We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the cleanest hotels in the USA!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Rockies, United States
1 review
“One of the cleanest hotels in the USA!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is one of excellently managed and very clean hotels. There is a restaurant on site, the menu selections are limited, but the food and service is great. Rooms have nice big desks that are ideal for business travelers. The gym facility is a very small one, but practical. I highly recommend this hotel. By the way, the hotel has excellent meeting and conference facilities.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana406, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Barry F - what a generous compliment you have given us! Thank you! We take great pride in our staff and our property. As winners of several Best Western awards, we strive to provide the superior customer service our brand reflects. We hope you will have an opportunity to come see us again on a future trip to Helena! Mati Bara, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    157
    30
    10
    10
See reviews for
246
159
32
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

On a recent trip through Montana, we stayed at the Helena Great Northern Hotel. The rooms were very clean and smartly decorated. The staff were extremely helpful during our stay; providing dining advice and assisting with specific shopping questions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana406, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you Goodmedicine! Great to see some travelers from the east! Helena has much to offer and I hope you were able to get the flavor of our city. We appreciate your compliments and hope you will consider staying with us again when traveling this way. Marti Bara, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed one night at the Best Western in Helena while on a business trip. The hotel is very pretty and located in a small pedestrian plaza area with an Old Main Street feel. Restaurant and bar at at the hotel, and it's a short walk to The Brewhouse, a terrific family style pub. I used the fitness center, which felt a little small, but was fine for what I was going for. The next morning, breakfast was great - eggs, sausages and fresh fruit were available. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana406, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Deborah G,it ispleasing to hear you enjoyed Helena. There is so much to offer our visitors here in Helena to see and do. The Town Center is an excellent beginning to enjoy dining, shopping, a movie - a nice walk. We appreciate your comments! Thank you, Marti Bara. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The quality of the room was excellent. The stay was entirely pleasant. The staff was extremely courteous, helpful and professional. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have ever had, anywhere.This hotel made my trip to Missoula an experience that I want to repeat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana406, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Debra - thank you for your warm comments. We sure hope you have an opportunity to come stay with us in the future. Marti Bara, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yellowstone, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I loved this property. Clean, friendly service, will definitely stay again. Staff was professional nd the rooms were very comfortable. Ammenities were above and beyond many properties that I have stayed in the past. I will reccomend this property to everyone that is traveling in Helena.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kristy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana406, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Kristy - thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is our pleasure to be ambassadors to the great city of Helena. We hope to have you back soon! Marti Bara, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

This hotel was nice and above my expectations for a Best Western. Booked at he last minute a had an interior room that opened to the indoor pool. Not ideal for me with the chlorine smell but could be convenient for a family. Rib house connected that was delicious and well visited.

Room Tip: Unless you are traveling as a family with young ones, I would recommend requesting an exterior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana406, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Tim thank you for your comments - appreciate your comments on the pool. We only have 6 poolside rooms and they are highly requested for families as you suggested. We hope to see you here again soon! Marti Bara, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forsyth, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Convention at the Great Northern Town Center was great! There wasn't a "down" meal, the staff was very helpful and efficient all throughout the convention. The total experience is one I would be glad to repeat any time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank sundowner7_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana406, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Sundowner - thank you for your kind words. We strive to exceed our guests expectations when they stay with us - please come see us again soon! Marti Bara GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helena hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#2 of 21 in Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Helena
Residence Inn Helena
#6 of 21 in Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#3 of 21 in Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena
1.9 mi away
Radisson Colonial Hotel Helena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel

Property: Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
Address: 835 Great Northern Blvd, Helena, MT 59601-3315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helena
#1 Romantic Hotel in Helena
#2 Family Hotel in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Great Northern Town Center area of the historic downtown Helena. Near restaurants, retail shops, Great Northern Carousel & Ice Cream Company, movie theater Exploration Works Museum. Full service convention center for your important business and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helena
Helena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing