We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and delicious food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The view couldn't get any better at the Yellowstone Valley Lodge. It was a short drive from either Livingston or Yellowstone and the hiking around the area (National Forests) was remarkable. At the grill I had Muddy Creek Ranch Burger with Going to the Sun IPA on draft and my wife had the Black Angus Tenderloin with wine. Both meals were delicious. One thing to note is that they do have pet friendly cabins and a nice walking path for a stroll or walking the dogs.

The only bad thing was the old heater that would kick on and off throughout the night.

Room Tip: The Cozy Cabins are doubled up (e.g. 1 and 2 are the same cabin, 3 and 4 are the same cabin, etc.).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron_Heckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

It's nice to know you enjoyed your view and the areas to explore around the Lodge. The path along the river does make a great place to take a stroll with your pets or without. Sorry that our heater was noisy, and hopefully we'll have some better ones next time you come out. Glad you enjoyed your meals, thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here on our recent visit to Yellowstone National Park. The cabins were very comfortable with a wonderful view. The biggest surprise was the wonderful restaurant. I had one of the best rib-eye steaks ever.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thanks for coming to visit us while you were on your vacation to Yellowstone. We also like the views and the great food at the Grill. Fall is a great time of year to come out this way, nice and quiet, and good colors on the trees. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I booked my 3 nights here through a deal at Travelzoo and was not disappointed. Even though weather was not ideal and Yellowstone was closed because of the idiots in Washington, there was still plenty to do. The YVL is centrally located to a number of other activities and was a great place to come "home" to after a day of exploring. Room was clean and quiet and the view was spectacular! I would definitely recommend to anyone coming to this area. I hope to return to try the fishing.

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure that all of the rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GranimalNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Sorry that you missed out on the Park being open, but it was nice to meet you and glad you were able to make it out anyway. We like the picture you took off of your cabin porch, too. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend getaway at the Yellowstone Valley Lodge. Each cozy cabin or house is located on the banks of the Yellowstone River in a stunning setting with a spectacular view of the Absaroka mountain range. The room was basic but very pleasant, modern and clean with comfortable beds, high speed wireless, fridge inside and outside ice cooler on private deck, coffee maker and ample toiletries. Actually, we requested one of their pet friendly rooms and simply paid a small deposit to have our dog in the room. If this pooch could review, he would giveYVL 5 stars. He especially liked the hiking loop on the lodge grounds along the river.The staff was warm and very accommodating. Jim, at the front desk, graciously loaned us a can of bear spray to use when we forgot to pack ours. The breakfast staff provided us with some excellent hiking suggestions. Our dinner was superb (try the super tasty lamb) and the waiter friendly and attentive. Unfortunately, too busy hiking to cast a line but we heard the fishing was good. Maybe next time. Many thanks to YVL staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mari9842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thanks for letting us know how we did. Glad you like your room and the tasty meal you had at the Grill. And you're pooch enjoyed things too it sounds like. Thanks again, come back and see us again and maybe you can fish then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Who can resist the charm of sleeping on the banks of an historic river? Add the view of fresh snow on the Absaroka mountains in the distance, and it's a Kodak moment. With exemplary service, this Lodge knows its niche as an upscale fly-fishing retreat. Alas, we are not fishermen, but were still satisfied with a location that allowed several unique drives on backcountry roads, plus an interview with a potential pack-trip outfitter who is permitted in the Absaroka-Beartooth Wilderness and YNP. Our well-maintained room was a cut above average, but easily hearing the people adjoining us was a downer. (We used the fan to mask the noise.) The restaurant takes pride in its impressive cuisine - my husband couldn't believe that fishermen ate that highfalutin! If you like watching rivers with a story to tell, check out the Grand Union Hotel in Fort Benton, MT, on the banks of the Missouri River.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teton-view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

It was nice to meet the both of you during your outfitter scouting trip. We love our riverside cabins and good cuisine. Sorry about the noise next door. Next time you come out this way come back as a rest stop before your backcountry trip. Next time I'm in the Tetons I'll stop by and see you. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed one night September 2013 during our road trip west, and wished we could have stayed longer. Lovely room along the river, excellent dinner, great breakfast and coffee - we couldn't have asked for anything more. A lovely send-off to our adventures in Yellowstone. Trust the reviews, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Each room has a wonderful location along the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfg_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thanks for coming to visit us on your trip to Yellowstone this September. We love our riverside rooms. Keep us in mind for your next adventure this way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband, twin brother and his wife were on a two week vacation visiting several National Parks during this time. Livingston was our last and best stop when it came to our accommodations. Everyone working for the Yellowstone Valley Lodge is friendly, helpful and informative. Our beds were comfortable,, the common area had more than enough room for four adults and the view from our deck was lovely and peaceful. We saved going to the restaurant until our last evening and the food was beyond delicious. The trout was the best I had ever eaten. We will highly recommend the lodge to friends and family who might be visiting the area and hope to return one day ourselves.

Room Tip: Please disregard the pool comment...I couldn't remove the terrible that came up so I put excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

I'm glad that you were able to enjoy our Absaroka Deluxe cabins, perfect for 2 couples. Thanks for voting us best accommodations on your National Parks tour, it's what we like to hear. I'll be sure to let the restaurant know that you loved the trout, and thanks for any recommendations you can give. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingston hotels
14.6 mi away
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
#4 of 10 in Livingston
415 reviews
15.6 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#1 of 10 in Livingston
222 reviews
14.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Livingston
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#5 of 10 in Livingston
96 reviews
14.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Livingston
Econo Lodge Livingston
#6 of 10 in Livingston
41 reviews
14.2 mi away
Super 8 Livingston
Super 8 Livingston
#7 of 10 in Livingston
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Valley Lodge

Address: 3840 Highway 89 South, Livingston, MT 59047
Region: United States > Montana > Livingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range: £107 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowstone Valley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a small, off-the-beaten-path collection of contemporary cabins and one exceptional five-star gourmet restaurant, tucked along the banks of the Yellowstone River on a ranch style property in the Paradise Valley of Montana. Our passions: Falling asleep to the sound of the river (we've also got a weak spot for high-count linens, fly-fishing, and microbrews—you'll see.), anything locally grown (if Chef Marcos prepares it, it's good) and showing off Yellowstone National Park (and the Valley's other endless outdoor opportunities). With our local knowledge, upscale amenities, and taste for both fine food and outdoor adventure, we're a natural base for your Yellowstone-area experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Yellowstone Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Valley Lodge Livingston, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing