We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The USA Pride”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kalispell Hilltop Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Kalispell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The USA Pride”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Kalispell Hilltop Inn
Touch our heart within
The room is so clean
Better than other places I’ve been
Customers though the owner has never seen
Treated as if they were Queen
Making them feel homecoming esteem
Arousing gentle breeze sliding by the chin

Even when we miss the flight
They comfort to rid our fright
Giving hospitality one more night
Our stranded sentiments thus untie
If traveling Going-to-the-Sun Ride
Ignoring Hilltop Inn you will cry
Spreading American concern worldwide
Kalispel Hilltop Inn is the USA pride

A visitor Darmor (Aug 15, 2013)
(darmor53@yahoo.com.tw)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darmor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doorstepparking, Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thanks for such a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    31
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
85
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I don't leave many reviews on TripAdvisor but this place impressed me enough to do so. Excellent service, clean rooms and super friendly staff. Rates were also very reasonable for the area. It has onsite Landry facilities which is excellent for those extended travels. Located right in Kalispell, so it's close enough to all the restaurants but not too busy either. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doorstepparking, General Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
A rare occasion indeed, thanks for taking time to post a review.

Safe Travels,

Tom Lewis
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I'm a little puzzled by the glowing reviews of this place. While the extremely reasonable price is a huge plus, it's an outdated motel, period. It's obvious the owners are trying to make the most of it, with mixed success. The room was clean and well maintained, but there were some glaring deficiencies. The air conditioner failed to keep the room cool. It could be that temps in the 90's are rare for the area, but that's exactly when you need an air conditioner that works. What made the situation worse is that the mattresses have a waterproof cover on them that made me feel like I was sleeping in a puddle of sweat. The mattress wasn't really worth protecting that much, it was adequate, but could have benefited from a nice cushy topper. That was the biggest detriment to the room.

Other odd choices--a dark shower curtain and an unlit shower stall meant showering in the dark, zero hooks or shelves in the bathroom, a huge vase of dried flowers on the teeny tiny kitchen table, and lack of a reading lamp by the only comfortable chair in the room, made me scratch my head. I could tell the owners were trying, but maybe they need to round up two friends, pack four suitcases and all sleep in the room for four some night and see how just a few changes could really improve the comfort of the room. We got four bath towels, two hand towels and two washcloths for a room that was designed for four, all crammed on one towel bar; there were only three chairs in the kitchen which meant not everyone could eat at the tiny table, and odd choices of kitchen equipment that just took up needed counter space (an empty coffee canister? a pizza cutter in a room with no stove?) just made me wonder why they didn't skip that and instead put a hair dryer in the bathroom. TV and wi-fi were good.

I neither made the reservation nor met the owners during the stay. My traveling companion made the reservation and checked us in, and reports that his interactions were pleasant, but we had trouble getting anyone to answer the phone to make the reservation. On the day of our arrival, we were ahead of schedule and I tried calling at about 1 pm to see if an early check-in was possible. No answer. We arrived about 2 pm and tried to find someone; no one in the office, no one visible around the property. We went into town for a bit and came back promptly at 3 pm, check in time. Still no one in the office, so we waited in the car until finally a housekeeper tracked down the innkeeper to check us in. While this wasn't terribly troublesome in itself, compared to all the glowing reviews about the service I read on here, I thought it deserved a mention. A final note; this property is listed as a bed and breakfast/inn on here, but you should in no way expect any breakfast or other food. It is strictly a motel. I normally wouldn't go into so much detail except it seemed like the owners were trying, but falling just short of the mark, and thought these points would help improve future guests' stays.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "pet friendly" two-room kitchenette; there was no evidence of any pets, nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doorstepparking, General Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
The policy of our budget motor inn is to preview the room before you purchase. If a potential guest is not satisfied after preview they don’t stay at our facility. After purchase if a guest is not satisfied we have no problem refunding the amount. Since this did not take place we can only surmise you are happy with the budget inn accommodations. We fully understand that as a retro budget motor inn with that Route 66 feel we will not be able to accommodate everyone’s taste and that’s okay. Based on my experience when a person is not happy with a purchase they usually ask for a return of their money which is not the case here.

We also don’t decide how TripAdvisor places us on their site, which is under B&B/Inns, but can share that they do have criteria to qualify under their hotel heading. Based upon my experience and interaction with travelers this has not been an issue and they understand the heading. If the air conditioner was not working properly why was this not communicated? Since we use window units they are easy to replace, a quick trip to the local hardware store - pull non-working unit out of the window - put the new in - then presto cold air. We checked the air conditioner in the room you mention and it’s working just fine and have had very satisfied guests in the room you mention.

We choose check-inn at 3:00 pm because management works with employees in housekeeping, laundry, and even takes care of the yard in order to keep prices down. It’s referred to as hands-on management and we communicate via email, phone and in person this check-in time. If you are early we don’t stop our floor-plan of having the facility prepared for the new days arriving guests. You stayed with us and your review presents a suspiciously detailed account of our operations; that combined with our preview before you purchase policy and no communication from you of not being satisfied - I have doubts whether this is a qualified review. Could this be something else?

Best Regards,
Tom Lewis
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowsnest Pass, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

You can't beat the cleanliness or the customer service at this place. Denise was absolutely amazing and went out of her way to accommodate us and our son who has allergies. I definitely recommend the hilltop inn and without a doubt will stay here again. Thank u Denise for making us feel so welcomed and for being so helpful and informative - u rock girl!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniandDave4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doorstepparking, General Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Your quite welcome and thanks so much for your review. - Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary Alberta Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the hilltop inn the first week of july 2013. It's an older Motel, but our room was very clean. There's a couple places to eat within walking distance. (nice after a long day on the motorcycle). We stayed at the hilltop last year on our way thru Kalispell, and saw no reason to stay anywhere else. Overall a nice clean place to stay, with friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jw900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doorstepparking, Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thanks for taking time to post a second review. Always enjoy seeing the clean reference from our guests and appreciate you recognizing our friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, CA
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Need a cheap, clean, friendly place to drop for the night? Honestly, the sign is the only thing ragged about this motel (and my guess is that's on their "to-do" list). This is everything a motel should be: affordable, clean, safe, friendly, comfortable. These guys should teach those cheaped-out motels a thing or two. The reviews are right.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christojb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doorstepparking, Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thanks for staying with us and writing a review. We just finished with a new roof project on two buildings and you are correct the highway frontage sign is in the process of upgrading as we write. The weather has been the delaying factor but has cleared-up so that the sign company can do the upgrade. - Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We came into Kalispell on short notice, due to the flooding in BC. We found the rooms up-to-date, very clean and neat; Denise was friendly and helpful. We'd definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone else planning a stay in the Kalispell/Glacier Park area!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doorstepparking, Manager at Kalispell Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thanks for your review and recognizing the detailed effort of keeping the facility clean and neat. Hope the clean-up from the flooding in BC is quick for your community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalispell hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#3 of 20 in Kalispell
962 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
#8 of 20 in Kalispell
597 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
0.7 mi away
The Kalispell Grand Hotel
The Kalispell Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kalispell
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalispell Hilltop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalispell Hilltop Inn

Property: Kalispell Hilltop Inn
Address: 801 E Idaho St, Kalispell, MT 59901-3204
Region: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kalispell Hilltop Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Northwest Montana, close to beautiful Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake, and National Forests. Our facility is ground floor with door-step parking and non-smoking rooms. Free wireless internet, guest laundry room, ice machine with both non-pet and pet friendly rooms available. Known as Flathead Valley's choice Budget Inn the KHI is conveniently close to area shopping and dining from our geographic location in Kalispell, Montana. Picnic tables and a gas BBQ are available for your enjoyment. Our policy is to let you see and inspect our rooms first so that your individual quality standards are satisfied and to preview our shabby/chic interior design. Welcome! to the Kalispell Hilltop Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kalispell Hilltop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalispell Hilltop Inn Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing