We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for our family of 5”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jorgenson's Inn & Suites
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Helena
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Great for our family of 5”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

You don't often find a place that is affordable and has space for 5 AND includes a fresh breakfast made for you (not for the entire hotel at once) AND an agreement with an awesome place to workout and swim just down the road (my kids will never accept a hotel pool again!). We are simple people. We like a place to rest our heads, maybe let the kids watch a tv show. We want clean, but don't care if the color scheme is 'in'. We had a few hiccups with the air conditioning in our room, but they moved us and fixed the problem immediately when it was convenient for us. We made friends with our breakfast serves and felt comfortable here. Couldn't have had a better affordable stay centrally located for our needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTuckerJr, General Manager at Jorgenson's Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
The kids won't accept a hotel pool!?!?! Dangit, Ours just re-opened! You may have to come back and let them try our new indoor pool - then you don;t have to drive over to the club (which we still offer access to for all the workout equipment and such).

Glad you had a great experience - we hope you return to Helena often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    146
    69
    41
    26
See reviews for
130
91
33
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here during a recent road trip. My husband checked in while I stayed in the car with our dogs. After getting our key, he came out and exclaimed "Man, people are nice here!" The room was very spacious and well-appointed. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. I thought the toiletries were some of the best I've come across in any hotel stay. I'm in a wheelchair and the room was very handicapped accessible. My only complaint is that the bed was pretty high which made transferring from my wheelchair a bit difficult. But if that is my only complaint, then I think the place was in pretty great shape! We didn't make it to the free breakfast, as we were traveling with our dogs and didn't want to leave them in the room alone to have a sit down breakfast. But, there was free coffee in the lobby and we were fine with that. The location of the hotel was pretty great too. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed for a single night at Jorgenson’s during a trip through Montana from Washington state.

Never before have I felt so at odds with Tripadvisor reviews. Jorgenson’s was both the most expensive and least impressive property we visited during our trip, which included stays in Spokane and Great Falls.

We booked our other hotels via bargain sites but felt that Jorgenson’s strong Tripadvisor rating and competitive pricing made it a no-brainer for our stay in Helena.

Boy were we wrong. The front desk is nice, and the girl working was pleasant. We stayed in an older building and while the main building may be more up to par, these older rooms were poor.

I’ll be honest, there was a feeling of deflation the moment I opened the door to the room, which backed on to Helena’s depressing shopping mall (where we still managed to spend a few bucks at JC Penney). We thought better of parking on the exposed rear side of the property and parked in the more central parking lot (everything we know about Montana is it’s a pretty safe state, but the rear parking seemed kinda exposed).

Inside the room, my wife found a mystery stain on the comforter for her bed and she insisted that we raise the issue with hotel staff. To the front desk staff's credit, after hearing about the bedding issues and some general cleanliness issues in the room (a good deal of dust on surfaces through the room), we were moved to a different room with no question.

The new room had seemingly clean bedding (though there was a cigarette burn on the bedskirt), but there was an odd aroma (livable — not disgusting, but weird) and it still looked as tired as the previous room (and the chair had some sort of stain on it). The television clearly needed programming: the channel up/down button didn’t work properly and we had to manually input channels. In addition to these issues was just a general lack of decorative touch.

It would be unfair to point to the various factors in our general disappointments without bringing up the bright spots: the free breakfast is pretty standard breakfast fare -- but very generous for a free morning meal. While overall we were unimpressed with the room, the toiletries seemed quite nice and the bathrooms were either years ahead of their time or recently refurbished. Whatever the case, they were nice, clean and did not show any of the age that the other parts of the rooms did.

Ultimately, the hotel was secure enough (a hotel key card needed to get to the second floor of our building) and the room was passable. But it was the most disappointing hotel stay I’ve had in the past five years. I find it difficult to reconcile this hotel’s rating with my experience there. We doubt we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamsandwich101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Absarokee, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

At our recent stay, the service was phenomenal, the room was great, and the value was exceptional. We were in the old building, in one of the King Suites. For the money it's a great room. Next time we're back in Helena, we'll stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: King Suites are a good value.
See more room tips
Green Features: Great to see a hotel advertise this. We saw Energy Saver TV's in particular.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norcross, Georgia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Jorgensens because of other positive reviews and we agree. The room was comfortable,the complimentary made to order breakfast, and the free passes to the Montana history center were added bonuses. If you are in Helena I highly recommend this hotel

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marcia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Lodge
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were in town for the fair and concert. We stayed at the Jorgensen's Inn and Suites. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean. We were able to get a complimentary shuttle to and from the fairgrounds so we did not have to worry about parking. It really made for a great night. Great complementary breakfast in their restaurant the next day. Great rooms and many extra customer pluses. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valorie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in Helena to break the trip from Glacier to Yellowstone. Our group is two children, their parents, and grandma (me). The motel is clean but very worn.

The phone in the room had all the buttons missing and no dial tone, so we asked for another. The housekeeper let herself into the room without announcing while I was trying to take a nap. The key word in this sentence is trying because . . .

The a/c is cooling a space about 2" beyond the box. Sporadically. It seems to run for about 15 minutes and turn itself off. There is a helpful note that says, Wait 2 minutes before resetting. Whatever that means. As I write this review (20 hours after check-in), the a/c is still not working.

It reached 90 degrees in Helena this afternoon so it's a little warm in the room.

Oh, yes, the room. We have three double beds. Sounds good, right? One room is a double double. Then there is an adjoining room with a double. There is nothing else in the second room. Just the bed. There is about a foot of clearance all around. No a/c or heating vent. No dresser. No electric outlet (except the one with the wall sconce plugged in. No external door. (Seems to me the fire marshall needs to know about that one.)

It's clean. It's near downtown. It was inexpensive. (Duh.)

Room Tip: There is a casino/lounge next to the restaurant. The place reeks of smoke. Sleeping rooms do not.
See more room tips
Green Features: I can't tell what their environmentally-friendly practices are, although I apparently have to write something in this box in order to get this review published.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarySueDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helena hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#2 of 21 in Helena
403 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Helena Airport
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#3 of 21 in Helena
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Helena
Howard Johnson Helena
#16 of 21 in Helena
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jorgenson's Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jorgenson's Inn & Suites

Property: Jorgenson's Inn & Suites
Address: 1714 11th Ave, Helena, MT 59601-4664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helena
#8 Business Hotel in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jorgenson's Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Helena's Capitol District, Jorgenson's Inn & Suites offers newly updated rooms offering comfort and convenient amenities including fridges and microwaves. Free WiFi is accessible throughout the property. Rooms in our main building are a bit more updated with executive desks and chairs which help to get work done. Every room rate we offer includes a free hot, served breakfast in Jorgenson's Restaurant. As you can tell from the reviews, the breakfast is a great addition to our valuable service. We offer free shuttle service on-demand to the Helena Regional Airport. We are only a few blocks from the I-15 Capital interchange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jorgenson's Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jorgenson`s Hotel Helena
Jorgenson`s Inn And Suites
Jorgensons Hotel Helena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing