We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1,069 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
“Very happy with our stay!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

After spending the day at Yellowstone, we headed north & spent 2 nights here to decompress from a week of being on the road. Setting was beautiful, staff very helpful, food excellent. 2 gas firepits with lots of seating.

Room was very comfortable. Nice patio facing the river.

Breakfast was yummy --- homemade quiche both mornings! We recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rollngstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We appreciate your kind words! We do like to have our place be a good retreat during sometimes busy vacations. I'll be sure to let the staff know that you enjoyed breakfast and dinner, and I'm glad you were able to relax by the firepit too. Hope to see you back here the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    41
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
58
93
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
utah
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This place is fifteen miles from Livingston. It is a beautiful place along the river with a patio on the room that overlooks the river. The rooms were clean and the surroundings were quiet. They have a restaurant on premises but you need a reservation. We are glad we stayed here. The person that checked us in was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tba57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks for coming to stay with us on your summer vacation, and we're glad you enjoyed it. We like the fact that it's a quiet spot too, and you can't go wrong with sitting on your back porch by the river! Hope to see you again next time and we can have you for dinner too. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I really enjoyed my time here. I'm sure my blood pressure dropped just from the sound of the river! But take your own water, wine, snacks. No room service, no late night snacks. It's a basic cabin, ideal if you go prepared. A great location under the big sky.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. The views of the Yellowstone river are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thanks for coming to stay with us! Sorry we didn't have anything for you later in the evening, I'm sure we can round up something the next time you're here. We love the location and the rolling Yellowstone River too!
Glad you could join us, hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandria, LA
Level Contributor
229 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Family and friends trip to Yellowstone. Book well in advance! Our friends able to book a 2 bedroom cabin with kitchen. It was lovely! We had a room with 2 queens like traditional hotel room. It was clean. Best feature-porch overlooks Yellowstone River. 2 Adirondack chairs to sit and enjoy. Kids loved playing cards in the lodge. Leather sofas and lots of fishing books. Also enjoyed relaxing in their enos by the river. Lovely place would definitely stay again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelingcircus38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thanks for coming out this way guys. Sounds like you all had fun, and thanks for the compliments. We like the back porches on our cabins too. Next time we hope we can have you for longer than just the one night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville TN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great view of the river from r lodge. It had a nice porch area. However the rooms were small and the air conditioner was about the size of two bricks. It was very small and took a while to cool of the room, but we did find a plug in fan in the room so that helped cool us off. There r a lot of bugs outside so I would recommend taking bug spray. Overall a pretty good stay. There was also a great lodge area. With couches, a computer, and printer, a flat screen tv and a microwave. I spent most of my time in there. But it wasn't air / conditioned so VERY HOT. But there was a fan so that helped some. I might stay again. It was pretty nice. Breakfast wasn't great but the dinning area was great and overlooked the river. There was also a nice fire pit area. Pretty nice stay I dk if I would stay again. Maybe I dk.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oceanwaves108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your response. We're glad you enjoyed your stay overall, we do have an excellent location. I apologize that the air conditioner wasn't great, it can quite warm here in the summertime as well as pretty busy with the various hatches over the summer too!
Thanks again for your input, please consider us for your next vacation this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
269 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed two nights here during our tour of the area. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Our cabin/bungalow was just yards from the Yellowstone River. The room was adequate with a great view. It was quiet and peaceful and clean, if a little rustic. Just what one would expect in this part of the country. Breakfast was included and we ate in the restaurant two nights. The food and service were top notch, good as you could find anywhere, much less way out there. The second night we ate out on the veranda overlooking the beautiful valley and river. It was a little distance from most anywhere, but the drive was worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandmanjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for coming and staying with us on your vacation.

It's certainly hard to beat the views from the patio and restaurant and we are happy to hear you enjoyed them. If you have a chance to return to Montana in the Fall, it's worth it to see the colors change, and we'd be delighted to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We loved every minute of our 4 night stay at Yellowstone Valley Lodge! Our cozy cabin was perched above the beautiful Yellowstone River, which was full with the spring run-off. The wonderful staff were so friendly and helpful. I knew they would take care of anything we needed. The cabin was comfortable and equipped with a small refrigerator and a TV. We especially liked the sound of the river, walks around the grounds, the amazing dinner at the grill, the delicious breakfast every morning (which one day included a spinach quiche and another day included made-to-order waffles) and the opportunity to watch a family of great horned owls.
Dinner at the grill was great, but there are also other places to eat in Livingston and in Gardiner. Yellowstone's north entrance is a short drive away. I recommend Yellowstone Valley Lodge as a wonderful place to stay. We stayed in May and took advantage of a great deal from Travelzoo. We hope to go back again!

Room Tip: The view from our cozy cabin was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVLodge, General Manager at Yellowstone Valley Lodge, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thanks for coming out guys. You came at a great time of year, and it was nice to see people walking over the grounds every day. Glad you enjoyed your meals here too, we always appreciate the feedback. And we'll try and give you updates on the owl family as time goes on. Hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingston hotels
15.6 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#2 of 10 in Livingston
209 reviews
14.6 mi away
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
#6 of 10 in Livingston
365 reviews
14.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Livingston
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#5 of 10 in Livingston
45 reviews
14.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Livingston
Econo Lodge Livingston
#4 of 10 in Livingston
19 reviews
14.2 mi away
Super 8 Livingston
Super 8 Livingston
#7 of 10 in Livingston
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Valley Lodge

Property: Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Address: 3840 Highway 89 South, Livingston, MT 59047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Livingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowstone Valley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a small, off-the-beaten-path collection of contemporary cabins and one exceptional five-star gourmet restaurant, tucked along the banks of the Yellowstone River on a ranch style property in the Paradise Valley of Montana. Our passions: Falling asleep to the sound of the river (we've also got a weak spot for high-count linens, fly-fishing, and microbrews—you'll see.), anything locally grown (if Chef Marcos prepares it, it's good) and showing off Yellowstone National Park (and the Valley's other endless outdoor opportunities). With our local knowledge, upscale amenities, and taste for both fine food and outdoor adventure, we're a natural base for your Yellowstone-area experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Yellowstone Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Valley Lodge Livingston, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing