We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience and Comfort Near West Glacier”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hungry Horse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at Historic Tamarack Lodge in July for a family reunion. We selected Tamarack due to its proximity to Glacier National Park, pricing and dining/cooking amenities. Historic Tamarack just ticked off all boxes for our families needs.

As for getting there, we all had different travel paths. You can definitely fly right in to Kalispel, but it can be pricey. My sister flew to Spokane then drove approximately 4 hours in a rental car. She said the drive as easy and gorgeous. My husband and I flew to Calgary, then drove across the border (make sure you have your passport.) I enjoyed this because we drove all the way through Glacier from the East by Lake McDonald. The drive from East to West entrance is about 2 hours minimum, without sight-seeing stops and depending on traffic. It was an amazing drive. The Calgary car rental company only charged $5.00 extra per day for taking the car from Canada to US.

The Tamarack cabins were a perfect fit for our clan. Collectively, we occupied two of the "Couple's Cabins," five of the "Family Cabins," as well as Antelope and Bison. This turned out to be the perfect combination. We selected Family Cabins all in a row, so we are all near each other, but with our separate spaces. The family cabins are arranged in a way that you have privacy while on your back porch. Ages in our family ranged from 1 yr old up to 70 - great fit for all of us.

The cabins truly had everything we needed as far as linens, kitchen utensils (even BBQ utensils) and basics such as salt, pepper, coffee filters and paper towels. They have full sets of dishes, cutlery, glasses, wine glasses and bowls so you can help cut down on buying disposables and use the dishes, etc provided.

One comment I must echo from other reviews is, yes, you will hear a lot of road noise. The views are great, but you are really close to the main highway so you should expect to hear traffic and motorcycles. We slept with the windows open for a cool breeze. I'm a heavy sleeper, so it really didn't bother me. Take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper, and/or a portable sound machine. The windows were well insulated, so if the windows are closed, the sound is greatly diminished. Keep in mind, however, all of the motels and lodges in this area ARE right along the highway - every place we drove past was within the same, if not closer, proximity to the highway, so do not discount Historic Tamarack just because of this. You will likely have the same experience anywhere along this stretch.

The cabins were clean and in good shape - not run down at all. The family and couples cabins all have individual charcoal grills on the back decks, as well as a full kitchen (full size oven, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and microwave.) You do need to supply your own charcoal. There are also communal BBQ areas with outdoor lounge chairs and picnic tables - we definitely took advantage of those areas. The freezers do not have ice makers or ice trays (at least, ours "Summit" did not,) so be sure to pick some up in Hungry Horse, or you can by some at the main Lodge.

As for food, Canyon Foods grocery in Hungry Horse is literally no more than 5 minutes away and they have everything you would need for preparing meals, cooking out and hiking in Glacier, as well as ice. Very convenient and not overly pricey as you would expect in an "in demand" tourist area for goods. There is also a great liquor store in Hungry Horse, so you are covered on that front as well.

The main lodge also has a fully stocked coffee/espresso bar with pastries and muffins in the morning. We did not take advantage of this so I cannot comment, but it is there for your convenience. The Lodge also has their liquor license and great happy hour prices, so that is a great way to meet other travelers. The Lodge also offers dinners. Again, we did not take advantage of this as we enjoyed grilling outdoors on our own, but the dining and gathering area looked great and welcoming, along with having a large fireplace in the back room.

There is a path to the "beaver pond" just behind the property line. It is an easy 5-10 minute walk for small kids and older adults through the woods to a sweet little beaver pond - gorgeous and quiet. We all explored back there several times - great excursion for little ones to burn off energy. Wild strawberries and huckleberries were also in season, so we had fun searching and devouring those beauties as we found them.

We also enjoyed the fire pit and had s'mores and campfire songs one night. While the lodge may not provide charcoal, they definitely provide well-cured and chopped firewood, so you can have (controlled) fires as much as you like.

The drive to the west Glacier Entrance is within a few minutes - very convenient for visiting the park. Definitely explore Trail of the Cedars in the park - absolutely gorgeous, suitable for children, strollers and wheelchairs, and they have washroom facilities within this area.

All in all, this was a terrific vacation and reunion for us. We were happy with the price we paid for the cabins and the amenities provided. We created some great memories while at Historic Tamarack Lodges and we are glad we chose to stay there.

Room Tip: Family cabins such as Summit, Avalanche, Glacier, Grinnell are all in a row and a bit further back f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Leggo_Mego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

It was bearable, but disappointing in several ways.
Talked to the owner to make the reservation and although I thought I asked all the right questions (having been iin the hospitality industry), I obviously forgot a few things that I thought were givens.
There was no A/C and there were noisy fans "Everywhere" - In the halls, on the stairs, in the rooms. The windows had to be left open and the highway noise was very loud making it hard to sleep as tired as we were.
We arrived at 12:30 and although we knew that check in was 3:00, we had a 3:30 helicopter ride and the owner had said, we "might" be able to check in and freshen up a little before 3:00. When we arrived, she said the room was being cleaned and would be ready by the time we got back from lunch. She suggested the Belton Chalet (which it turned out wasn't open for lunch) and when we got back, we discovered it hadn't been cleaned yet (with various excuses) and it still wasn't quite ready when we returned after the helicopter ride about 2 hours later.
There were a couple of other minor things, but overall, I didn't think it lived up to a $225 room and they certainly didn't cater to the "Under promise over deliver" theory.

Room Tip: Certainly not the front rooms. There are some cabins in the back which we did not see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamarackLodge, Owner at Historic Tamarack Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Whilst we do aim to exceed our guests'expectations in all areas, it is unfortunate that we were not fully able to satisfy this guest on this occasion. In order to address the points raised in her review I am happy to clarify this situation for future guests who may have concerns over the comments made. Firstly, our lodge is over 100 yrs old. It is warmed in Winter and cooled in the Summer months by a geothermal system that is both eco-friendly and does not impact on the historical structure of the lodge. Installing a modern air conditioning system would not only increase our impact on the environment but, we feel, it would also greatly impact on the lodgepole pine structure of the lodge and detract from the reason our guests choose to stay here. We find our current system very effective for the vast majority of our guest. During the time this guest stayed with us our area was experiencing a heatwave with temperatures in excess of 95 degrees. This is very unusual for our area and in order to ensure the comfort of our guests we did place electric fans in strategic areas of the lodge to supplement our usual system. We will continue to take extra steps such as this to make our guests feel comfortable even in extreme and isolated incidences. We had eight other guests staying in the lodge the same night as this guest who were more than happy with their stays.

Our goal is to have our accommodations available as early as possible for our guests to check-in. Our recommended check-in time is 3pm. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our facility and pay close attention to detail when attending to housekeeping. On this occasion we were not able to meet our 3pm goal due to a temporary staff shortage (and because of the extreme weather conditions) and it was not acceptable to us to let our cleaning standards slip in order to accommodate this.

We did apologize to this guest and her party regarding the delay and did everything we could to ensure they were comfortable whilst they waited for their room and during the rest of their stay.

We are sorry that their stay was less than satisfactory to them but feel that our staff did everything they could to react to the situation with the resources at their disposal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the Historic Tamarack Lodge for one night during our trip through Montana. Despite being located on the highway, this is an incredibly welcoming and well-run place. The front row of cabins face the road and can be noisy, but the cabins further in the woods are definitely more private and quieter. The Beaver Pond walk was lovely with some unexpected llama sightings on the way :) We strongly recommend staying in for dinner and trying the lodge's amazing BBQ by OSO Catering - delicious, generous and great value, not to mention the very amicable service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DuoCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

It is a wonderful place to stay if you are planning to visit Glacier National Park.
Our cabin was comfortable and great value for money and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The Lodge has a cafe, bar and restaurant and their new chef made the most amazing smoked ribs!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieGirl555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It is an easy drive to the west side of a Glacier National Park. The couple's cabin has everything needed for a comfortable stay. It has a well stocked kitchen, and it even has a dishwasher! We also enjoyed using the BBQ. The heater and shower are top notch. All in all, a great place to stay when visiting the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sundancer93003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Historic Tamarac Lodge is an excellent place to stay when visiting Glacier National Park. It's location is perfectly situated between the park's west entrance (8 miles away) and the all the stores, shops and restaurants in Columbia Falls. The friendly staff has loads of information, recommendations and suggestions. They offer a wide variety of accommodations from motel rooms to large cabins. I booked a hotel room directly through Tamarac Lodge and two or three days before arriving I got a call upgrading me to a cabin with a full kitchen, kitchen appliances (but no ice maker), coffee maker (they supply the filters) a loft bedroom, a Weber charcoal grill, two patios in the back of the property, a covered front porch with chair and tables and two flat screen TV's (reception was not good). The queen bed was very comfortable but the futon would have been less so. The Lodge has a coffee bar, snacks, and beer and wine. The motel/hotel rooms are very close to the highway and may be noisy. The cabins are set back away from the road and noise was not an issue. Highly recommend The Historic Tamarck Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greg052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Historic Tamarack Lodge is an excellent place to stay for these reasons. First, it approximately a 10 minute drive to the Apgar Visitor Center just inside Glacier NP. Second, the rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Third, the lodging is a great value for the accommodations.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bob_mu_grad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungry Horse
7.4 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
7.8 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 5 in Columbia Falls
361 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mini Golden Inns Motel
Mini Golden Inns Motel
#2 of 4 in Hungry Horse
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#10 of 13 in West Glacier
192 reviews
5.4 mi away
Glacier Travel Inn
Glacier Travel Inn
#4 of 5 in Columbia Falls
203 reviews
6.8 mi away
Smoky Bear Ranch
Smoky Bear Ranch
#1 of 8 in Columbia Falls
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Tamarack Lodge

Address: 9549 U.S. Highway 2 East, Hungry Horse, MT 59919
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Hungry Horse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hungry Horse
Price Range: £46 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Tamarack Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a scenic mountain valley in the midst of the Montana Rockies, the Historic Tamarack Lodge & Cabins embodies a classic ambiance with modern amenities for a year-round getaway in the Crown of the Continent. Originally constructed in 1907, the lodge maintains its rustic charm alongside modern updates that make for a stay in comfort and relaxation. Enjoy the history and ambience of the historic lodge when you stay upstairs in our classic lodge rooms. Historic Motel Units, originally built to house workers on the nearby Hungry Horse Dam project, provide budget accommodation adjacent to the lodge whilst 26 contemporary cabins located throughout the six acre property offer the perfect opportunity for a group or couple friendly retreat in the forest. Sip on a tasty beverage from our Saloon and coffee bar, or nibble from our selection of onsite dining options while you relax by the fire on a snowy winter day or unwind from a day exploring the great Montana outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Historic Tamarack Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Tamarack Hotel Hungry Horse
Historic Tamarack Lodge Hungry Horse, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing