We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and tight”
Review of Timber Wolf Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hungry Horse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Timber Wolf Resort
Reviewed 11 August 2013

It's a pretty spot for sure but the hillside location along a highway makes it too noisy for my liking. This is NOT a place for a big rig, either! I barely got my 40ft 5w turned around at the top and then tip-toed back down into a very tight parking space.

This was one of the most expensive places we camped during 2+ wks in Oregon, WA and MT. $48/day for power only! This looked like it might be the last RV campground heading east from Kalispell and that's why we pulled in. Wrong. Turns out there were a few more just a short ways down the road. I agree that the owners were very nice but I would not stay here again.

ps: Watch out for a misleading sign indicating you should take the next right. The next right leads to Hungry Horse Dam. Thankfully, there's lots of room to turn around just across the dam. Yes, I saw the small letters saying "1/4 mi." under the arrow and beside someone else's name. I didn't think it belonged with the arrow indicating a right hand turn when I first saw it and I didn't think so when I went back to look at it. It's just one of those random highway signs that are written and placed by an idiot but keep an eye out for it if you're travelling east.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocky7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Hello Rocky, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of our park. We pride ourselves on being a natural and wooded setting. But with shade comes trees that need to be taken into consideration when maneuvering RVs through our park. We have dozens of units every session, much larger than yours, that are able to manage the turns in our RV park without issue. As for the cost of the space, you had extra guests which increased your price from the 2013 base price of $35 for double occupancy. We do value your feedback and try to make improvements whenever possible for our guests. Every fall and spring we cut back trees and overgrowth and we will remove any trees that are becoming an obstacle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were fortunate enough to have found an eleventh hour spot here, after our reservations within Glacier National Park didn't work out. Thanks for finding a way to accommodate us! The RV sites are very neat and clean, with abundant shade. There is highway noise that can be heard, but there isn't another campground near Glacier that doesn't have this same issue due to the way roads are laid out in the area. The facilities are well maintained, bathrooms/showers clean and tidy, and the owners and staff are helpful. I'd give it 5 stars if they had laundry available! And regarding the camper who mentioned paying for showers - they are 50 cents for 10 minutes of hot water, and pay showers aren't uncommon in campgrounds. You can pay 4x more for cold showers in other locations!

Room Tip: Run your a/c or fans to provide white noise while you sleep if you are sensitive to road traffic. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddiemae81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Hi Maddie, Thank you for the review. We are happy we could provide lodging for you on short notice. I’m happy you found our RV sites well shaded and accommodating. We have kicked around adding a laundry facility but with facility just 1 mile down the road in Hungry Horse it is hard to justify.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We recently came across this property while riding our motorbikes headed to Yellowstone Park. It was late and we rode in hoping that there was a chance for a vacancy. We lucked out that another guest had just cancelled, their loss our gain. We literally got the last bed in the B&B house. The rooms were super clean and laid out in a very cozy way. The hosts were very accommodating and friendly. The showers you had to pay for at a rate of .50 cents and we could not believe how long of a hot, great pressure, super clean, shower you got for that .50 cents. Awesome!! I cannot believe people complain about having to pay for a shower? Are you kidding me - seriously?? The host brought hot coffee, juice, warm muffins and fruit right to your door in the morning. Perfect!. The only complaint we had was the mattress covers they have on the bed are the cheaper ones that make MAJOR plastic noises every time we tried to turn or move in the bed. Which made for a restless sleep. My husband and I kept waking each other up in the night. The bed was comfortable despite the plastic crunching noise. It was a great experience and would most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Hi Diane, Thank you for the review of your stay at TWR. We appreciate the feedback and I’m happy we were able to get you off the road that night. Based on your comments, we have upgraded the mattress covers in the lodge rooms. A quality night’s sleep for your guests is a very high priority and we want to do everything in our ability to make that possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our family of 4 adults pitched our tent here for 2 days. Due to some mobility issues I had asked to be close to the restrooms and they were just a short walk away. The tent sites are shady and although we met our neighbors at the restrooms we never felt too crowded. The ladies in the office were very friendly. Glacier National Park is only about 10 minutes away. We would like to come back and try one of the cabins.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShelleyG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Hello Shelley, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at TWR. We are so pleased that you had a good stay and that you found the tent camping shady and close to the restrooms. We hope we added to your great Glacier vacation experience and memories of beautiful Montana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We seemed like we were on top of our neighbors, the cabins could have used a little more space, but all in all we had a good experience. If you're permitted to use the B&B bathrooms, they're vastly superior to the more typical campground shelter. This is the only time I've seen pay showers at a campground, although my experience isn't overwhelmingly vast. Our cabin felt new and clean and was pretty comfortable. Didn't have a parking space, though, our neighbors must have had too many cars. Convenient to the park and reasonably priced, just prefer a little more nature if we're in a rustic cabin. I'd give it a 3.5 if it were an option.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bcohen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Hello Traveler, thank you for the feedback. We are happy to hear your overall experience was good. We understand that closing one of our restrooms from 10 pm to 8 am might be an inconvenience for some and we apologize. We are trying to be courteous to our B&B guests by keeping the noise level down. We offer a second restroom that remains open 24 hours and a porta-potty in hopes of making all guests happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

After touring Montana and staying in hotels, my daughter and I booked two nights in a cabin here. The place is clean and the cabins very basic. Mainly just a bunk bed and several chairs. We were content and the owners were very accommodating. Glacier park is maybe 10 minutes up the road and Hungry Horse is a friendly town. The owners even arranged a 10% discount on Great Northern rafting which was a savings for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galaxy_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for giving us a review! We are happy to hear you and your daughter had a nice stay with us and that you got some whitewater rafting in while you were here. We hope you get a chance to return sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Rustic, plenty of shade, no bugs, great coffee, campfires, and very clean bathrooms and showers. Pet friendly, inquire about opportunities for dog sitting. Friendly service and affordable!

Phil, the owner, willing to sit and visit about his master planning assures his passion for business. Look forward to opportunity to have WiFi opportunities at all cabins other than near the gazebo and office.

Don't worry about no electricity in cabins, you can charge computers, phones, and other devices at the office. If you are lucky, while you wait, you might get to snag one of the free chocolate chip muffins.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Owner at Timber Wolf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Hi Ben, it was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We hope you will be back again soon - we will have those fresh muffins waiting for you at the Wolf Den Mercantile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungry Horse
8.2 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
371 reviews
8.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
21.4 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hungry Horse
301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mini Golden Inns Motel
Mini Golden Inns Motel
#1 of 4 in Hungry Horse
126 reviews
4.0 mi away
Under Canvas Glacier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Wolf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Wolf Resort

Address: 9105 Highway 2 East, P.O. Box 190250, Hungry Horse, MT 59919
Region: United States > Montana > Hungry Horse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hungry Horse
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timber Wolf Resort is a family owned and operated authentic facility on 17.6 wooded acres just nine miles from the West entrance of North America’s crown jewel, Glacier National Park. Timber Wolf Resort proudly presents several year-round lodging and recreational options for visitors to the Flathead Valley and Glacier National Park. We have lodging for most every taste from Bed & Breakfast rooms with breakfast delivered to your room each morning to cabins and tent camping. We also have RV spaces with either full hookups or electric only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Timber Wolf Hotel Hungry Horse
Timber Wolf Resort Hungry Horse, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing