We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another fantastic visit”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I'll admit up front that I'm quite jaded. I fish a few miles up the road and the YVL couldn't be anymore perfect for me(I've stayed on numerous occasions). The addition of the TV's is great. Marcos and the entire YVG staff are outstanding in both food and service. The very thoughtful wine list complements the food very well. I'll be back at least two more times this summer. Keep up the great work and thanks again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
It was nice to see you back again Dan. We know we're open when you come visit us. Thanks for the compliments, I'll make sure the staff at Yellowstone Valley Grill know that you like what they do so much. We'll see you in about a month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    41
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
57
92
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My fiance and I stopped here for a night during our Montana road trip to Yellowstone Park. The little cabin we stayed in was amazing. The views of the water were just like in the photo, and the rooms were spacious and clean. The rooms were a bit outdated, but the patio and lawn chairs made up for it. We sat, watching the river for hours!

The food was AMAZING. 10/10, 5-stars. If you go here, you must eat here too! Highly recommended overall.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review of our property, it's always nice to hear from folks who remember to write one some time after their stay. We agree, it makes for a good vacation to watch the river go by. Glad you were able to partake of our fabulous restaurant as well, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Although traffic sound from road ruins any feeling of really being in nature cabin.Patio is a nice feature,stars abound at night.
Cabin was VERY clean. High end linens on bed deserve a star alone.The area is nice. Walk to onsite restaurant not far but quite steep each way and handicappers may have issues, in which then you could drive and drop off and return vehicle to parking area near office.
The restaurant was not to be missed.The Chef was awesome. All the food tastes blended so smoothly and quietly on the tongue,it was a real treat to have a fine city dining experience in the middle of no where really. Who would have thought. :) For two people (ala carte menu) we had dinner salad which was out of this world, tenderloin steak, my husband had the smoked trout and we shared a dessert and the bill was $80.00( without alcohol) . Less pricier than ANY city restaurants of same caliber,so we were doubly impressed and will always stop in there for a meal when in the area.They had a GREAT selection of wines and cigars! Very impressive.
The only reason no five star is there are no tv's in cabins! Really missed as it was cold out,end of season and most things were closed to do at night.
The heaters in room are an annoyance.They turn on, gets room too warm, and it seemed never to have happy medium.The warmer light in bathroom was not working and beware hot water doesn't last too long either. If these two things wouldn't bother you ...go for it. As for us and the room, I have hesitations on staying again when chilly,yet will continue to patronize the restaurant for sure! Staff was accommodating and helpful.

Room Tip: cabins near office have better wifi connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank realist1Montana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your review, these are always very helpful to us. I apologize that the heaters were noisy and the hot water heater and fan was not working properly; I will look into these items. The TVs may take a bit more work, but we'll look into this, too!
I'm happy you were able to enjoy our restaurant, they do a great job there. Thank you for your kind words. We hope you can make it out again when we reopen in the Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Short trip from Yellowstone; near charming Chico Hot Springs. Beware restaurant is closed on Monday and in Oct, also Tues. We were disappointed not to get to eat there. Cold breakfast was quite good altho they do not serve herbal tea which was disappointing. Sitting on the cabin deck, listening to the Yellowstone made up for food issues. Be sure to drive the historic Trail Creek Rd to or from Bozeman. Beautiful.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you want kitchen facilities. Small cabins have no tv and only a small fridge; no micro
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanAnne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thanks for coming to stay with us at the end of our season. Sorry you weren't able to dine at our restaurant and we did not have the appropriate tea available. We're glad you had a good time at our cabins and thanks for your comments! We hope you can make it this way again and stay with us in the Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The view couldn't get any better at the Yellowstone Valley Lodge. It was a short drive from either Livingston or Yellowstone and the hiking around the area (National Forests) was remarkable. At the grill I had Muddy Creek Ranch Burger with Going to the Sun IPA on draft and my wife had the Black Angus Tenderloin with wine. Both meals were delicious. One thing to note is that they do have pet friendly cabins and a nice walking path for a stroll or walking the dogs.

The only bad thing was the old heater that would kick on and off throughout the night.

Room Tip: The Cozy Cabins are doubled up (e.g. 1 and 2 are the same cabin, 3 and 4 are the same cabin, etc.).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron_Heckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
It's nice to know you enjoyed your view and the areas to explore around the Lodge. The path along the river does make a great place to take a stroll with your pets or without. Sorry that our heater was noisy, and hopefully we'll have some better ones next time you come out. Glad you enjoyed your meals, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We stayed here on our recent visit to Yellowstone National Park. The cabins were very comfortable with a wonderful view. The biggest surprise was the wonderful restaurant. I had one of the best rib-eye steaks ever.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thanks for coming to visit us while you were on your vacation to Yellowstone. We also like the views and the great food at the Grill. Fall is a great time of year to come out this way, nice and quiet, and good colors on the trees. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I booked my 3 nights here through a deal at Travelzoo and was not disappointed. Even though weather was not ideal and Yellowstone was closed because of the idiots in Washington, there was still plenty to do. The YVL is centrally located to a number of other activities and was a great place to come "home" to after a day of exploring. Room was clean and quiet and the view was spectacular! I would definitely recommend to anyone coming to this area. I hope to return to try the fishing.

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure that all of the rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GranimalNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Sorry that you missed out on the Park being open, but it was nice to meet you and glad you were able to make it out anyway. We like the picture you took off of your cabin porch, too. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingston hotels
15.6 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#2 of 10 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
14.6 mi away
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
#6 of 10 in Livingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
14.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#7 of 10 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
14.2 mi away
Super 8 Livingston
Super 8 Livingston
#5 of 10 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
14.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Livingston
Econo Lodge Livingston
#4 of 10 in Livingston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Valley Lodge

Property: Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Address: 3840 Highway 89 South, Livingston, MT 59047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Livingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowstone Valley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a small, off-the-beaten-path collection of contemporary cabins and one exceptional five-star gourmet restaurant, tucked along the banks of the Yellowstone River on a ranch style property in the Paradise Valley of Montana. Our passions: Falling asleep to the sound of the river (we've also got a weak spot for high-count linens, fly-fishing, and microbrews—you'll see.), anything locally grown (if Chef Marcos prepares it, it's good) and showing off Yellowstone National Park (and the Valley's other endless outdoor opportunities). With our local knowledge, upscale amenities, and taste for both fine food and outdoor adventure, we're a natural base for your Yellowstone-area experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Yellowstone Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Valley Lodge Livingston, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing