We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overpriced, staff indifferent”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Kalispell
Ann Arbor
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Way overpriced, staff indifferent”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We knew going in that hotels in Kalispell are very high priced, but hoped for more of our money's worth than we got. I had reserved a room with a patio, knowing the hotel had no elevator, but when we arrived around 3:00 pm we were told no first floor rooms were left,and we were given a room with a balcony instead. The room had not yet been cleaned, though the cleaning staff were in the hallway and said they could start on it next. Also, it smelled heavily of smoke, and there was an ashtray on the balcony. Went back to the desk and waited in line (there was only one person on duty there) to be again told there were no first floor rooms and the hotel was totally booked up. She also said that smoking is allowed on the balconies and sometimes the smell gets into the room. She switched us to a balcony room two doors down, which had already been cleaned and did not smell like smoke. We hauled our luggage upstairs for our 2-night stay.

Other issues: The fan in the bathroom was extremely loud, and the AC went into periodic spurts of sudden loud noise. ( I reported these on checkout and the staff member noted them down.) Also, when I returned to my room at about 10:30 am on the day we were leaving, my key card did not work. At the desk I was told that they had already cancelled the previous day's cards (though checkout was not until noon). The staff member actually seemed annoyed that she had to redo my card.

This was the most expensive hotel of our 3-week trip, and definitely the worst one.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms with balconies and patios, since smokers are allowed to stand outside with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
999DianeA, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
We took your comments and made some changes. Although it's difficult to stop someone from stepping out on the balcony to smoke, we've have implemented a no smoking policy on balconies. I'm sorry you had to wait for a clean room. We try our best to accommodate guests with the location of room requested; however, first floor rooms are a standard request especially because there is no elevator. Housekeeping has been addressed and we've installed new bedding and replaced hallway carpets. I do hope you will consider giving us another chance upon your next visit to the area. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    34
    32
    16
    10
See reviews for
33
51
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Wow. I have never stayed at a Comfort Inn that looked like this one. At least not in the last 25 years.
For $170/night (and that was the discounted military rate), I expected A LOT better. It is severely outdated and doesn't hold a candle to a Motel 6. It's attached to a casino and attracts an interesting crowd, to say the least. Parking lot was not well-lit and did not feel safe.

The common spaces: Outdated overall, dirty carpet and stairs (lots of stains, needed vacuuming).

The room: Still using the old style comforters (gross!) instead of fresh duvets. Wallpaper was bubbled & peeling around AC unit (can only imagine the mold/mildew that must be back there). Bathroom was clean and actually looks like it's been re-done this century (only part of the hotel not straight out of the 70s). But...shower/faucet mechanism didn't work well and the water would not get very hot.

The staff: night desk clerk was not very pleasant, but the woman there in the morning and the breakfast attendant were both sweet.

Overall very disappointed in this hotel. We had to get a room last minute and this was the only hotel in town (in what we thought was a mid-range hotel) in Kalispell that wasn't full. Now I know why.
Look elsewhere unless you ABSOLUTELY have NO other options. This room should have cost no more than $55 for what it offered.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
999DianeA, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
I appreciate your comments and have taken each issue you pointed out and addressed the appropriate departments. Our building is dated; however, the interior has been remodeled to Choice standards including the lobby and rooms. Our latest upgrade includes implementing the new bedding package as of January 1, 2014. I'm sorry you feel that our hotel is less value than a Motel 6 which offers no amenities including in-room kleenex or a breakfast. Our breakfast buffet offers 2 types of waffles, eggs, sausage/gravy/biscuitts, cereal, bagels, muffins, fruit, juice/coffee and more. It's unfortunate you traveled during a peak rate season and even then you can expect our rates to be below those of most mid-scale properties in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brentwood
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had reservations and it was late or we wouldn't have stayed. We couldn't tell where the entrance to the hotel was. It was attached to a casino that didn't look like it was family friendly.
The parking lot was filled with big pick up trucks that I assume were at the casino. The parking lot was dark, lots of unkept landscaping, and did not seem safe. Our reservation was not correct and the room they had us booked in was not available but the desk clerk was quick to find us another room. There is no elevator in the hotel. We had to drag suitcases upstairs in the middle of the night. Saturday morning the breakfast bar closed at 9:00 a.m. and we didn't get any food. Staff person commented that she was tired of cooking. I think she was trying to be funny but we still got no food. I noticed that there was a sign that said the pool was closed for repairs. We were supposed to pay for the room with rewards points but that was messed up to and we were charged $236.33 for the room. The room was clean but all in all the hotel is very dated and the parking lot is scarey after dark. It is not a value. There is a Hampton Inn nearby that looked so much better, cleaner and safer. We also stayed at the LaQuinta in Kalispel. It was in kind of a strange location but it was a much nicer hotel and cost only $160.00.

Room Tip: Get up super early for breakfast. Stay of first floor because no elevator. Arrive before dark, ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tennesseetraveler573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
999DianeA, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for your comments and I'm very sorry that stay was disappointing. It is unfortunate that the pool was down and that you were not notified of the breakfast hours. I'll make sure that staff is more accommodating and flexible when it comes to breakfast break down. We've added outdoor lights on the backside of the building and will make sure maintenance replaces bulbs in a timely manner throughout the parking area. Thank you again or your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Although the rooms are clean and marked as no smoking the halls and the room we had was smelled strongly of smoke. It was a cool evening so we were able to keep the window open for fresh air. We thought the price was very high for the quality of the inn.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nsquared321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
999DianeA, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for your comments. Yes, we are 100% smoke free and we do our best at monitoring our guests to see that they abide by the rules. Sounds like we may have had a rule breaker during your stay and I do apologize. Unfortunately rates are high during our peak summer season; however, we boast rates under at least 3 of our closest competitors. I'm glad your rooms was clean and comfortable and I sincerely hope you stay with us during your next visit to our area. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bemidji
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We spent one night here. The breakfast was a bit bland and the selections were less than great. The bathroom had a red pill sitting in a small pile of dust the corner. Obviously it had been there for sometime until I mentioned it to the check-out person. I would stay there again if every place else was full.

Room Tip: I have no tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
999DianeA, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for your comments. We continue to upgrade and change our breakfast according to the feedback we receive from our guests. We've taken your comments to heart and have made changes and improvements accordingly. I hope you give us another chance of providing a relaxing, comfortable and clean stay that the whole family can enjoy. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Being a Choice Privileges member for 8 years, I've stayed in a lot of Choice properties. This one is overdue for an update inside and out. We happened to be there during a terrible hot spell, and the lobby, reception, and lounge area were so hot you couldn't enjoy them! Luckily the rooms had AC, so we slept comfortably. Office staff was friendly and knowledgable of the area, except the restaurant they suggested was closed for the evening! Oh well. The next morning we found the breakfast area too hot to eat in, so we took food back to our room. If they decide not to update this property, it will probably be downgraded to a Quality Inn, which is what it already looks like.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasLibraryLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
999DianeA, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
We appreciate your comments and have taken necessary measures to ensure your next visit is up to CI standards. It does get extremely hot during the summer months and with the constant traffic flow in and out the lobby area it doesn't take long for the cool air to escape. We've replaced our HVAC units which should resolve the heat issue we had during your stay. Please give us another try upon your next visit to the area and you will see that our continued efforts for our guests are working. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby, Montana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

This is a very clean hotel. Service was good. They need to update it in accordance with Choice standards though. Still using the old bedding and the uniforms were not consistent. Breakfast attendant was not wearing a uniform so it was hard to tell that she worked there. Also I was surprised that you couldn't get coffee after the breakfast shut down.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
999DianeA, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for your comments. We do offer 24 hour coffee and feature the latest in upgrades. In fact, our bedding package was again changed our as of January 1, 2014. I'm at a loss of why there was no coffee and our staff was out of uniform but I assure you that this has been corrected. I do hope you give us another shot of providing you with the kind of stay our guests expect and have come to know with our brand. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalispell hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#3 of 20 in Kalispell
962 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
1.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
#8 of 20 in Kalispell
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Kalispell
1.7 mi away
FairBridge Inn & Suites And Outlaw Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 1330 US Highway 2 W, Kalispell, MT 59901-1621 (Formerly Comfort Inn Big Sky)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Kalispell
Kalispell Rodeway Inn
Quality Inn Kalispell, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing