We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Experience”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Little Bear Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This is in the fall when the Larch trees turn bright yellow right before they fall off.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This is in the fall when the Larch trees turn bright yellow right before they fall off.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kila, Montana

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Todd F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is a very private cabin, just what we were hoping for. We weren't interested in staying in a cabin where we had to wait in line to use a shower or bathroom and we didn't want the noise that typically comes from campgrounds. This cabin is on a peaceful, beautiful property. Doug and Mimi are great hosts, they are there if you need them but provide as much privacy as you wish. My wife and I along with our two children stayed here. The cabin is small, as expected, but we fit just fine with room to spare. The lack of a stove presents a challenge but we were surprised at the quality of meals we were able to make with just a microwave and small electric grill (both supplied with the cabin).

There is a fire pit on the back side of the house and the owners offer firewood at a very affordable price. The heaters work great inside the cabin, even on cold nights we felt warm. The beds are comfortable, water is hot, views are breathtaking, you can't ask for anything else from a cabin rental. Mimi made us breakfast for two mornings, the food was excellent and arrived at the door of the cabin at exactly the time we requested it. The meals were large, very filling, and delicious. The internet isn't the fastest and the TV only gets a couple channels, but if you're intent is to go watch TV and be on the Internet all day then you should probably just stay in a hotel. The point of going to a cabin in the middle of nowhere is to enjoy doing nothing.

There is a trail just behind the cabin that leads to a logging road. I'm not sure how far the road goes but we hiked until a gate which was 1.25 miles from the cabin. It was the perfect hike to take our kids on - not too long, not a difficult trail to follow. Plenty of things to see along the way, beautiful rock formations and views. We saw multiple deer during our hike (and about seven deer hang out on the property in the evenings). Our kids loved the experience and the best part is it's private property so you aren't avoiding others while on the trail, just you and nature.

I almost want to give this place a bad review so we can keep it our little secret, but to be fair this is a five star property without a doubt. We'll never stay anywhere else when we visit Glacier. We're so happy the property was available and we were able to experience it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy, location, owners
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Thanks so much for the wonderful review..Mimi and I were delighted to read it. We would love to have you stay with us again ..Doug
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolinac...
Connellys Springs, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“to tPerferct Honeymoon Spot!”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is one of those hidden gems that's under the radar. My wife and I spent our first 4 nights of a 11 day Montana Honeymoon at Little Bear Lodge. Doug and Mimi are such accommodating, gracious hosts - they are such a joy to talk to! Be sure to sample Mimi's cooking - it's delicious(sausage & egg casserole is scrumptious)! If you need any travel advice be sure to ask Doug, if you like to explore off the beaten path he can direct you to the best places - ask him about Haskill Mtn for some awesome views close by. Hwy 486 for awesome off Glacier National Park views, Polebridge Mercantile, and (check to see if gates are open in the off season) Bowman and Kintla lakes on the North Fork side of Glacier. Also check out Red Meadow Road off 486.

The cabin is so cozy and inviting, it's a short distance from main house but you'll have plenty of privacy if you want it - Doug and Mimi don't go in the cabin during your stay. Early May the evenings/mornings were a little chilly but it warmed up quick during the day. Internet works great, not sure about television - we never turned it on. Wish we could have stayed longer - we loved our stay and hated to leave. Little Bear Lodge will be on our list for future trips to the Kalispell area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/Ambience
Liked least: Not a slight but cabin is a little small. Perfect for 2 honeymooners though.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Hi Steven and Megan, thanks so much for the amazing review!! We loved having you stay with us and really, really hope you will come back and visit us soon! You were both a joy to have as our guests! Mimi and Doug
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemblue57
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I was a little anxious to book the Little Bear Lodge since it didn’t have any reviews, but after talking with the owners over email before booking I decided to give it a go. I am so happy I did! I have stayed in the Kalispell area before (both times @ the Kalispell Grand) and this place was by far the best experience I’ve had. Mimi and Doug were extremely accommodating, and it felt like you were staying at your home away from home.

On top of booking the room I ordered breakfast two of the mornings from Mimi and also had a picnic lunch packed. Overall I felt the breakfasts offered more bang for your buck, and would definitely recommend the “regular” breakfast over the “lighter fare” for those of you who can eat a fairly normal sized breakfast (such as my husband). For me however the lighter fare was perfect. The food was cooked perfectly, and Mimi’s cherry scones and sausage & egg casserole were to die for.

The cabin is very private—even though it is closer to the main house than the pictures make it seem, we never felt like we were being watched or had any lack of privacy whatsoever. It’s extremely quiet—don’t let the popping water heater worry you when you first get there, it will stop after a couple uses of the sink. The bed downstairs is very soft and comfortable, and I’m sure the bed in the loft would be the same way. My only major complaint was that the cabin could get fairly warm in the afternoons (we stayed in early June) and there was only a window fan to cool the place down. It would have been nice to have a little window AC unit.

Overall, this place was an A+ in my book, and this is now officially my “go to” place when staying in the Glacier area. It is about 20 minutes outside of Kalispell tucked away, so if you want constant access to town it’s probably not your best bet. But if you want a nice getaway with easy access to Glacier or town every now and then it’s the place to stay. Have Mimi cook you breakfast one morning and chat with Doug sometime—they are kind people and will do their very best to make you feel like part of the family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words..we enjoyed having you here
Doug and Mimi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing