We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“C'mon man, walls are like paper, if you don't mind hearing your neighbor farting, this hole is tolerable.”
Review of Budget Inn Express

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Budget Inn Express
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Helena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“C'mon man, walls are like paper, if you don't mind hearing your neighbor farting, this hole is tolerable.”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I drove for ten hours and just needed something clean & quiet, clean sure, quiet forget it. The woman in charge just doesn't get it.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Quietpleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budget Inn E, Public Relations Manager at Budget Inn Express, responded to this review, 25 March 2015
We are so sorry to hear that you had a bad experience staying at the Budget Inn with the previous owners and management.

My business partner and I have recently purchased this property in February 2015. We have begun the process of renovating this property. If you happen to come to Helena again, we hope that you would give us another opportunity to change your mind when we have completed renovations.

Best Regards,

Budget Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
4
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ronan, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Beds were very clean and extremely comfortable!! If you are used to fancy chains and newer accommodations don't stay here. If, however, you are looking for a good deal and don't mind putting up with older fixtures, carpets and buildings, this is the place for you. Downtown and lots of people wandering around and hanging out in the parks nearby, but this is Montana! Everyone very friendly, even the bums, and felt safe and had no problems with the managers, locals or other residents. Surprisingly quiet. Good hot water and water pressure. Good TV reception. Tiny microwave, had to watch the popcorn closely. Huge fridge for a hotel room! Used actual keys to get into room, which was very handy as I just put it on my car key ring for the trip. This is an older place so do not expect a really nice room, but what is important is there: good beds & bedding, good hot water, safe area, quiet rooms, micro/fridge and cable TV, Easier to get to area of town we needed to than the hotels up by the mall. Lots of stuff to walk around and see. Will stay here next year too.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MTCOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budget Inn E, Owner at Budget Inn Express, responded to this review, 25 March 2015
Thank you for your review!

We appreciate your business, and hope you continue to give us feed back as we begin renovations as the new owners and managers of this motel nestled right in the heart of downtown Helena.

Hope to meet you on your next visit.

Safe Travels,

Jenny & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

My friend and I stayed here for a night. There were no vacancy's anywhere else in town because of a teachers conference. When we got to the front desk the guy was extremely rude! We got to our room and found that the bathroom was dirty and half of the lights in the room did not work. The door only had one lock and when we were bringing our bags into the room there were several guys standing outside smoking that put off a very vibe.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misstiffanyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budget Inn E, Public Relations Manager at Budget Inn Express, responded to this review, 25 March 2015
I am so sorry to hear that you had a bad experience staying at the Budget Inn with previous management and owners.

My business partner and I have recently purchased this property in February 2015. We have begun the process of renovating this property. If you happen to come to Helena again, we hope that you would give us another opportunity to change your mind when we have completed renovations.

Best Regards,

Budget Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Helena hotels

Helena, MT
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2009

Nice people, clean room, low price for area, when you paid for business travel yourself it matters.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJCassidy3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budget Inn E, Owner at Budget Inn Express, responded to this review, 25 March 2015
Thank you for your review!

We appreciate your business, and hope you continue to give us feed back as we begin renovations as the new owners and managers of this motel nestled right in the heart of downtown Helena.

Hope to meet you on your next visit.

Safe Travels,

Jenny & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

I made a reservation to stay at the Budget Inn Express in Helena about 10 days in advance. I canceled it a couple of days later due to a death in the family. I was charged anyway. When I called to correct the error I was told that I did not cancel the reservation. When I said that I had the record of the call time and duration of the cancellation on my cell phone I was told, "that's what everone says."

You don't ever get a reservation or a cancellation number. Fortunately I was begrudingly told that they would credit my credit card (remains to be seen), but that they would never let me stay there in the future.

Be careful about giving this lady your credit card number, because based on the "that's what everyone says" statement it seems that others may have had a similar experience. It could be that she genuinely does not remember our conversation and/or her computer is not working the way she thinks it is. If you decide to stay there, you might think about paying with cash. I am hoping it is a good place and good people with poor memories and lousy computer skills.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — Customer Service
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTrailsNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budget Inn E, Public Relations Manager at Budget Inn Express, responded to this review, 25 March 2015
I am so sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with the Budget Inn with previous management and owners.

My business partner and I have recently purchased this property in February 2015. We have begun the process of renovating this property. If you happen to come to Helena again, we hope that you would give us another opportunity to change your mind when we have completed renovations.

Best Regards,

Budget Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2008

The Budget Inn Express is exactly as its name implies - a budget Inn motel. Although this facility is older and requires some renovation, it was an excellent choice for location and price. The motel is located in the "old" downtown area - a good location to many tourist sites. The price was right! Less than $50. Our room was clean but showed aging and wear and tear. The receptionist was extremely friendly. This is not a 1st class motel but for one night is was a perfect choice for our short stay in Helena.

  • Liked — Price and Location
  • Disliked — Older and required some upgrading
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrIVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budget Inn E, Public Relations Manager at Budget Inn Express, responded to this review, 25 March 2015
Thank you for your review!

We appreciate your business, and hope you continue to give us feed back as we begin renovations as the new owners and managers of this motel nestled right in the heart of downtown Helena.

Hope to meet you on your next visit.

Safe Travels,

Jenny & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helena hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
1.3 mi away
Jorgenson's Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Helena
Holiday Inn Helena
#13 of 21 in Helena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#2 of 21 in Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn Express

Property: Budget Inn Express
Address: 524 N Last Chance Gulch, Helena, MT 59601-3345
Region: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn Express 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in Montana without destroying your pocket book. ​Budget Inn Express is located in historic downtown Helena, the capital of Montana. While staying with us walk down the Last Chance Gulch walking mall and enjoy the turn-of-the-century architecture, best restaurants, taverns, shops, entertainment, Grand Street Theatre and seasonal performing groups. If outdoor recreation is your niche-- trails, mountains, ski resorts, boating tours and much more awaits you within just a few minutes of the motel. We offer clean rooms at one of the lowest prices in town. We have a guest laundry, Wi-Fi, phone (free local and long distance calls), cable TV, microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee. For those wanting to have an extended stay in our beautiful state, we offer weekly and monthly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Budget Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Express Hotel Helena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing