We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Charlie Russell Chew Choo Dinner Train
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Lewistown
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crcc”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A little long but lots of scenery. The dinner is excellent and drinks are good. Hide your stash because you might get robbed by bandits. But it is a good experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun experience!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We took the dinner train and had a great meal, great service and some fun entertainment. Good for a family experience. The high trestles are worth the trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank D and J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Christmas train ride - good for the kids but a bit expensive.”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

For $25 per person and the remote location, the value is marginal. Fun for the kids and the crew in our car was very joyful and attentive. Their service made it fun for the kids. It was -22 degrees F outside so the trains were not as warm as hoped, but come prepared. I wouldn't do it again, but the we had a good experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MontanaJeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewistown, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charlie Russell Chew Choo”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Chamber of Commerce run's several train trips during the year of which you will enjoy any of them you choose to take. If there are any tickets left for the Polar Express I would call now and get tickets. This is a great one to take your kids or grand-kids on before Christmas. Our grand-kids really enjoyed the trip!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Time”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

It is a 30 to 40 min drive out of Lewistown to get to the destination - they gave us a map but, of course, we got lost. So the directions are not totally Bomb Proof. We did stop and ask directions from a very friendly farmer as he was entering a local watering hole who showed us where we took a wrong turn (or more accurately failed to make a turn) and we made it in plenty of time. The tickets we paid for were the VIP tickets and we were under the assumption there was a seperate car designated for VIP passengers - we were wrong. We were also suppose to get, as part of the VIP package a t-shirt and other extra items which was to include a disposable camera for each ticket holder - none of us got one. Which didn't really matter because we all brought our own cameras. THIS WAS THE ONLY COMPLAINT . Once we boarded (advanced boarding was also a perk of the VIP pkg) and settled in we were whisked away over old time wooden trestles, tunnels long (but not to long) and dark and some of the most wonderful scenery around. We witnessed a glorious sunset on the range as well as the deer and the antelope playing - ok no antelope but a whole pot load of bounding mule deer and birds of all kinds. The meal served was passable - prime rib, potatoes, roll and dessert. The staff were all absolutely fabulous and answered all questions - even the dumb ones (questions that is). The train was chased and robbed, and we watched as they battled among themselves over the loot which included several shootings and a hanging. Above all there was laughter, song by a local musician and literal dancing in the aisles by who ever was moved. It was a great time and I would definitely recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie Russell Chew Choo Dinner Train also viewed

 

Been to Charlie Russell Chew Choo Dinner Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing