We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convienent location. Clean. Great Service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hungry Horse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
MountainTop, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Convienent location. Clean. Great Service.”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed in unit cabin #2. Attractive all wood decor. Room and shower stall a little small, but fine. The room was very warm when we returned in the evening after a day at the park even with the ceiling fan on. Room has no air conditioning, but it might not be needed most times of the year. Micro and refrig inside. Breakfast consisted of cereal and juice only. Road noise did not affect us at all. Real friendly and helpful staff. Great location to Glacier NP. You have to visit Glacier National Park !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bc_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    81
    26
    14
    7
See reviews for
79
132
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The staff was very friendly & knowledge of what to not miss in Glacier National Park. The room was very clean & the bed you could stay in it forever! The best pillow I have ever had in a hotel not soft but not firm loved it! Liked the beaver pond & BBQ for the price it was excellent !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdocter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed at one of the cabins for one night. It was extremely basic and the road noise was a real bother at night. At some $320 a night I feel the cabins are really poor value. Would not stay there again even at half the price. Reading the other reviews it would appear one should opt for the lodge and avoid the cabins.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 0rtelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarackLodge, Owner at Historic Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
I thank this guest for their input. I apologize that this guest did not appreciate their accommodations. The cabins this guest referenced are our unit cabins (motel units). As most motels, they are located closer to the highway than our family cabins. These are simple designs for travelers whom do not need all of the amenities of a full sized, full offering cabins. However, they still are beautiful with knotty pine interiors, hard wood floors and offer a refrigerator, micro-wave, TV and wireless internet. The bathrooms are modern and offer a stand up shower and not a bathtub/shower. The rate in which the guest referenced is incorrect as our unit cabins at full price are $125.00 - $155.00 depending on how many beds requested (one or two). If this guest wanted a full sized cabin away from the road I would have suggested that they stay in one of our family cabins, lofted cabins our couples cabins located throughout the other locations on this property. As the owner, along with my staff we always attempt to place guests in accommodation that meet their needs. I do wish this guest would have informed us of their needs as we would have moved them to a facility in which they would have better met their individual needs since this property is designed in which to offer numerous lodging choices depending on the needs of each individual's needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed in one of the 4 plex rooms There is no AC, no trees, and the rooms face west. Also, the rooms are right alongside a highway that doesn't ever seem to get quiet. They also have the smallest showers I've ever seen. All in all, about the hottest, noisiest place I've ever stayed. This was a big disappointment, especially considering the high price of the room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CMP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarackLodge, Owner at Historic Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for you input regarding your stay with us. I cannot comment on the heat during your stay other than the fact we, as well as the rest of North America went through a huge heat wave for about 5 days. it appears they were here during this time. Most of the facilities, to include our personal homes in this area of the mountains do not have air conditioning. The evening/nighttime temps always drop below 60F in the summer months. We try to inform all of our guests to simply open their windows and turn on the overhead ceiling fans for about 1 hour. This cools the rooms very quickly. There is also a note in the room informing guests whom are not familiar with high elevation living that this is the proper way we as locals cool our homes in the summer months. I apologize that we failed in informing this guest. Yes, the rooms face west and yes as with many motels throughout the country these motel units are located nearer to the road than our other cabins. If this guest wanted a location away from the road I wish they would have informed us as we have 24 other cabins we could have placed them in that are located next to the National forest that surrounds this facility. In regards to the room the bathrooms are modern but I must agree that the showers are not tub/showers but smaller showers without a tub. The price for this room is fair at $125.00/night during the summer months and is very comparable to the pricing of the entire Glacier National Park area facilities. In addition to this we also provide a free continental breakfast, free wireless internet and over 3 acres of green space filled with the pavilion, gardens, picnic tables, BBQ grills, volleyball, horseshoes and many other relaxing locations throughout this property. It appears that this guest did not utilize the entire facility in which we have designed to bring a very full and rewarding value to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Historic Tamarack Lodge based on the reviews from TripAdvisor -- almost all 4 and 5 star reviews. TripAdvisor reviews are usually very reliable, but we were quite disappointed this time.

We stayed in the Antelope Cabin, the last cabin they had. I was asked to pay in full before we even stepped foot in the cabin -- a request I thought was very odd. As soon as we stepped into the cabin, we both were instantly disappointed. Call it "shabby chic" or maybe Salvation Army, but what gives? The carpeting was old and dirty. The furnishings were a hodge podge of whatever they could throw into the room. The sofa was lumpy and uncomfortable. The TV, although large, was 10 years old.

Why is this lodge "Historic"? It was built in the 1960s and the cabin looks like it has the original furnishings. The "curtains" were just material hung over the windows. Everything looks like it was fixed on an "as needed" basis, with one bandaid on top of another.

The lodge is conveniently located right off the road and although the property extends in from the road, the Antelope Cabin is right on the road. It could be beautiful if the owners would do a proper remodeling. It needs to be gutted and redone from scratch. It could really be a great cabin if the owners would do what's really necessary. They seemed like nice people, so I'm hoping they'll listen and do what should be done. At $245/night, we were sorely disappointed. I've stayed in better Motel 6s for a whole lot less.

I took 4 photos, but I can't upload them because TripAdvisor keeps giving me error messages. Too bad, because the photos would show I'm not exaggerating.

Room Tip: Don't choose the Antelope Cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarackLodge, Owner at Historic Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
I appreciate this guests comments. However, I am disappointed that we did not meet their expectations. I would like to respond to some of the comments made by this guest. Foremost, our facility is the Historic Tamarack lodge AND cabins. No where do we mention the cabins are historic. In fact, our website mentions many of the newer cabins built since 2007. The lodge was built in 1907. The cabin this guest stayed in was built in 1984. This guest mentioned that they could not upload photos of this cabin . Anyone can see pictures of this cabin inside and out on our website. Some of the comments made by this guest are a bit confusing to me. The Full Sized flat screen high definition TV is about 6 years old now but is an excellent TV. I do not see why this needs to be replaced. The futon couch in the living room is just that...a futon couch and not a standard sofa. You did not mention the other sofas and chairs within the living/dining room. The cabin WAS remodeled in 2008 along with the furnishings and fixtures. I am not sure how much more modern this Montana cabin needs to be. I do agree with the need to update the carpet. It is difficult to schedule this done mid-summer and will be addressed this fall. However, no where did this guest mention that the rate of $245.00 is peak season rates and includes a continental breakfast in the lodge, free wi-fi, full daily housekeeping, 3 acres of quite area picnic and sitting areas with bbq grills, horseshoes, volleyball, full sized pavilion , swings, fully landscaped surrounding within an area surrounded by 5 million acres of wilderness. We have had many compliments about this cabin from many other guests. Therefore, I am going to take it that this comment as a guest in which we could never please regardless of the accommodations we could provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

What a great little place to stay. The room was a good size, and nicely furnished. Comfy bed. It was also very close to Glacier National Park, which was a huge plus. Extremely helpful and friendly staff who helped us find a few great hikes to go on, and suggested an awesome restaurant as well. We would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcraigmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Many amenities, clean grounds, all working appliances (griddle, bbq, dishwasher, t.v., coffee maker...), accommodating staff. Great location for exploring Glacier and the surrounding micro-communities. Hungry Horse grocery store has excellent supplies for all your cooking needs.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chalkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungry Horse
7.4 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
7.7 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.4 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
6.8 mi away
Smoky Bear Ranch
Smoky Bear Ranch
#2 of 8 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mini Golden Inns Motel
Mini Golden Inns Motel
#2 of 4 in Hungry Horse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Tamarack Lodge

Property: Historic Tamarack Lodge
Address: 9549 U.S. Highway 2 East, Hungry Horse, MT 59919
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Hungry Horse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hungry Horse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Tamarack Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a scenic mountain valley in the midst of the Montana Rockies, the Historic Tamarack Lodge & Cabins embodies a classic ambiance with modern amenities for a year-round getaway in the Crown of the Continent. Originally constructed in 1907, the lodge maintains its rustic charm with a log cabin design, placing its long history alongside modern updates that make for a stay in comfort and relaxation. Enjoy the history and ambience of the historic lodge when you stay upstairs in our classic lodge rooms. Historic Motel Units, originally built to house workers on the nearby Hungry Horse Dam project, laid out in fourplexes provide budget accommodation adjacent to the lodge whilst 26 contemporary cabins located throughout the six acre property offer the perfect opportunity for a group or couple friendly retreat in the forest. All guests are free to relax in our Lodge Great Room and enjoy the character of the lodge throughout their stay. Sip on a tasty beverage from our Saloon and coffee bar, or nibble from our selection of onsite dining options while you relax by the fire on a snowy winter day or unwind from a day exploring the great Montana outdoors. With Montana's Flathead National Forest in your backyard and Glacier National Park your next door neighbor, the Historic Tamarack Lodge & Cabins offers the perfect setting for your next family vacation, corporate retreat, special event, or weekend getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Historic Tamarack Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Tamarack Hotel Hungry Horse
Historic Tamarack Lodge Hungry Horse, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing