We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in an interesting town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Helena
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Helena
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1,070 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in an interesting town”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Like most Fairfield Inns in the Marriott chain, this location gives excellent value - clean room, comfortable bed, free Internet, hot breakfast. What else does one need for a night? Did I mention a free USA Today?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    57
    36
    13
    9
See reviews for
47
46
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Unless you like to share your room with previous guests hair everywhere, dust abounding, food wrappers beneath the furnishings, stained curtains and towels, and...worst of all...fecal matter on the wallpaper and the bathroom fixtures, AVOID THIS HOTEL!!! It is NOT a AAA 3-diamond-rated hotel !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CARLSBADtraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I made reservations for a 2-day stay. After my initial experience, I checked out early and went to the FABULOUS (new) Residence Inn in Helena. What a contrast. Here's my experience:
1. The check-in experience was RUSHED, the front desk staff started checking in another guest before I had my questions answered.
2. In the room, there was food stuck in the carpet - this should have been cleaned and removed before I arrived.
3. This is minor, but the bar of bath soap was broken in half (in the wrapper). This should have been obvious to the housekeeping staff - but they left it in the room anyhow.
4. The air conditioner ran constantly (from 3:30pm - 10:30pm) and never cooled the room enough to cycle off. Turned it off so that I could sleep, but the room was stuffy and warm ...not a good combination for a late summer day.
5. I failed to check the alarm clock before I went to bed. Yep, housekeeping FAILED to ensure that it was "OFF" before I got the room. (this is one of their checklist items).
6. There was MOLD on the shower liner. Yuck!
7. There was a spider in the bathtub. (no big deal, but I don't want insects in the room). The Manager told me they spray for spiders.
8. The bath towels were very, very, very, very thin. I guess I'm used to relatively plush towels in my hotel rooms?
9. In the exercise room, the (bottled) water dispenser was dirty and had debris encrusted on the dispensing nozzle. Yuck! I grabbed a Clorox wet nap (used to clean sweat off of exercise equipment) and cleaned it myself.
10. The hotel's Internet (Wi-Fi) connection speed was slower than slow. Speed test resulted in 43Kb/s (remember dial-up modems? they ran up to 56Kb/s).

All these issues overshadowed any positives. What did I like about the hotel? Let’s see…
1. Hot water in the bathroom.
2. Ice in ice makers.

Frustrated and disappointed, I checked out early.
I was able to present my concerns with the Manager, he apologized and offered to discount the room by 50%.

I checked into the Helena Residence Inn for the rest of my stay - and had a FABULOUS experience.

Note: I'm in hotel rooms about 80-90 nights a year. In the past 6 years, this is the 3rd time I've been brought to the point of complaining.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel. I would suggest the Residence Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoodGear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Have stayed here several times before. Two different times in the course of 10 days on this vacation. The hotel is reasonably clean and comfortable. Just like it should be. Did not have any problems what so ever. The best part is breakfast. Very good, not a buffet, but more that just a continental. The person at breakfast kept everything just right.

Though this not the fanciest hotel it is a great value for the money. The rooms just as nice as any other fairfield, but the breakfast was much better. For comparison, we stayed at the Fairfield in Great Falls the night before and the rooms were about the same but the breakfast in Helena was 100 times better and our price was less.

Will stay here again if we get to Helena again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dp226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Recently renovated, modern and very clean. Lots of kids in the indoor pool. Good location. Friendly staff who were happy to recommend a place for cycling. I would definitely stay here again. Elevator so I could bring my bike inside.

Room Tip: I was on the top floor and it was very quiet with no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan35614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed one night as we were just passing through Helena. The hotel is typical Fairfield, a little spartan compared to SpringHill Suites, but the staff was friendly and accomodating, they served a nice hot breakfast, and, most important, we enjoyed a good nights sleep. We would stay here again. This hotel is above average for its class.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloha, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We spent three nights around 7/4/2012 and the staff was friendly, personal, and courteous. The value for price was excellent; the room was spacious and clean. We had to cut our stay short due to an illness, and the staff not only assisted us with checkout, but expressed genuine concern to my son. Every worker: the kitchen attendant, front desk clerks, room service, and maintenance - polite and helpful and personable. Only thing I had trouble with was internet access in that a third party handles the connections, which was a little disturbing at first, but I think I remember the front desk telling me about it ahead of time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mugshotmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helena hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#2 of 21 in Helena
382 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#3 of 21 in Helena
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Colonial Hotel Helena
0.4 mi away
Jorgenson's Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Helena

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Helena
Address: 2150 11th Ave, Helena, MT 59601-4876
Region: United States > Montana > Helena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Helena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remodeled in 2016 the Fairfield Inn & Suites has a modern look with a homey feel. The staff strives to make each stay as comfortable and welcoming as possible. A free breakfast includes many hot and cold options, healthy options, and kid friendly options. The pool and outdoor gathering place is a wonderful place for families to gather and enjoy each other's company. The hotel also has a small meeting space that can be rented for half days and/or full days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Helena Hotel Helena
Fairfield Helena
Helena Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing