We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel staff were unfriendly and un helpful. We stood in lobby for at least five minutes- Twice staff were outside smoking when people were waiting for the front desk help. Although the location is nice the service and staff make this hotel a hotel we will never stay at again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank SidnJackieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alli S, Guest Relations Manager at Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experiences you had during your recent stay with us.

Our staff does their very best to accommodate each of our guests so it is very unusual that they were not helpful to you, and for that I must apologize. We are pleased to inform you that we are under new management and will be undergoing some major renovations in the near future. Some of those things include new carpeting, a new roof, freshly painted walls, and renovated rooms.

Again, please accept our sincerest apologies. We hope that knowing we are working to improve our property, you will feel encouraged to return!

Sincerely,
Alli
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

The rooms were clean the beds were comfortable. Didn't get to use the pool. Breakfast was ok. Wish it was a little closer to Yellowstone but you couldn't beat the price. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the area and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kimberly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alli S, Guest Relations Manager at Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Kimberly,

We are pleased to hear that our staff were able your needs! Our staff is known to be friendly and helpful when it comes to taking care of our guests.

We are always looking for ways to improve our guests experience and we would like to thank you for taking time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us! We would like to let you know that we are under new management and are currently renovating our property with things like a new roof, new carpet, repainting the walls, and reworking our rooms so that our guests feel more relaxed and comfortable!

Thank you again for sharing your comments and concerns, as it is of high importance to know what our guests think. We would like for you to return for a visit in the near future once all of our renovations are complete and let us know what you think of all the changes!

Sincerely,
Alli
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel after leaving Yellowstone and our family of 4 found that it was very comfortable and clean. We loved that it had a parking garage (if you get there early enough to get a spot) and the kids loved the pool. The hotel staff was very friendly and this hotel had a wonderful breakfast. This was one of the best night's sleep I had our whole vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisJr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alli S, Guest Relations Manager at Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Dennis,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Our parking garage is a big plus for our guests, especially during the storm season. We are happy that your children were able to swim in our pool as well and that you enjoyed the many hot and cold options for breakfast. Our staff is well known to be helpful and friendly. We are currently under new management and are undergoing some big renovations. Some renovations include new carpeting, freshly painted walls, renovated rooms, and a new roof!

Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest opinion regarding your recent stay. We value each and every one of our guests opinions! We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Alli
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have stayed at this motel in years past and found it to be excellent. This time it seemed noisy and somewhat unclean to us. We were not happy, and will not stay there again. And it was expensive also.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alli S, Guest Relations Manager at Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Jan,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for not making your recent stay a more pleasant one.

We are under new management and are currently in the process of renovating our property. Some of the things currently undergoing this renovation include a new roof which was damaged by recent storms causing internal damage to painted walls and carpets, both of which are also being worked on with new paint and replaced carpet. Our cleaning staff is small, but expanding, which makes cleaning each room difficult, however, training each housekeeper properly will remedy this issue.

We would like to thank you for taking time to give us a bit of feedback regarding your recent stay, as it allows us the opportunity to improve in areas needing attention. Again, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences, but we hope you will return once we complete our large renovations at the property!

Sincerely,
Alli
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel was very close to the Interstate highway which made the one over night convenient. We found the food very good, the hotel was clean and the staff very helpful. We would stay at your hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We arrived after 7 pm and overheard other guests saying their rooms weren't ready. Two were on their 3rd attempt to get a room that was ready or acceptable.

We got our room assignment, then got our stuff and headed to our room - only to find that there was a "do not disturb" sign on the door. We certainly weren't going to find out if there was someone in the room assigned to us. We weren't interested in that room anyway, the room two doors down had a dog that barked constantly and the hallway smelled like marijuana.
The front desk politely provided us with another room. When we got there, they were still finishing making it up - towels were all that were missing.

The carpet throughout looked as though areas with stains had been replaced. The halls smelled musty. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. We did not get a fridge or microwave as we had requested, but at that point we were happy to have a clean room, away from a barking dog and the smell of pot. The walls and ceilings are paper thin. Don't discuss anything confidential in your room if you don't want your neighbors to hear it.

The next morning when we checked out, the desk clerk was speaking with another guest about how difficult the previous day had been. She told the guest that the problem starts when people arrive before the designated check in time; then the housekeeping staff has to adjust their routine to get the room ready which sets the whole schedule off. Here's my advice on that: if check in time isn't until 4 pm, don't give rooms out prior to then if they aren't ready. Traveler's need to understand that hotel staff needs time to do their jobs and to not expect ready rooms prior to check in time. The hotel needs to adhere to that - rather than making themselves miserable and making for unhappy guests.

Bottom line - stay away from this hotel until you see reviews that say how awesome this place is. The management needs to improve not only their services but the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, ask for a room on the top floor so at least you don't have to hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The lobby, elevator & halls were all smelly (mostly smoke & must) dingy & dirty. We had room 217. The toilet was dirty, the vent fan was dirty & didn't work. The refrigerator was not plugged in & didn't cool when it was. The room was small (a bed about 2 feet from the AC) & noisy. The noise from other bathrooms was so loud it woke me up. Also, this room's window looked right onto the rooftop mechanicals & pools of moldy water. The noise from these was very loud (window closed). None of these were easy fixes so we did not bother to contact the staff (who were OK but did not inspire confidence). I have contacted Best Western but received only a "sorry" email reply. On the plus side the beds were clean & comfortable.
This place is a disgrace & even after 2 previous good experiences, i am finished with Best Western because they did not follow up on this complaint. Really, this is one time I would say a refund is due.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaki13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingston hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#4 of 10 in Livingston
90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#2 of 10 in Livingston
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Livingston
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
#3 of 10 in Livingston
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Livingston
Econo Lodge Livingston
#7 of 10 in Livingston
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Livingston Inn Motel
Livingston Inn Motel
#1 of 10 in Livingston
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge

Address: 1515 W Park St, Livingston, MT 59047-3840 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range: £55 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yellowstone Hotel Livingston
Best Western Livingston
Livingston Best Western
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge Livingston, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing