We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A "packers" delight!”
Review of Amber Bear Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amber Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Heron B&B and Inns
Montana City, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A "packers" delight!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

When we arrived in Heron, we were worried! But as we drove up the drive to the Amber Bear..... we were all smiles! Our host met us at the front door with a big welcome and there was accommodations for our eighteen wheeler and our straight truck..... after our six hour drive in snow storm, it was nice to have someone take care of us! We were fed wonderfully huge portions of home cooked meals before and after our work day - We felt the care takers were very considerate and kind and the Inn was more beautiful than any that i have seen. Thank you so much for the care and kindness..... we will stay there again when we are up in your neck of the woods. Tell Shelby hello for me!

Room Tip: You can see the elk out the north side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thanks, we enjoyed your working visit with us. Shelby, the horse, misses you already and looks forward to your return. He really appreciated you brushing him and bringing horse treats out to the barn for him! You can always tell when you have someone who loves the country staying with us, they always make a few trips out to the barn,or up the mountain, or hang out on the deck in the summer staring at the stars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
20
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plains, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband and I, along with our chocolate lab Buddy had the wonderful opportunity to spend Valentine's Day Dinner and night at the Amber Bear Inn last night. Nancy and Mike, the Inn Keepers are such caring individuals. Perfect match for them having this establishment. We will be back. Anxious to do some fishing as we've been told this is a great place to do so. The scenery is gorgeous in winter, can't wait to see it in the spring or summer. Thanks for making our stay so inviting. Buddy was wondering when we will be back? :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lablover2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Owner at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thanks so much. We are pleased with our Valentine's Fund raiser for the Sheriff's Tree of Hearts fund. Glad you enjoyed your dinner and your stay with us. Please come back soon and bring Buddy your chocolate lab back, we are very dog friendly out here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Inn, we wish our stay could have been longer. The Inn keepers were extremely helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to make sure we had directions and maps for our excursion the next day. Make sure you have one of their delicious omlets

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pkfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Owner at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thanks so much for your review. We do go overboard on portion size on our made-to-order omelettes. However, its a guilt-free breakfast because if you can't finish it, our staff dog, Chase, will be happy to have his dish filled with the rest of your breakfast. He rarely misses his morning scone also. He's looking forward to your return, and we are also!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Amber Bear Inn in December while we attended our daughter's graduation from Monarch. I use a wheelchair so Mike directed us to the side of the building that had a ramp which led right up to our room. We had a downstairs room which was wonderfully close to the living room/dining room. It was spacious and had a lovely fireplace. The bathroom was also roomy. The handles on the bathtub were inoperable at the time so we were not able to use the tub but we hadn't planned on using it anyway. The only challenge I had was the toilet area was a bit tight and without grab bars. The shower also had a ledge that I am unable to step over so my husband lifted me onto the built in shower seat. It would have been helpful if the ledge were removed and a roll in shower chair available. I have to say though that overall it was an amazing room with beautiful mountain style furniture, charming bedspreads, and very comfy beds. We had both a queen and a full size bed in the room. The height of the full size bed was perfect for me.

Mike and Nancy are very helpful. They're friendly, patient, and accommodating in every way. There were two girls from a local boarding school helping Nancy one day. Their names are Grace and Hanna and they are adorable! They wrapped, for me, over a dozen Christmas presents that I brought for my daughter. Hanna and Grace are not only physically beautiful but they have sweet, gentle spirits that made me want to hang out with them. I think of these 2 girls often and I hope they realize that their cheerful dispositions and helpful hands make burdens lighter and days brighter for people like me and for others with whom they interact.

All in all, I loved The Amber Bear Inn. The proximity to Monarch; Nancy's delicious and full breakfasts (and the scones are yummy!); Mike's willingness to chit chat about any subject that a guest introduces; and the hospitable atmosphere that permeates the home is all a tremendous pleasure!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betsy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Owner at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thanks for your wonderful review and your suggestions on improving our facility for guests in wheelchairs. We are especially pleased about your marvelous comments concerning Hanna and Grace and we will pass your review along to the girls. They are two of the hardest working, gracious teenagers we've ever encountered. Our area is very blessed to have two of the nation's best teen boarding schools. Our Inn has enjoyed a close relationship with the schools and the families for over 10 years. Its fun to watch the kids transition from awkward teenagers to seriously successful adults. They frequently come back to visit us years after they've graduated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plains, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is a sweet, quaint restaurant and inn. It is located in the beautiful cabinet mountains on the Montana/Idaho border. The scenery is gorgeous.

The owners provide a menu filled with delicious meal options. I've not stayed in the Inn, however, the restaurant service, conversation, and food is exceptional. I've eaten there twice and look forward to eating there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Owner at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thanks for your kind words. Thanks for choosing our Inn for your Thanksgiving dinner. We know its 140 mile round-trip between Plains and Amber Bear Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandpoint
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

October in Northern Idaho and Montana can be some of the most beautiful, quiet days we have. After a pleasant day kayaking on the Clark Fork River we made our way to Amber Bear Inn and was greeted by Nancy and Mike and welcomed into their beautiful B&B. We were really surprised and thrilled with our room. Any request was promptly accommodated and we felt completely at home. Nancy has done an outstanding job of making the room homey and comfortable. It was so nice to pad down to the dinning room and have the coffee already made and waiting for us in the morning. Breakfast was delicious....no skimping on quality or portions! Nancy and Mike are very knowledgeable people on many subject which made for great conversations. What a thrill it was to look out the window and see a black bear searching around for the last of the apples. Don't forget to check out the cute gift shop. Oh, yeah, we will definitely come back and soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thanks for your wonderful review. We have worked hard to make the Amber Bear Inn a quiet, peaceful place for our guests and the local wildlife. We never tire of looking out a window and spotting deer, elk, or bears wandering around, feeling safe on the grounds. We are now providing a Work/Study program for a local boarding School and the beautiful young women from the School assist us with our guests and facilities. Young people are truly one of America's most endangered species. We thank you for staying with us. Your patronage has a ripple effect far beyond the local economy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Labor Day dinner was excellent. The wild life, a few feet from the window worth the trip. We had dinner and didn't stay this time. We viewed the rooms. Large and beautiful. The air is clean and the mountains spectacular. We love Heron, Mt.

Room Tip: I didn't stay this time but would love to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hwaying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber B, Manager at Amber Bear Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words. Hopefully, when you travel through this area again you'll be able to spend more time. We have fantastic hiking, fishing, and a boat launch onto the Clark Fork River 2 minutes away. As you mentioned, you stumble over wildlife as we are a place with more animals than people. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Amber Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Bear Inn

Property: Amber Bear Inn
Address: 25 Amber Bear Lane, Heron, MT 59844
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Heron
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Heron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Bear Inn is a small, boutique, one-of-kind, rural Inn located on a 400 acre wildlife sanctuary in the Bitteroot Mountains. The Inn is located 4 miles off busy State Highway 200 and away from the noisy railroad tracks that run parallel to the highway. It is backed up to Kootenai National Forest, and there is direct access to the Forest for hiking, snowmobiling, and ATV access. Nature trails are groomed into the estate. A free boat launch on the Clark Fork River is 2 minutes away and is a gateway to fishing, kayaking, tubing, and sking.This is a quiet forest setting with rooms boasting magnificent views. There are 7 fireplaces in the Inn, free high-speed video-streaming wifi, satellite TV in every room, and a full-service restaurant. Breakfast is included and is ordered off the restaurant menu at the lodger's convenience. The restaurant is open to non-lodging guests by reservation only to maintain a tranquil setting. We offer an international selection of beer and wine.The owners live & work onsite and are one of Montana's oldest families, boasting 7 generations and over 100 years of State residency. We welcome you to our home & our State. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing