We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Stay and we'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kalispell Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kalispell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here last year in September and again this year in May. The room was smaller than what we remembered from last time, but overall it functioned ok. The staff was very nice and the room and bath clean and nicely prepared. The breakfast is suitable to give you a good base for a morning start, although if you stay longer than a couple days you might tire of it - since the options do not change. The cookies and popcorn in the evening are just awesome.

Our only down-grade is really the traffic noise. It is very substantial and if you are not used to sleeping with noise - this will keep you up and wake you up early. It's a bit of a shame, because better noise insulation windows should be used. We would love to come back overall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayisgerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We spent just 1 night at Kalispell Grand Hotel and we could not have been more pleased with our hotel choice, given all the options in the area!

From the moment you walk in, you get a sense of the history of the building from the entry, the lobby, the grand staircase and the front desk sitting just off to the side which looks like an old bank counter enclosure. We loved the casual, yet elegant vibe!

For an afternoon snack, they laid out popcorn and cookies! Wish more hotels did this!

Breakfast was continental but the most unique continental menu we've ever encountered! It was totally satisfying and we were treated to such breakfast fare as Crispy Potato quiche, Apricot Chocolate bread, Lemon Raspberry pound cake and Sour Cream Coffee cake! There was nut-butter spread and jams, fruits, yoghurts, coffee, juices and an endless variety of teas! You serve yourself and can take it to your room or sit around the lobby – which is so unique!

Love that they still use traditional door locks with the old brass keys. Nice amenities and soft plush bath towels! We had an excellent night sleep here!

The staff were really lovely and willing to help. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them!

There were two computers next to the front desk for checking emails and we were able to print our boarding passes and other travel docs without charge (unlike so many hotels these days who charge you for everything!).

There's an art gallery just off the lobby and beautiful local artwork is displayed all over the lobby and elevator foyer. A nice touch to the hotel's decor! We loved the old Piano in the lobby too!

The artwork on the guest floor corridors was also different and accompanied by little sayings like 'the best things in life aren't things'. Inspiration is everywhere in this charming hotel!

They’re doing something quite different and meaningful in the lobby too. Instead of a standard gift shop, they’ve got glass cabinets along the length of the lobby wall, with locally-made items on display like crocheted vintage hats, handmade soaps and locally made greeting cards. It’s a lovely way to promote local artisans while giving guests the ability to purchase souvenirs actually made in the Kalispell area.

The location is perfect! You’re right on Main street and close to all the sights! There are shops and eateries all around in both directions. Both Conrad Mansion and The Museum at Central School are a few easy blocks walk.

We loved this little hotel! They're doing a marvelous job keeping Glacier visitors happy and enhancing the legacy of the building too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCSchadewitz, General Manager at The Kalispell Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you - you have put into words exactly what we strive to accomplish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stay at the Kalispell Grand Hotel every time I visit family in the area. I am never disappointed. The beds are super comfortable, the rooms clean and cozy. The staff is friendly and very helpful if you need recommendations for local services, restaurants, etc.

On my last stay, I had a customer service issue that was resolved swiftly, courteously and personally by the hotel management. I'm happy to support a small local business that still appreciates and values their customers.

I'll always stay at the Grand!

Room Tip: Try the spa room...HUGE jetted tub that is very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I found this hotel because it is an animal friendly hotel and those are not easy to find when you have an 85lb dog. So, we booked our rooms so we could hike during the day and explore the outlying areas and have a nice hot shower and comfortable bed to come home to at night, pups included.

This hotel is right in the heart of downtown and is quite beautiful with a lovely and accommodating staff. During our entire stay everyone was incredibly nice and helpful, not to mention doting on our furry kids, and we love that!

The homemade breakfast dishes were delicious and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay so much we've decided to make it an annual trip to stay with our dogs and explore beautiful Montana.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

It started by being greeted by Allisha, who treated us like her long-time friends. Our room was quaint, comfortable, and clean. If Allisha could have eliminated the all-hours motorcycle racing up and down Main Street, it would have been a perfect stay. We spent two-nights, one just enjoying the downtown area and the other enjoying nearby Glacier National and cruising through some of the other cool towns. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdMackoske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I arrived at 1 a.m. after 10 hours of planes and buses to find friendly, courteous service, a spotless room with old-time charm, a beautifully-prepared and comfortable bed, and a quiet night's sleep. Breakfast included excellent coffee and a wide range of food choices, including the whole-grain cereals and breads that I miss when traveling. Everything I tried was good. There was classical music unobtrusively playing somewhere, and someone to answer all my questions. The historical aspect of the building was interesting and appealing but not over-done, and the excellence in hospitality, central but quiet location, and very moderate price would make the hotel a good choice whether or not one has any interest in the historic West.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ennyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The first thing that attracted me to this hotel was that it was an historic hotel and I get to spend too much time at chain hotels on business. So this was refreshing. The amenities were good, the breakfast was different than the usual hotel breakfast fare, delicious and filling. It is also nice to get a real hotel room key instead of a plastic swipe card.

The service was especially good. One of the biggest pluses for me was that since I was coming in late (11:30 PM) on a Saturday night, the hotel arranged the taxi from the airport for me. In the morning, I was able to walk to church (there are several in the area), plus several stores that actually opened late on a Sunday morning.

I plan on being back in Kalispell next year and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEHiker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalispell
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#3 of 20 in Kalispell
1,016 reviews
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
#8 of 20 in Kalispell
644 reviews
13.8 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kalispell Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kalispell Grand Hotel

Address: 100 Main St, Kalispell, MT 59901-4452
Region: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kalispell
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kalispell
#6 Business Hotel in Kalispell
Price Range: £62 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kalispell Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalispell's historic downtown hotel with bed and breakfast hospitality, close to Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake, Whitefish Mountain Ski Resort. Home baked continental breakfast, fresh baked afternoon cookies, and 24-hour coffee served in our Grand lobby. We are walking distance to great restaurants, museums, unique shops, art galleries, downtown offices, and an outstanding city park. We invite you to stay with us, it's a special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Kalispell Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kalispell Grand Hotel Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing