We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Helena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helena
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Helena
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Central location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The location is one of the few good things I have to say about this place. The room was ok and the bed was comfortable. My biggest issue is that when we checked in on speck I asked about breakfast and was told it was from 6.30am in the restaurant. I felt totally duped as hadn't been told that you had to pay extra for breakfast. It was only on getting to the room and going through the room book that we realised this. Husband double checked this and was fuming considering what we'd paid for the room. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillipa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Phillipa P,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am happy to know that our location worked for your needs and that you found our room and bed comfortable. However, I am very sorry for the dissatisfaction with the lack of information about the breakfast rates. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service.

Thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    61
    30
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
46
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

On entering the hotel around 3.30pm we saw an unfinished plate of food near the reception desk (late lunch for the staff?) however the same plate was still there almost 3 hours later!
Reception staff avoided eye contact wherever possible and this was indicative of the overall service level from staff who really seemed disinterested.

I stayed here with a small group of 27 Australian Cattle Farmers and, because we were a group, we were served our dinner and breakfast in a windowless basement room because "that is our groups policy". Had they bothered to provide a bar service in the basement over dinner they could have made a lot of money from us Australians. Obviously the Manager or Franchisee wasn't on duty that day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kfleming71, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Mel H,
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you had an extremely negative experience at the Holiday Inn Downtown Helena. The actions of the reception staff has been brought to the attention of the Front Desk Manager and have been addressed. It is also very unfortunate that you did not appreciate the accommodations your group received in our meeting rooms. It is not that it is group policy to serve groups in the lower level meeting rooms although it is customary to follow the contract set up between two companies. As with all contracts, we are more than happy to change things on request after arrival. We do apologize for any and all inconveniences and misunderstandings that occurred during you time with us.
Thank you again for your input and we hope you have a wonderful day.

Holiday Inn Downtown Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is located in downtown Helena, so it is quite convenient to the walking mall. Service at the front desk was good and the lounge was a nice place to grab a drink or quick meal. The exercise room is a little small with older equipment, though. Overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kfleming71, Front Desk Staff at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Debbie A.,
Thank you for your review of our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are also ecstatic that you had the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful downtown area! We thank you for your appreciation of the Front Desk and The Quarry Bar and Grill. It's unfortunate that you found our Fitness Center inadequate. We are always open for suggestions on how we can renovate our establishment to better enhance a comfortable and inviting stay.

Thank you again for your input into the Holiday Inn Downtown and hope that if your future travels should bring you to Helena again, you choose us for you accommodation needs.

We hope to see you in the near future and have a wonderful day!

Holiday Inn Downtown Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Finished a wonderful long weekend stay at the Holiday Inn Helena. The hotel's location was in walking distance to almost everything that I wanted to do. Charming stores and restaurants were located in the walking mall or further up the street. I admit I did drive my car up to the start of my hike up nearby Mount Helena. The hot tub was relaxing even though I never could get the jets to work after turning on the timer. Parking was free which I appreciated for my occasional jaunts further afield such as the state capitol building and the movies. I especially appreciated that you could still open up your balcony door and get a fresh breeze in the room. In addition, I enjoyed the mini-fridge in the room for snacks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seriousworldwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kfleming71, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Seriousworldwanderer, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy you had the chance to enjoy the beautiful Downtown area along with your hike on Mt. Helena!! We are happy you were able to visit the capital and maybe next time you are in the are you will have time to visit some of the museums and maybe even the old governors mansion. We are pleased that you also enjoyed the quality and comfort of your sleeping accommodations. In the future, if you are in Helena, we would love for you to stay with us again.

Thank you again for your review.
Holiday Inn Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkdale, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Holiday Inns tend to be pretty similar from place to place. This one is no different other than the location. This one is right at the heart of downtown Helena and walking distance to most places one would want to eat. As always, the room was clean and the beds and bedding were high quality.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th and 7th floors. Not sure it matters as the rooms were identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Checkbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kfleming71, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Checkbook,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy you had the chance to enjoy the beautiful Downtown Helena!! We are pleased that you also enjoyed the quality and comfort of your sleeping accomodations. If your travels ever bring you to Helena again, we hope you choose to stay with us again.

Thank you again for your review.
Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed one night here for business. The room was large and clean and had a nice view of the hillside behind Park Ave. (6th floor room). The bed was comfortable, the wifi worked fine and the check in/check out process was a breeze. My only complaint is that in my room, I could hear the woosh of toilets flushing and the water running through the plumbing on the wall next to the bed. Other than that, everything was ok.

My group used the conference center for our day long training. The room was nice and they staff that assisted with the catering was very friendly and on top of it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onewickedb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kfleming71, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear onewickedb,
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Downtown Helena. We are pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations in our establishment. We receive a great deal of compliments on our beds and some have asked to purchase them. We are also happy to hear that our staff was efficient, helpful and friendly. We pride ourselves on our customer service and try to make sure our guests receive a great customer service experience. We're glad that you also enjoyed the view from your room as the Downtown surroundings are exceptionally breathtaking. It is unfortunate you were disturbed by the water flow through the pipes. We apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you again for your input of our hotel, we appreciate all reviews. If your travels should bring you through Helena in the future we hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Hope to see you soon!

Holiday Inn Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana City, Montana
Level Contributor
220 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We rarely venture away from the Hilton family of hotels but due to the location of this one compared to the Hampton in Helena we opted to stay here. I am glad we did.
We requested a room on a high floor (7 floors) and front desk granted our request.
We had a king room with a balcony overlooking the walking mall with a great view of the mountains. In my opinion that is the only reason to choose this hotel. Nothing else about it was any kind of special. .
Our room was comfortable and internet was good. I did find a few hairs in the bathroom which is always a nasty find. Also when moving the easy chair to get to an outlet, I found chards of a plastic cup along with other small pieces of trash. Our coffee maker did not work and water ran all over the counter. Also, our room was too hot for us and turning temp down did not help.We ended up sleeping with the patio door cracked open to an outside temp of 36*.
We paid $138.00 for our room and only the location and ability to walk onto our balcony made it worth it.
The hotel is in a wonderful area for walking, loads of dining, shops and parks nearby.
After all that, when going to Helena I probably would stay here again, the hotel is nothing special, but okay considering the lovely location.

Room Tip: Request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akmoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kfleming71, Front Desk Staff at Holiday Inn Helena, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Downtown Helena. We appreciate all reviews both positive and negative. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed both the balcony and your placement in the hotel. We try to accommodate all of our guests with any special requests they may have for us. The balconies are amazing for viewing the beautiful Helena surroundings and we are glad you got to enjoy them. We are saddened to hear that the cleanliness of your room was not to the standard we pride ourselves on. It was also unfortunate to hear that the thermostat and coffee maker in your room were not working properly. These problems have been brought to the attention of the management of both the Housekeeping department and the Maintenance department. Downtown Helena is a very breathtaking place filled with an abundance of interesting history and we're glad you enjoyed our area. We hope that the next time your travels bring you to Helena, you will choose to stay with us again. We look forward to seeing you.
Thank you again for your input of our establishment.
Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helena hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#3 of 21 in Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#2 of 21 in Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Colonial Hotel Helena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helena

Property: Holiday Inn Helena
Address: 22 N Last Chance Gulch, Helena, MT 59601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Helena 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Downtown is located on the Historic Walking Mall. Lots of shopping, dinning and all around fun with our location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helena Hotel Helena
Park Plaza Helena
Park Plaza Hotel Helena
Helena Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing