We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older property”

Howard Johnson Helena
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Helena
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Helena
Belgrade
1 review
“Older property”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I tend to view HoJo's as newer and nice. This is an old revamped property. The rooms are nice sized, however, everything smells old. Especially the bed and bedding. The shower would run cold if you ran water elsewhere.
We were disappointed. Not at all worth the price we paid for it. The upstairs floors were uneven. Bedding was old and threadbare. The AC unit rattled so bad, we couldn't sleep. Windows were dirty. Bad experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    34
    41
    40
    30
See reviews for
69
27
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The lobby was very nice and clean. Plenty of parking. The room was small with a lack of light other than in the bathroom and in front of the mirror to get ready. We considered using the pool and or hot tub but it was very dirty and no up to par. The morning when we were getting ready to head back home our shower was broken for all practical purposes. Our water was either boiling hot or freezing cold. We called to the lobby and were allowed to shower in the room next door. Breakfast was a disappointment to say the least. Not a great variety and taste poor. Overall staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Helena hotels

Smithfield
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Rates were excellent but Room and bathroom was not maintained very well and was not very clean. Outside entrances to hotel and room had dirt and papers accumulating and
breakfast was okay, but not very presentable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Janae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Low average hotel. Decent price but very noisy old school heater that kind of smells. WiFi signal was very weak. Had two mornings of luke warm showers and one morning was a cold shower.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel lobby was clean and the staff member was very nice. It was nice having a bar and casino on site .The room was dismal. carpet crunchy..indoor/outdoor ..sheetrock repairs done poorly and not completed. Stains on bedspread and blanket.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Heide M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

While the staff was nice and attentive, houskeeping here isn't a priority. Overall the room was clean but there were no bath towels many nights when I got back to the room and had to go to the front desk to get some. Nice sized room, and comfortable. However the location was a little noisy. If I return on business I'll likely look for an alternate choice,

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helena hotels
0.4 mi away
Jorgenson's Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
0.2 mi away
Radisson Colonial Hotel Helena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
1.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Helena Airport
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#2 of 21 in Helena
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Helena

Property: Howard Johnson Helena
Address: 2101 11th Ave, Helena, MT 59601-4877
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Helena 1.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Helena Hotel Helena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing