We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Time”

Charlie Russell Chew Choo Dinner Train
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Lewistown
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Huntley, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Time”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

It is a 30 to 40 min drive out of Lewistown to get to the destination - they gave us a map but, of course, we got lost. So the directions are not totally Bomb Proof. We did stop and ask directions from a very friendly farmer as he was entering a local watering hole who showed us where we took a wrong turn (or more accurately failed to make a turn) and we made it in plenty of time. The tickets we paid for were the VIP tickets and we were under the assumption there was a seperate car designated for VIP passengers - we were wrong. We were also suppose to get, as part of the VIP package a t-shirt and other extra items which was to include a disposable camera for each ticket holder - none of us got one. Which didn't really matter because we all brought our own cameras. THIS WAS THE ONLY COMPLAINT . Once we boarded (advanced boarding was also a perk of the VIP pkg) and settled in we were whisked away over old time wooden trestles, tunnels long (but not to long) and dark and some of the most wonderful scenery around. We witnessed a glorious sunset on the range as well as the deer and the antelope playing - ok no antelope but a whole pot load of bounding mule deer and birds of all kinds. The meal served was passable - prime rib, potatoes, roll and dessert. The staff were all absolutely fabulous and answered all questions - even the dumb ones (questions that is). The train was chased and robbed, and we watched as they battled among themselves over the loot which included several shootings and a hanging. Above all there was laughter, song by a local musician and literal dancing in the aisles by who ever was moved. It was a great time and I would definitely recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A taste of the Old Wild West!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Lots of fun! The prime rib was very good. All staff and actors are very friendly and fun.
In order to get there you will be traveling at least 6 miles of gravel road.
Show was lots of fun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Dinner, Train Robbery and a Hanging Oh My”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My husband surprised me with this wonderful experience for our anniversary. I had never ridden on a train before so I was beyond myself with excitement. He paid for the VIP service which included special attentioin from the ladies of the evening and the train robbers. The robbers took all of my jewlery, my husbands watch and rings along with a few dollars and the fake money that was included in the Package.
The robbers ride the horses along the railline, shooting and whooping the train stops at the town where the robbery takes place. There is an old fashioned shoot out everyone gets in on the action the ladies of the evening along with the robbers. Finally justice is served and a proper hanging ensues.
After the robbery there is a signing cowboy along for the ride who seranades you back to Lewistown.
You eat dinner on the way to the turn around after dinner the entertainment starts.
The prime rib dinner is very good eating it on the train made it taste even better.
You cross several tressles, one of the tressles you cross was used in the movie "Broken Arrow"
Yes it is pricey but it is a once in a life time event that you will always remember.
Oh yeah about the missing jewlery, it was all returned before we arrived back to Lewistown, the robbers came back on board and returned it all nothing was missing. We let them keep the real money as a tip well worth the amount they robbed.
All in all it was a very memorable anniversary.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank starsweptsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
174 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Interesting train ride”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Interesting ride on this old train. Partly dirt road to get there from Lewistown. Lots of nice scenery on this slow ride.
Dinner was very good, as was the service. Delays, especially at the turn-around back to Lewsitown. Perhaps that was because of a wedding on the train. They do a good job with the passengers. Expect some sideways rolling and a relatively slow ride, which is good for photos. Spoiler alert: Do not read further. The train robbery was very good for about 5 minutes, but in my opinion, it dragged on for another 15 minutes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank surfonmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dinner Train Fun”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We have wanted to do this for years. Some friends were going so we did it with them & it was a great time. It's a nice three & a half hour ride with some music, a train robbery complete with shootings & a hanging. Very entertaining indeed. They also serve a good prime rib dinner, although it would have been nice to choose how you like it cooked. The flavor was good but redder would have been better. It was a nice evening & I encourage everyone to try it at least once.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Moerygar65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie Russell Chew Choo Dinner Train also viewed

 

Been to Charlie Russell Chew Choo Dinner Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing