We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for ski access and pooches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Kalispell
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for ski access and pooches”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I recently stayed here with girlfriend's family for a ski weekend. We brought our ~50 pound dog along and didn't have any issues. The hotel not only allows dogs, but everyone there seemed happy to have them.

Our room was clean and the bathroom was large, which was nice. I found that no matter what we did, our room was always hot, but other than that, it was really great value for our money.

The breakfast is great, there is a lot of selections and it's free. There is a nice fire pit and hot-tub in a courtyard as well.

The hotel is also conveniently located within easy walking distance of the main Kalispell strip along with some great restaurant choices. It's also a fairly easy drive from Whitefish and Blacktail mountains.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoinTeR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
PoinTeR2014,

Our hotel is in a great location for our areas winter activities on Blacktail Ski Area and Whitefish Mountain Resort as well as walking distance for shopping and restaurants. I am glad you got to enjoy all of this. Thank you for your great review and yes, we do love pets and enjoy seeing them around the hotel. I hope you see you in the near future or at least before the ski season ends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    186
    83
    45
    32
See reviews for
218
193
27
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Great staff, NewsYears event was the best time me and my wife have had in a long time. Excellent staff, double excellent meal, triple excellent band - Trevor and the Roughriders. Well done, my wife, my friends and now others will be back next year. The value you recieved for the price was outstanding. Well done to the Red Lion and your staff

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dan W,

The New Year's Party was so much fun. I love seeing all that attend and have a great time with Trevor and his band - they are a great group of guys. Thank you for your review and keep watch for our promotion for this year's event. Have a great 2014 !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I recently stayed here with my parents and brother for a ski weekend. We brought our 50 lbs dog along and did not have any troubles getting her into a room. There seemed to be a few other dogs in the hotel, but none were noisy.
Our room was clean and the bathroom was large, which was nice. I found that no matter what we did, our room was always hot, but other than that, it was really great value for our money.
The breakfast is great, there is a lot of selections and it's free. There is also a nice fire-pit in the courtyard that we cooked pepperoni on.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
NIcki T,

Skiing as been great this year for our ski resorts. I am glad you experienced one of our best winter activites in our area. Thank you for your review and highlighting our popular breakfast and our courtyard with a fire pit. I hope to see you return to our area for other great adventures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, MT
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times when when we ski at Whitefish. It is centrally located in Kalispell and not to far away. The pool and hot tub are nice. They have a great breakfast to get you going for a long day skiing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleandBob99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
MichelleandBob99,

I would like to thank you for your review and I am happy to see that you were able to enjoy some of our local attractions such as skiing at Whitefish Mountain Resort. We have another great ski resort of Blacktail Mountain Ski Area for your next visit. Check out our package page on our website for other great packages. We value you as our guest, and look forward to having you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We took our chances with a Hotwire hotel for Kalispell and got booked at the Red Lion. What a nice surprise! This hotel is attached to the mall and centrally located right on main street in downtown Kalispell. It has an indoor and outdoor whirpool, pool, sauna, nice seating area in the lobby, and a great courtyard with a bonfire each night and a river running through it. The free hot breakfast was excellent - my favourite was the made to order omelet bar. There were hot and cold cereals, juices, tea, coffee, water, sausage, bacon, hash browns, waffles, & French toast. The service was excellent! It's about a 10 min (or less) drive to the north end for shopping. Our hotel had a queen bed, fridge, microwave and nice large sitting area with lounge chair and desk. I would highly recommend staying here and would not hesitate to stay here again myself. I would say it's a solid 3.5 star.

Room Tip: Request an inside room with a view of the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KanataCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
KanataCalgary,

Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your stay and highlighting our amenities. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Our courtyard and fire pit is a great amenity that we have for many to enjoy. Our breakfast is very popular with our guests as well. We hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This place stunk but was our last resort for a room that night. I am handicapped so we stayed in an accessible room. However even the hallways smelled dirty, smoky and loads of dirty laundry were piled in carts along the halls as we checked in after dark. I did address it with management later and received one of those oh we're so sorry but we got your money anyway notes. Highly prefer the Homewood Suites when in Kalispell.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMgigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the odor throughout the hotel itself. Please be assured that the dirty laundry in the hall will be addressed accordingly with our housekeeping staff.
We do appreciate your feedback so that we are given the opportunity to address your concerns. We thank you very much and we hope to have the chance to serve you better in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We had a very nice quiet stay in a good clean room. We missed the breakfast as we slept past 9 am but other than that we got what we came for. Good service,friendly people and relaxation. Most days they have a shuttle that will take you where ever you want to go so no worries about driving.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Lynn C,

Thank you for the nice review. I hope you had a great birthday !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalispell hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#3 of 20 in Kalispell
974 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
1.2 mi away
FairBridge Inn & Suites And Outlaw Convention Center
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kalispell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Kalispell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Kalispell

Property: Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Address: 20 N Main St, Kalispell, MT 59901-4080
Region: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalispell
#6 Family Hotel in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Kalispell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Kalispell celebrates the beauty of the Flathead Valley Region. Our central location in the valley provides endless opportunities for exploration, including Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake and Whitefish Mountain Resort at Big Mountain Ski and Summer Resort. Additional nearby activities include ten golf courses, hiking in the unspoiled Bob Marshall Wilderness area and fishing or boating on Flathead Lake.The Red Lion Hotel Kalispell is a limited-service hotel sporting western accessories, timber beams and copper, granite and slate in earth-tone colors that echo the warmth and rugged ambiance of Montana and the area's natural surroundings. The hotel is within blocks of restaurants, theaters, art galleries, antique stores and downtown Kalispell. Our 170 rooms are all non-smoking and include Red Lion's signature plush pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), granite vanities, elegant lighting and complimentary wi-fi. Public spaces include vaulted-ceiling lobby and its wood-burning rock fireplace, a welcoming hospitality room, a native, landscaped courtyard with outdoor whirlpool, renovated solarium with indoor pool and over 10,000 square feet of meeting space. Come enjoy Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet daily.We are adjacent to Kalispell Center Mall where all your business, dining and shopping needs are met. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, the Red Lion Hotel Kalispell is the perfect location to experience genuinely warm Montana hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Kalispell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Kalispell
Kalispell Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing