We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST KEPT SECRET CABIN” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowstone Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuthbert, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST KEPT SECRET CABIN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Two years ago I searched and searched for the right location for our vacation near Yellowstone and Livingston. We are into a beautiful view, excellent service, and enjoy fine dining. BINGO!!! You will not believe the views....out of the movie A River Runs Thru It. The staff, view, and food far outranks Chico HS. This location is a dream come true. We look forward every year to coming back to this haven! Book early or you will not get in on this American treasure.

Room Tip: EVERY room captures a beautiful river and mountain vista. There are (2) double bed rooms, small fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wimbledon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Being able to sit on your deck looking over the river after dinner sure makes for a relaxing vacation. Glad you made it back this year, and hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    40
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
91
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montana
Level Contributor
388 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I decided to splurge for our anniversary dinner and eat at the lodge's restaurant. We were completely delighted with the food, the atmosphere and the service. Although it is not inexpensive it was well worth it to make our special occasion even better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montanan_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your meal at the restaurant. We will share this with the restaurant staff. The Yellowstone Valley Grill does have great farm to table fare. Don't forget to make reservations. Happy Anniversary, thanks for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
197 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Yellowstone Valley Lodge for three nights over the fourth of July. The views of the river and mountains are beautiful and the cabin was very clean and nice. It is very pricey at $225 a night but a big disappointment with no Internet in Cabin 9 (as stated in the advertisement Internet in cabins) We brought our laptop and walked a few times during the day to the Cut Throat Lounge where Internet is available but what was not available there was air conditioning as the temperatures were in the upper 90's.There is one window in the lounge so it was very hot and we could not stay in there long. The included breakfast was also a disappointment. Cereal, toast, one bagel, and a bowl of fruit. We were asked one morning if we wanted biscuits and gravy and the other morning if we wanted scrambled eggs.

I have been in the travel & tourism business for many years and have never heard of a hotel or lodging suggest in their book what to tip their housekeeping. This property recommended to their guests to tip their housekeeping $10 to $20 a day to clean their room!

Room Tip: Not cabin 9 no Internet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
We apologize for the lack of internet in your cabin and A/C in the lounge. We received your comments and are in the process of upgrading the internet throughout the cabins. We realize that this does not change the fact that you were unable to get good internet service while you were here, and for that we are sorry. Your comments were shared with our staff accordingly. We appreciate your feedback, it really does help us improve our operation. Again, our deepest apologies, and we hope you decide to come visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Our family stayed at the Yellowstone Valley Lodge on our trip to Yellowstone. The Lodge is about half way between Bozeman and Yellowstone National Park (50 miles between each). We stayed in "cabin 12" two bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchenette, big screen TV, WiFi, breakfast is included with the room, etc. WE LOVED IT! The staff was helpful, the food was good, the room was clean. What I enjoyed most was the deck on the back of our "cabin". It looked out over the Yellowstone River. Each morning we would sit on the deck and watch the geese or canoes drift by.

The location was perfect for us, too. The Lodge sits by itself, unlike so many places in this area (which can seem crowded in spite of the wide open space of big sky country. The Lodge is on the outskirts of Livingston and only a few miles from Chico Hot Springs (which has a day spa and 3 restaurants). There are several good places to eat and galleries in Livingston.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thanks for the compliments. We do enjoy our little slice of paradise! It's a great place to stay and watch the world go by. The Absaroka Deluxe cabins have a great view (as do all of our cabins) and really give you some room to spread out. It's good that you were able to spend some time exploring Livingston and the area, we're happy to show off our town. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. The view was breathtaking - difficult to turn away from to do other things. The service was excellent - both the staff of the lodge and the restaurant. Most places to stay in this area - Paradise Valley - are rather rustic and that is OK, as far as it goes. Here, you will find someplace unusually upscale. The manager was right there and very friendly even though we didn't need anything that wasn't already there. The restaurant is comparable to a gourmet restaurant in any large city but without all the hassle, noise and pretense. No, it isn't an inexpensive place but you get what you paid for - the quality is fully consistent with the cost. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Naturally, the newer rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim A, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thanks for the review. We always like to hear from guests who can spend some time here and get to know the place. We're glad you had a good time and look forward to seeing you the next time you can come out and visit. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

The stay was better than I had imagined. The cottage was comfortable, the deck overlooking the magical yellowstone river was amazing, the sights and the sounds were eye and ear candy. The dining room was wonderful, chef Marcos' handling of everything we ordered was inspired. We will definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frank g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim A, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Glad we could get you in for dinner while you were here, the restaurant is great! I'll make sure that the Chef and restaurant staff know that you enjoyed yourselves. We're looking forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Nestled in the valley the Yellowstone Valley Lodge was a wonderful respite and relaxing get-away. The cabin was cozy, clean and a great location. Loved sitting on the porch watching the river and bald eagles. We stayed only 1 night but would have loved to stay longer. Staff was exceptional and restaurant superb.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim A, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank you for the feedback. There is a nesting pair of eagles around. We often see a large variety of raptors on the river, if you need help identifying let us know, we might be able to help. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
15.6 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#3 of 10 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
14.6 mi away
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
#5 of 10 in Livingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
14.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Super 8 Livingston
Super 8 Livingston
#4 of 10 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
14.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 10 in Livingston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
22.0 mi away
North Yellowstone Lodge and Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Valley Lodge

Property: Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Address: 3840 Highway 89 South, Livingston, MT 59047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Livingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowstone Valley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a small, off-the-beaten-path collection of contemporary cabins and one exceptional five-star gourmet restaurant, tucked along the banks of the Yellowstone River on a ranch style property in the Paradise Valley of Montana. Our passions: Falling asleep to the sound of the river (we've also got a weak spot for high-count linens, fly-fishing, and microbrews—you'll see.), anything locally grown (if Chef Marcos prepares it, it's good) and showing off Yellowstone National Park (and the Valley's other endless outdoor opportunities). With our local knowledge, upscale amenities, and taste for both fine food and outdoor adventure, we're a natural base for your Yellowstone-area experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Yellowstone Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Valley Lodge Livingston, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing