arrange the time you want your tour. The staff is small, so if a tour is under way when you arrive, the office will be closed. Also, if you're visiting on a warm day, try to stop by in the morning, before the exhibit buildings get unbearably hot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dunyazade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“An inspiring place”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Let me clarify: the site itself is fairly interesting in that it is a place where pre-historic Indians drove bison over a cliff to harvest them. There is an enormous collection of bones and other artifacts to suggest the history of the site.

What we found inspiring was the management of the site. It is essentially the work of a man and his wife who dedicate themselves to interpreting and preserving this interesting place. We had a tour with the Mrs. and she came out in a driving rain just for us. She was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about this site.

So, yes, this is an interesting place to visit, regardless of its management but because it is the passion of a dedicated couple, you can't help but want to support them. This is the one place in Havre to see if you are passing throgh.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank waldentenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Place To Visit”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This is such a cool place, I have never seen anything like it. It is an actual archaeological excavation. You get to see walls of buffalo bones and an actual Native American fire pit. I even got to throw an atlatl, what the natives used to hunt the buffalo. Good thing I didn't have to depend on my hunting skills to eat back then. I got my tour from the wife of the archaeologist who discovered the site when he was a kid back in the sixties. She gave an excellent tour, she was very friendly, gave a lot of background details and answered all my questions. They give tours regularly during the summer, but I got mine by calling the phone number. You can walk down the stairs, but they have a concrete trail that they drive you up and down on in a quad as it would be quite a hike. This is one of the best tours I have ever taken, I highly recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“well done”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This is a fun and educational stop. It is not necessary to pay for a guided tour - but you make a big mistake if you just wander through unescorted. I was fortunate to have the wife of the archaeologist who discovered this site as tour guide. Everyone was very friendly. The tour was very affordable and every question was answered thoroughly. It was fascinating to learn about the ancient nomadic tribes and how they herded and killed the buffalo. One of the excellent displays even showed how the native Americans prepared and cooked the meat. This was lots better than expected. Look for the signs advertising The Buffalo Jump.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank nickjackson2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wahkpa Chu'gn Archaeological Site also viewed

 

Been to Wahkpa Chu'gn Archaeological Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing