We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I hear a train a comming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hungry Horse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I hear a train a comming”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

THE GOOD...near Glacier National Park, friendly hosts, nice lodge for one or two nights.....
THE BAD....I regret staying as long as we did... OUR FAULT....housekeeping consisted of set of clean towels delivered everyday, no sweeping of floors, cleaning of bathroom ect. ....SAME breakfasts every single day, not at 7:30 or 8 but hurriedly put out as late as 8:15.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper...BRING EAR PLUGS
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank veber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarackLodge, Owner at Historic Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and do offer a daily housekeeping service that includes sweeping and clean towels. Your comments regarding to our housekeeping service were therefore very concerning to me. However, I have spoken to the head housekeeper who informs me that you repeatedly requested 'no service' during your stay and therefore honored your request. We offer a light continental breakfast free of charge to all our guests. This consists of a selection of bagels, muffins, toast and cereal. Hot drinks are also available and we also have an on-site Espresso Bar serving specialty coffee and a selection of pastries. We did alter the time of our breakfasts from beginning at 7:30 to beginning at 8:30. However, all our guests were fully informed of this change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    81
    26
    14
    7
See reviews for
79
132
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Although our room was clean and spacious and contained a nice size refrigerator (unlike the tiny shower stall), I would only cautiously recommend this lodge. We stayed for four nights, and every morning it was the same breakfast... White bread, white bagels, and four cold cereals. No yogurt, no granola, nothing worth waiting for...since breakfast and coffee were not put out until 8:30, it was not difficult to pass on this breakfast if you want to go hiking in the morning. This is a quaint, rustic lodge that has potential, so if you only need a place to stay that is relatively close (7 miles) to Glacier National Park west entrance, this might work for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwoTravelBugs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed in cabin 4 (end unit) on 8/24/13. We we happily surprised with the accommodations - plenty of room, very clean and a good breakfast. The large refrigerator in room was nice for our picnic lunch items. There is a nice dining area in the main lodge with a good selection of cereals, breads, yogurts, granola and very good coffee. It was very convenient to entering the West Glacier entrance of the park. Our only negative - there was alot of traffic - and being there was no air conditioner we needed to leave the window open.

Room Tip: I would stay again but pick a cabin that was further back on the property instead of facing the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Grizzly room at the lodge. FWI, this is more like a house than a lodge. I think there are only four rooms total. The place is beautiful and well kept. Our room was huge and appeared to be newly remodeled. We had a shared balcony which was nice but the only view you really have is the road and the trade store across the street.

Biggest negative.....the noise. The lodge is right on route 2 and since there is no A/C and the windows are open you can hear traffic rushing by all night.

Don't waste your time on breakfast, it's pretty much cereal and bagels.

We were only there for one night as it was the end of our trip to GNP and we were heading to the airport the next morning. It's a nice, clean, comfortable place to stay.....but it was probably a little bit more expensive than it should have been.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Phylo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed in the lodge. The room was a bit small but comfortable. There were games to play outside and a nice library & restaurant inside the lodge. It was a good experience - the rooms would just have needed to be larger for the money to get an excellent score.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed at The Historic Tamarak Lodge in early August 2013. "Cabin" 7 is where we stayed.

When we made our reservations online at the end of May (half your stay charged at booking) I noted that they closed their front desk at 7pm. If your are arriving by Amtrak's Empire Builder you will be late since it is not scheduled to arrive until after 9pm. I sent the hotel an email stating that we would be arriving later, but on the night of check in still received a voicemail inquiring where we were. They left the key and the contract taped to the front door for our use (and completed the other charge for the other half of the agreed rate).

We opened the door and to our surprise noted that the bed had obviously been slept in and had not been made up fresh afterwards. Yuck. There were bath linens present but they were all obviously used and in the used linen hamper. Gross. Since the front desk was not manned anymore we could not get the issues fixed. Went to check my email after being on the train for 2 days and found that the information listed in the room for the WiFi was incorrect and the stated network was not even available. There were paper water/coffee cups by the coffee pot but they were already used and there was no coffee available to make a pot for the next morning.

This was not really a cabin, but more of a row motel room done up in wood covered walls. Our "cabin" had two walls that each directly adjoined other "cabins". Our room was small and accommodating 2 people was quite tight, but doable. The "desk" was a board that lowered from a hinge on the wall. Half of the windows had no screens and since the rooms do not have air conditioning we were unable to properly ventilate. The television was small and was placed on top of a wardrobe. The bathroom fixtures were quite older and the shower basin more closely resembled an oversized mop closet sink, with a vinyl curtain, than a shower. Water pressure was inadequate and when one of our side by side neighbors would use their water we lost pressure down to a dribble at the showerhead.

At the front desk the next morning the staff expressed dismay over the room not having been made up after the previous tenants, said they would refund some of the room rate and told me "you should have gotten in earlier and we could have fixed this all then." They did have the service do an adequate job of cleaning the room while we were out that day and did give us the proper SSID for the wireless. Adequate means they changed the bed linens and placed new towels but apparently did not include emptying the old coffee from the pot or removing all of the trash.

4 days after our stay ended we called back since we had not seen any credit forthcoming as promised. There was some dissembling about not having heard word about any of this and then an excuse about the credit card service not working properly for the last couple of days for which ever staff was responsible. A few days after that we did see a credit for 1/5 of one night's rate post.

Really? Cleanliness and proper provisioning of the room are only worth 20% of the room value in their management's eye's? For that reason alone I would suggest staying elsewhere. Add to that the small room size, the poor maintenance, and the unavailability of assistance during evening hours and it's very clear that your money is better spent elsewhere for lodging in the Glacier Park area.

See the park, it's absolutely stunningly gorgeous, but stay elsewhere,

Room Tip: Maybe the family cabins are better in size but I would still worry about the cleanliness of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarackLodge, Owner at Historic Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
We are sorry that you weren't fully satisfied with your stay with us. We very much regret that on this occasion our housekeeping team had missed your unit cabin on their cleaning schedule. To compensate you we reimbursed you for the cost of one full night as this was proportional to the length of your stay affected by the housekeeping error (this amounted to 25% of your total stay with us which was four nights in total). We also apologise that the incorrect wifi info was displayed in your room. This was because we had recently update the password info and we have since made sure that all our rooms have the updated info.

To clarify, the lodge is open until 10pm during the Summer period as is clearly stated on our website policies page. Although check-in is 3-8pm, we do accommodate late check-ins if informed in advance of your arrival. Our Unit Cabins (in which you stayed) are clearly described on our website as motel style units, as opposed to our private cabins, and pictures display them accurately. We have many complimentary reviews below on all our accommodation and regret that in this one instance we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Close to Glacier and a Cabin in the woods. The staff were friendly and the cabins were very clean and cozy. We had a picnic outside on the grounds and smores at the campfire at night. The restaurant had great BBQ. They even had bikes to rent which was enjoyable for our usage in the park. Would recommend staying here while visiting the park.

Room Tip: Stay in the cabins above the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isherbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungry Horse
7.4 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
7.7 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.4 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
6.8 mi away
Smoky Bear Ranch
Smoky Bear Ranch
#2 of 8 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mini Golden Inns Motel
Mini Golden Inns Motel
#2 of 4 in Hungry Horse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Tamarack Lodge

Property: Historic Tamarack Lodge
Address: 9549 U.S. Highway 2 East, Hungry Horse, MT 59919
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Hungry Horse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hungry Horse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Tamarack Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a scenic mountain valley in the midst of the Montana Rockies, the Historic Tamarack Lodge & Cabins embodies a classic ambiance with modern amenities for a year-round getaway in the Crown of the Continent. Originally constructed in 1907, the lodge maintains its rustic charm with a log cabin design, placing its long history alongside modern updates that make for a stay in comfort and relaxation. Enjoy the history and ambience of the historic lodge when you stay upstairs in our classic lodge rooms. Historic Motel Units, originally built to house workers on the nearby Hungry Horse Dam project, laid out in fourplexes provide budget accommodation adjacent to the lodge whilst 26 contemporary cabins located throughout the six acre property offer the perfect opportunity for a group or couple friendly retreat in the forest. All guests are free to relax in our Lodge Great Room and enjoy the character of the lodge throughout their stay. Sip on a tasty beverage from our Saloon and coffee bar, or nibble from our selection of onsite dining options while you relax by the fire on a snowy winter day or unwind from a day exploring the great Montana outdoors. With Montana's Flathead National Forest in your backyard and Glacier National Park your next door neighbor, the Historic Tamarack Lodge & Cabins offers the perfect setting for your next family vacation, corporate retreat, special event, or weekend getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Tamarack Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Tamarack Hotel Hungry Horse
Historic Tamarack Lodge Hungry Horse, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing