We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel I stayed in Kalispell!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Kalispell
Certificate of Excellence
North Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best hotel I stayed in Kalispell!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed in two hotels in Kalispell. Grand Hotel and Red Lion (one block apart). Red Lion: Friendly staff, quiet room, clean bed, full hot and cold breakfast including omelet bar (only downfall closes at 9am). If you have time use the sauna and pool in a covered atrium. There is also an outdoor courtyard in the center of the motel. RL is a newer hotel and off of main street good for all types of travelers. GH: built in 1902 (very much enjoyed the character), but the noise was my problem. Older buildings have thinner walls and the AC unit is in the window all year round allowing more noise to come in. If you like historical renovation and don't mind a bit of noise you will appreciate this hotel with it's charm. No pool here if you have kiddos.

Room Tip: Request from the front desk if you want a quiet room or pool side for kids. They will accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
I am proud that my staff took care of you and you filled up on our wonderful breakfast. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    173
    73
    39
    26
See reviews for
190
181
25
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I was pleasantly surprised! I stayed at this location when the hotel was called another name, Cavanahs, (I think) , and I was not impressed then (12 years ago). It was outdated and not very clean. Well, I guess Red-lion bought it and turned it into an amazing hotel! Especially for the price. The lobby was very beautiful, as were the rooms. We stayed in a room with a king bed and I felt as though I was staying in a higher end hotel. There were many pillows on the bed, it was very clean. The bathroom was all tile and granite. There was a closet for all of our things, a desk, sitting chair, night stands and large flat screen tv. It was a wonderful surprise, as we were expecting something mediocre at best. I will definitely stay there again and will recommend it to all of my friends that plan on visiting the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Wow, I haven't heard Cavanaughs in a long time. Thank you for a great review. We appreciate you recommending our hotel to others. Hopefully, we will see you back sooner than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Room and hotel in general were clean and nice. The full breakfast the next morning, which was included in the price of the room, was awesome. You just don't see that much anymore. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for the nice review. Our breakfast IS very popular with our guests. A great way to start the day !! Hopefully, we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I am a repeat customer here and stay here on business trips. Despite the hotel being co-located with a Mall, a Convention Center, and a Casino, every time I have stayed here (weeknights), I enjoyed very quiet evenings and nights. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable with medium firm matresses, and the highspeed wireless is reliable. The rooms are well appointed for business travel with large desk, convenient outlets, microwave, and fridge. My rooms only had a shower, no tub, if that is important to you. The hotel is also dog friendly with a $15 fee and has a dog-allowed grassy courtyard for potty breaks (lawns are something other downtown hotels which allow dogs lack). A hot breakfast is included and is actually quite good with a variety of buffet-style hot and cold food and a cook who makes omlets to order. The staff is very friendly, welcoming, and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnhydraKeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
What a great review !! THANK YOU. For future stays, we do have rooms with tubs, just request this upon making your reservations. We appreciate your repeat business and we will see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Best breakfast of any hotel I've ever stayed at. Comfy beds and pillows. The hotel was so accommodating for our sports team. Would stay again for sure. They even let us have a birthday party in the common area by the lobby with over40 people

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us with your team and for the great review. It's a great location especially with property attached to the Kalispell Center Mall. Contact us next time when your team is coming this way to play.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

The location is useful being downtown and all. The staff is clumsy at best. While sitting in the lobby, I heard the lady at the front desk gossip about guests and drop a couple f bombs.
The "new" fitness room is horribly dirty. The machines look to have never been wiped down, dust with sweat spots abound. The floor of the fitness has actual piles of dirt in the corners. Having TVs attached to the cardio machines is pretty fancy, what would be even better is if they actually received any stations to view.
The rooms are okay. Nothing exciting but thankfully not as dirty as the fitness room.
A little attention to detail and refinement would go a long way here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilotgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. I do apologize for any unprofessionalism that you overheard from our staff. I would also like to apologize for the condition of the fitness room as well. These issues will be addressed accordingly with our staff.
We strive to provide all our guests with the high quality of service that we maintain throughout all of our hotels. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were at this hotel for two nights and found everything to be pleasant and easy. Our grandchildren were playing in a hockey tournament and they really enjoyed the indoor pool and outdoor hot tub. The omelet breakfast was wonderful, everyone had exactly what they wanted to eat before their first game each day. We appreciated the fridge and microwave. The bathroom seemed a little small but not a problem. We would definitely stay here again. It's very nice being able to walk down the mall for a little shopping without having to go outside.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Gail285,

That you for the great review and staying with us during your hockey tournament. Our hotel is a great location for families with kids being attached to the Kalispell Center Mall. I hope too see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalispell hotels
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#3 of 20 in Kalispell
902 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
0.1 mi away
The Kalispell Grand Hotel
The Kalispell Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kalispell
446 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kalispell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Kalispell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Kalispell

Property: Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Address: 20 North Main Street, Kalispell, MT 59901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalispell
#6 Family Hotel in Kalispell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Kalispell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Kalispell celebrates the beauty of the Flathead Valley Region. Our central location in the valley provides endless opportunities for exploration, including Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake and Whitefish Mountain Resort at Big Mountain Ski and Summer Resort. Additional nearby activities include ten golf courses, hiking in the unspoiled Bob Marshall Wilderness area and fishing or boating on Flathead Lake.The Red Lion Hotel Kalispell is a limited-service hotel sporting western accessories, timber beams and copper, granite and slate in earth-tone colors that echo the warmth and rugged ambiance of Montana and the area's natural surroundings. The hotel is within blocks of restaurants, theaters, art galleries, antique stores and downtown Kalispell. Our 170 rooms are all non-smoking and include Red Lion's signature plush pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), granite vanities, elegant lighting and complimentary wi-fi. Public spaces include vaulted-ceiling lobby and its wood-burning rock fireplace, a welcoming hospitality room, a native, landscaped courtyard with outdoor whirlpool, renovated solarium with indoor pool and over 10,000 square feet of meeting space. Come enjoy Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet daily.We are adjacent to Kalispell Center Mall where all your business, dining and shopping needs are met. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, the Red Lion Hotel Kalispell is the perfect location to experience genuinely warm Montana hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Kalispell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Kalispell
Kalispell Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing