We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riverside accomodations are always memorable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, WY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Riverside accomodations are always memorable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Who can resist the charm of sleeping on the banks of an historic river? Add the view of fresh snow on the Absaroka mountains in the distance, and it's a Kodak moment. With exemplary service, this Lodge knows its niche as an upscale fly-fishing retreat. Alas, we are not fishermen, but were still satisfied with a location that allowed several unique drives on backcountry roads, plus an interview with a potential pack-trip outfitter who is permitted in the Absaroka-Beartooth Wilderness and YNP. Our well-maintained room was a cut above average, but easily hearing the people adjoining us was a downer. (We used the fan to mask the noise.) The restaurant takes pride in its impressive cuisine - my husband couldn't believe that fishermen ate that highfalutin! If you like watching rivers with a story to tell, check out the Grand Union Hotel in Fort Benton, MT, on the banks of the Missouri River.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teton-view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
It was nice to meet the both of you during your outfitter scouting trip. We love our riverside cabins and good cuisine. Sorry about the noise next door. Next time you come out this way come back as a rest stop before your backcountry trip. Next time I'm in the Tetons I'll stop by and see you. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    40
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
91
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed one night September 2013 during our road trip west, and wished we could have stayed longer. Lovely room along the river, excellent dinner, great breakfast and coffee - we couldn't have asked for anything more. A lovely send-off to our adventures in Yellowstone. Trust the reviews, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Each room has a wonderful location along the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfg_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thanks for coming to visit us on your trip to Yellowstone this September. We love our riverside rooms. Keep us in mind for your next adventure this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband, twin brother and his wife were on a two week vacation visiting several National Parks during this time. Livingston was our last and best stop when it came to our accommodations. Everyone working for the Yellowstone Valley Lodge is friendly, helpful and informative. Our beds were comfortable,, the common area had more than enough room for four adults and the view from our deck was lovely and peaceful. We saved going to the restaurant until our last evening and the food was beyond delicious. The trout was the best I had ever eaten. We will highly recommend the lodge to friends and family who might be visiting the area and hope to return one day ourselves.

Room Tip: Please disregard the pool comment...I couldn't remove the terrible that came up so I put excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
I'm glad that you were able to enjoy our Absaroka Deluxe cabins, perfect for 2 couples. Thanks for voting us best accommodations on your National Parks tour, it's what we like to hear. I'll be sure to let the restaurant know that you loved the trout, and thanks for any recommendations you can give. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

9 years ago my husband and I traveled to Livingstone MT to Yellowstone Valley Lodge, same name different owner. 7 years ago we returned to Yellowstone Valley Ranch, different owner. We just returned from the Yellowstone Valley Lodge, new owner. We keep coming back because it is that good. Rooms are simple and comfortable, with a small fridge. A deck with 2 Adirondack chairs overlooking the Yellowstone River, which sings you to sleep at night. Views of mountains and plains. Not far from Yellowstone Park it is an oasis of comfort. The staff is top notch. Every little thing was handled with ease. The restaurant, Yellowstone Valley Grill is beyond what most would expect from a location like this. Read my review, "dinner in Paradise". We go to fly fish and the fishing guide service is one of the best. The fly fishing in the area is spectacular. YVL is our choice in a destination vacation

Room Tip: leave the sliding door open to be lulled to sleep by the sounds of the river passing by
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you both. We're glad you decide to come back here every vacation for some great fishing. As usual, thank you for all your comments and suggestions. Looking forward to seeing you again next time you have the itch for some blue ribbon fishing. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed two night at this wonderful getaway in Paradise Valley. We loved our accommodations and the manager, Jim, was a peach. He was so helpful, friendly and accommodating. We spent hours on our deck looking for wildlife and watching the rafts float by.... We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoey0217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words. The private decks on all of our cabins is one of the best parts of our Lodge. People watching on the river is a great way to pass the time.
See you next time you're out this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent the last three days of our vacation at Yellowstone Valley Lodge. I can't say enough about the service and the accommodations. Jim, the manager, was excellent and helped in any way he could. The cabins were so comfortable with a well designed lay out. The beds were very comfortable. Listening to the river as you fall asleep is wonderful. The view is so nice and the private deck is the" frosting on the cake". The restaurant is first class. Breakfast is wonderful. Ben couldn't do anything more to make us feel at home. He is an awesome chef. The dinner was probably the best meal I have ever eaten. It was my birthday and I chose Marlin flown in from Hawaii in a green banana coconut curry sauce. Do not miss it. The chef knows how to make the curry mild but fantastic.I can't say enough about meal except. The chai tea crème brulee was the perfect ending. Keep up the good work, we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim A, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We'll be sure to let Ben know that you enjoyed his company and food, as well as the restaurant staff at dinner. The chai creme brulee is my favorite too (but you can't go wrong with the almond chiffon cake, yum!). We're glad you were able to join us this summer, and we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The cabins were neat and clean and the staff were very courteous and professional. We have travelled all over the world and the quality of food in the restaurant at Yellowstone is definitely World class. We drove down from Canada and had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim A, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
We're glad you were able to stay with us for your vacation. We always welcome our international guests. Thanks for coming to visit us, and stay with us again next time you're in the States!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingston hotels
15.6 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#3 of 10 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
14.6 mi away
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
#5 of 10 in Livingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
14.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#8 of 10 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
14.2 mi away
Super 8 Livingston
Super 8 Livingston
#4 of 10 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
14.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Livingston
Econo Lodge Livingston
#7 of 10 in Livingston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Valley Lodge

Property: Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Address: 3840 Highway 89 South, Livingston, MT 59047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Livingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowstone Valley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a small, off-the-beaten-path collection of contemporary cabins and one exceptional five-star gourmet restaurant, tucked along the banks of the Yellowstone River on a ranch style property in the Paradise Valley of Montana. Our passions: Falling asleep to the sound of the river (we've also got a weak spot for high-count linens, fly-fishing, and microbrews—you'll see.), anything locally grown (if Chef Marcos prepares it, it's good) and showing off Yellowstone National Park (and the Valley's other endless outdoor opportunities). With our local knowledge, upscale amenities, and taste for both fine food and outdoor adventure, we're a natural base for your Yellowstone-area experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yellowstone Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Valley Lodge Livingston, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing