We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Kalispell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I booked a room on line a month before our planned trip. The day we were supposed to leave it was storming so I had to call and cancel our reservation. This was done with no problems and no charge, even though I was cancelling only 4 hours prior to check in. The front desk staff that assisted me with this was very helpful and friendly. The next morning the roads were good so I phoned back and was able to get a room for 2 nights beginning that night.
The rooms are very nicely decorated with nice comfortable beds. My only room complaint was the fan in the bathroom, was in need of cleaning. Their breakfast is also a great value added bonus. They serve a full breakfast, omelet's, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, bagels, cereal and pastries.
We chose this hotel due to location, walking distance to downtown main street. Here you can find some excellent restaurants, Hop's and Norms News.
I would definatly stay here again and would recommend it to friends and family

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
1  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

The weather can always but a damper on our travels. I am so glad my staff took are of you and adjusted to the weather. Thank you for your great and commenting on some of our great places in downtown to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Our stay was great! The person that assigned our room was thinking. I have two little kids and our room was right across from the pool. The noon checkout was great too. That meant I could go shop and my husband and kids could stay in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Silver P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your post. We ARE a great location for shopping and dining out with our downtown location. I hope you found some great "finds". Hope to see visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

was given discount due to grampa in hospital/ Would have given 5 stars but pool area was really cold. But outside temps were below zero before wind chill!
Breakfast was unbelievable with cook for personal omelets and extensive selection.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Sorry to hear your Granpa was in the hospital. I hope he is doing better. Yes, its a bit of a challenge to keep the pool area warm with such fridged temperatures. Thank you for commenting on our wonderful breakfast, it's always a hit. I hope to see you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed at the Red Lion for a night on our way back from Vegas. We were pleasantly surprised! The location was ideal, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the airport shuttle service was very prompt (which is not always our experience with park and fly options). The room was large for the price and very clean and the included breakfast was a nice treat - complete with warm options and an omelet station. A great choice for a stay in Kalispell!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BC_Travellers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

I hope you enjoyed your time in Vegas !! Thank you for staying with us and taking advantage of breakfast and our shuttle to the airport. I appreciate you posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed in two hotels in Kalispell. Grand Hotel and Red Lion (one block apart). Red Lion: Friendly staff, quiet room, clean bed, full hot and cold breakfast including omelet bar (only downfall closes at 9am). If you have time use the sauna and pool in a covered atrium. There is also an outdoor courtyard in the center of the motel. RL is a newer hotel and off of main street good for all types of travelers. GH: built in 1902 (very much enjoyed the character), but the noise was my problem. Older buildings have thinner walls and the AC unit is in the window all year round allowing more noise to come in. If you like historical renovation and don't mind a bit of noise you will appreciate this hotel with it's charm. No pool here if you have kiddos.

Room Tip: Request from the front desk if you want a quiet room or pool side for kids. They will accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

I am proud that my staff took care of you and you filled up on our wonderful breakfast. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I was pleasantly surprised! I stayed at this location when the hotel was called another name, Cavanahs, (I think) , and I was not impressed then (12 years ago). It was outdated and not very clean. Well, I guess Red-lion bought it and turned it into an amazing hotel! Especially for the price. The lobby was very beautiful, as were the rooms. We stayed in a room with a king bed and I felt as though I was staying in a higher end hotel. There were many pillows on the bed, it was very clean. The bathroom was all tile and granite. There was a closet for all of our things, a desk, sitting chair, night stands and large flat screen tv. It was a wonderful surprise, as we were expecting something mediocre at best. I will definitely stay there again and will recommend it to all of my friends that plan on visiting the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Wow, I haven't heard Cavanaughs in a long time. Thank you for a great review. We appreciate you recommending our hotel to others. Hopefully, we will see you back sooner than later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Room and hotel in general were clean and nice. The full breakfast the next morning, which was included in the price of the room, was awesome. You just don't see that much anymore. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLCB, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Kalispell, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for the nice review. Our breakfast IS very popular with our guests. A great way to start the day !! Hopefully, we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalispell hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#3 of 20 in Kalispell
1,005 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 20 in Kalispell
116 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kalispell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Kalispell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Kalispell

Address: 20 N Main St, Kalispell, MT 59901-4080
Region: United States > Montana > Kalispell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kalispell
#6 Family Hotel in Kalispell
Price Range: £52 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Kalispell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Kalispell celebrates the beauty of the Flathead Valley Region. Our central location in the valley provides endless opportunities for exploration, including Glacier National Park, Flathead Lake and Whitefish Mountain Resort at Big Mountain Ski and Summer Resort. Additional nearby activities include ten golf courses, hiking in the unspoiled Bob Marshall Wilderness area and fishing or boating on Flathead Lake.The Red Lion Hotel Kalispell is a limited-service hotel sporting western accessories, timber beams and copper, granite and slate in earth-tone colors that echo the warmth and rugged ambiance of Montana and the area's natural surroundings. The hotel is within blocks of restaurants, theaters, art galleries, antique stores and downtown Kalispell. Our 170 rooms are all non-smoking and include Red Lion's signature plush pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), granite vanities, elegant lighting and complimentary wi-fi. Public spaces include vaulted-ceiling lobby and its wood-burning rock fireplace, a welcoming hospitality room, a native, landscaped courtyard with outdoor whirlpool, renovated solarium with indoor pool and over 10,000 square feet of meeting space. Come enjoy Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet daily.We are adjacent to Kalispell Center Mall where all your business, dining and shopping needs are met. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, the Red Lion Hotel Kalispell is the perfect location to experience genuinely warm Montana hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Kalispell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Kalispell
Kalispell Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Kalispell Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing