We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The lobby, elevator & halls were all smelly (mostly smoke & must) dingy & dirty. We had room 217. The toilet was dirty, the vent fan was dirty & didn't work. The refrigerator was not plugged in & didn't cool when it was. The room was small (a bed about 2 feet from the AC) & noisy. The noise from other bathrooms was so loud it woke me up. Also, this room's window looked right onto the rooftop mechanicals & pools of moldy water. The noise from these was very loud (window closed). None of these were easy fixes so we did not bother to contact the staff (who were OK but did not inspire confidence). I have contacted Best Western but received only a "sorry" email reply. On the plus side the beds were clean & comfortable.
This place is a disgrace & even after 2 previous good experiences, i am finished with Best Western because they did not follow up on this complaint. Really, this is one time I would say a refund is due.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaki13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    107
    83
    50
    26
See reviews for
159
95
21
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Every time someone walked in adjoining room our bed shook, at first we thought it was an earthquake. Something is definitely wrong with the floor joists. We could also clearly hear the conversation in next room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kaylene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Livingston hotels

Kalispell,, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Your check in staff was not helpful or friendly and the head guy did not want to help at all. If I would not had had my confirmation number I would not have had a room because the young lady at the desk did not know what she was doing and was not happy at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Emile K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckeye
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel due to availability options close to Yellowstone National Park. PROS for this hotel - 1) One of the most comfortable beds I've slept in at a hotel. 2) Room was clean. CONS: 1) I had a cold shower the first morning - no hot water. 3rd morning water went from cold to scalding hot throughout shower. 2) We did not receive maid service at all on our 2nd day- had to go to front desk to request towels, soap, garbage bags, etc. 3) Breakfast was sub-par for a Best Western. Eggs were tasteless and chewy. Pancakes were dry. Waffles were burnt (they pre-prepared all hot breakfast items).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missoula, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

nice staff. filthy rooms. i spent almost an hour cleaning the bathroom so my grandson could take a bath. every time i thought i was done i kept finding someone's long black hair stuck to something else in there. the pool was awesome. they have a nice lounge with a pool table that they didn't tell us about, so we didn't get to try it out. the cleaning and breakfast staff need to be trained or replace. i had read this on tripadvisor before i made my reservation. you will be fine if you bring your own clorox wipes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank lyndaj738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havre, mt
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The front desk staff was the best part of the stay. The place is dirty, the bathrooms in the rooms are dirty, and I stayed four nights and got towels only one of the days. They did not touch the bed nor try to clean the bathroom sink even. A lot of other people had cold showers every morning. Mine was hot but sometimes went to scolding hot. The floors were dirty and the hallways were dirty. Some renovation and painting is going on so they are trying but have a long ways to go. Walls are paper thin - you can hear every word said in the next room - especially early in the mornings and at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vigs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was an excellent choice. The inn is located 55 miles from the North Entrance of Yellowstone. The inn was very comfortable. The breakfast was good and varied. The restaurant and bar both were great. The pool stole my heart. It is 9 foot at the deepest and warm, the way the pool was enclosed almost made it a greenhouse. The service was beyond excellent. They take customer service so seriously, not just the desk staff but everyone. Yes, I will plan on staying again.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside if you have children. Third floor rooms are quieter and more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene5354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#6 of 10 in Livingston
69 reviews
14.6 mi away
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
#3 of 10 in Livingston
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Livingston
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#2 of 10 in Livingston
214 reviews
24.3 mi away
MountainView Lodge & Suites
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Livingston
Econo Lodge Livingston
#4 of 10 in Livingston
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge

Property: Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
Address: 1515 W Park St, Livingston, MT 59047-3840 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yellowstone Hotel Livingston
Best Western Livingston
Livingston Best Western
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge Livingston, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing