We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ending to a beautiful day on the river”
Review of Amber Bear Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amber Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Heron B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 October 2013

October in Northern Idaho and Montana can be some of the most beautiful, quiet days we have. After a pleasant day kayaking on the Clark Fork River we made our way to Amber Bear Inn and was greeted by Nancy and Mike and welcomed into their beautiful B&B. We were really surprised and thrilled with our room. Any request was promptly accommodated and we felt completely at home. Nancy has done an outstanding job of making the room homey and comfortable. It was so nice to pad down to the dinning room and have the coffee already made and waiting for us in the morning. Breakfast was delicious....no skimping on quality or portions! Nancy and Mike are very knowledgeable people on many subject which made for great conversations. What a thrill it was to look out the window and see a black bear searching around for the last of the apples. Don't forget to check out the cute gift shop. Oh, yeah, we will definitely come back and soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thanks for your wonderful review. We have worked hard to make the Amber Bear Inn a quiet, peaceful place for our guests and the local wildlife. We never tire of looking out a window and spotting deer, elk, or bears wandering around, feeling safe on the grounds. We are now providing a Work/Study program for a local boarding School and the beautiful young women from the School assist us with our guests and facilities. Young people are truly one of America's most endangered species. We thank you for staying with us. Your patronage has a ripple effect far beyond the local economy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Labor Day dinner was excellent. The wild life, a few feet from the window worth the trip. We had dinner and didn't stay this time. We viewed the rooms. Large and beautiful. The air is clean and the mountains spectacular. We love Heron, Mt.

Room Tip: I didn't stay this time but would love to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hwaying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words. Hopefully, when you travel through this area again you'll be able to spend more time. We have fantastic hiking, fishing, and a boat launch onto the Clark Fork River 2 minutes away. As you mentioned, you stumble over wildlife as we are a place with more animals than people. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were there for only one night but sure wish we could have stayed longer. The place is wonderful. It is about 5 miles off of the main road and we were a bit skeptical as to what we would be finding once we got to it, but were pleasantly surprised. The building is very open and lots of light colored wood and big fireplaces. The view is wonderful and we could see deer from our room in the morning, by the pond. There were also peacocks, goats, and a llama, on the property. As we were eating dinner, Mike, the owner, invited us to come look out the back window to see a black bear that had been making an appearance every night. He came right up to the building and stood up on his hind legs so I could get a great picture of him. Fortunately the window was too high for him to reach us. I guess he came to eat apples from their trees. The breakfast is included and it was delicious. We also ate dinner there and that, too was very good. The owners are very friendly and easy to talk to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaFrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Owner at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thanks for your kind words, we appreciate it. We are a wild life sanctuary and are located at the base of Beaver Peak, adjoining the National Forest. Driving five miles off the State highway, in a very rural area, seems an odd place to locate a Lodge. However, it puts our guests at a great advantage of seeing wildlife from one of the many windows in the Lodge. It also provides a quiet rest, away from highway and railroad noise. Thanks again, for your kind words and five star rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My daughter and I shared a room with a large fireplace and bathroom. We slept with the windows open and the rain pitter pattering on the roof tiles below. It was perfect. We only stayed one night and got there late, but it was well worth it. Breakfast was delicious!!

Susan and Mila

Room Tip: Loved the room with the fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SukiLosAngeles_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thanks for your kind words. Its hot and dry here now and your review mentions rain. Wish we had some! Instead, we have large sprinklers in our meadow to keep the native grasses growing for our wildlife and free-range critters. The water comes from an artesian spring on the grounds which guests hike up to and enjoy an ice-cold soak. Underneath large cedar trees, the artesian spring gushes down the mountain year-round and is a cool retreat 20 to 30 degrees cooler than the surrounding mountainside on a hot summer day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We were in town for a family reunion and stayed at the Amber Bear Inn June 14th and 15th. We had a wonderful time and wish we could have just relaxed there all weekend! Communication with them was easy, I had emailed them a few nights before we were going to be there and there was an email in my inbox and a phone call in the morning by the time I got off work. The building is very comfortable, our room was just what we needed and the area is beautiful. The food was great and we would have liked to eat there more but the reunion fed us as well. We went on a lovely hike up the hills behind the building and had even more beautiful mountain views. It was fun visiting with Mike and Nancy and they were very hospitable. They even offered for our relatives to park their RV's up there so they wouldn't have to hear the train all night and my in-laws even stayed the next night at the Inn to get away from that same train, and they slept very well. We will definitely be return guests and would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable weekend in the mountains.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words. The Inn is located 4 miles off State Highway 200. We are one of the few who are not located along a busy, noisy highway. The State of Montana has an enormous number of freight trains, up to 9 a night, transporting coal to China, logs to builders, and other products moving along parallel to the noisy highway. If you want QUIET, you will find it at Amber Bear Inn. You will not find quiet at lodging perched along the railroad tracks and busy highways. If QUIET is important to you, we are well worth the extra 5 minute drive to get away from noise. We thank this reviewer for pointing it out, and we thank her, once again, for her kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Amber Bear Inn is a perfect place for a quiet get away. Every room is unique and beautiful including fireplaces and picturesque views that you won't soon forget. There's almost always some sort of wildlife around be it deer, elk, moose or bears. Lot's of great opportunities for photographers. But mostly what I enjoy are the wonderful meals Nancy prepares for the restaurant. My husband and I have the good fortune of living in Heron so we visit Amber Bear fairly often. We think of them as "our diamond in the rough". Not many restaurants within 15 minutes of our home. None, of this quality. If we have company we want to take out for dinner, it's the Amber Bear Inn. If we have friends or family who need a place to stay, it's the Amber Bear. We have celebrated birthdays, anniversaries, and reunions, at the Amber Bear. Nancy prepares every meal with skill and heart. I can honestly say, that every time I have eaten there, the food has been fresh and of good quality. I believe that is what sets them apart from other restaurants, in this struggling economy. You can not beat their prices, which usually include drink, salad and soup bar, Nancy's delicious cheddar biscuits, and desert. One of my favorites is the Honey Stung Chicken, and my husband says the quail "melts in your mouth". And sometimes, when it's been a very long day and I have no ideas for dinner, I can count on Nancy to have dinner ready to go. Mike will make you feel at home and there are real table cloths, nice dishes and glasses, it's the most inviting and warmest restaurant you'll find in these parts.

Room Tip: The room in the south west corner, has a huge bed that faces the window. It would be heavenly to wak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Owner at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thanks so much for your review, we appreciate it. This retired couple raises puppies as hunting companions. What a fun job. We always enjoy it when they come to visit and eat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We have been to the Amber Bear Inn 3 times now and have had great service each time. Breakfast is wonderful, and the atmosphere is relaxing with an incredible view of the mountain off the front porch. There are great trails to hike, and Mike has snowshoes to borrow as well. It is a great place to relax. Mike and Nancy are very attentive to the customer's needs and are very accommodating as well. Would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Owner at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Thanks so much for your kind words. We had just opened up a new room, and it wasn't perfect, but Julie is the kind of guest that makes working in the hospitality industry a wonderful experience. We always look forward to a visit from Julie and her family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heron
9.0 mi away
Clark Fork Lodge
Clark Fork Lodge
#1 of 1 in Clark Fork
33 reviews
16.5 mi away
Pend Oreille Shores Resort
24.6 mi away
The Lodge at Trout Creek
The Lodge at Trout Creek
#1 of 2 in Trout Creek
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Bear Inn

Address: 25 Amber Bear Lane, Heron, MT 59844
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Heron
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Heron
Price Range: £75 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Bear Inn is a small, boutique, one-of-kind, rural Inn located on a 400 acre wildlife sanctuary in the Bitteroot Mountains. The Inn is located 4 miles off busy State Highway 200 and away from the noisy railroad tracks that run parallel to the highway. It is backed up to Kootenai National Forest, and there is direct access to the Forest for hiking, snowmobiling, and ATV access. Nature trails are groomed into the estate. A free boat launch on the Clark Fork River is 2 minutes away and is a gateway to fishing, kayaking, tubing, and sking.This is a quiet forest setting with rooms boasting magnificent views. There are 7 fireplaces in the Inn, free high-speed video-streaming wifi, satellite TV in every room, and a full-service restaurant. Breakfast is included and is ordered off the restaurant menu at the lodger's convenience. The restaurant is open to non-lodging guests by reservation only to maintain a tranquil setting. We offer an international selection of beer and wine.The owners live & work onsite and are one of Montana's oldest families, boasting 7 generations and over 100 years of State residency. We welcome you to our home & our State. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing