We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An out of the way jewel!”
Review of Mabel's Kitchen

Mabel's Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 32 Restaurants in Laurel
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An out of the way jewel!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our family group of 15 had our end of hike meal at Mabel's. All the food was delicious, beautifully presented, and, given our size, quickly served. There was no alcohol but BYOB was welcomed with a gas station convenience store right next door which had beer and wine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrannyMary1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
231 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Odd”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Service was good. Beans were good. Chicken enchilada was fair. Beef pieces and the accompanying flour tortillas were burned in places. Some beef pieces were tough. The enchilada sauce tasted more like barbecue sauce. In fact, this tasted less like Mexican than most Mexican food we have eaten throughout the western states. Wouldn't eat there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mailstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Montana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican food near Billings”
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

The short drive from Billings results in some of the best Mexican food in the area. I always have a great dining experience when I eat there. Good food, friendly people, not much more could be asked for!

Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pricey.”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The first time I ate here, we were shocked at the high prices, especially for what you get. We brought friends visiting from out of state and they were very unimpressed. Needless to say, we didn't come back for 7 years! We decided to give it a try again, and it is pretty much the same. The place seriously needs a remodel and a deep cleaning. The food is good and we stick to the burritos as they seem to be the best value. I am not giving up on it, since there just isn't much in the way of authentic Mexican food in this part of Montana.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MontanaHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mt
Level Contributor
173 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Our family loves Mabel's. The Carne Asada is our most favorite item to eat there. It is a huge piece of steak with the best tasting cabbage. We always order an extra bowl of cabbage and beans. The beans are out of this world. Wish we had the recipe but it is a 'secret'. Love that. We have never in the 20 years of eating there been disappointed. Great service. Great food. Great Salsa. What more can you ask for?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgalMt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mabel's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing