We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was fine” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Was fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was a fine hotel, not the usual standards of Best Western but not terrible. The staff at breakfast the second day were very sweet and helpful. We didn't use the poor but it looked nice. Found the sound proofing not the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JoyMarieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    94
    75
    48
    25
See reviews for
138
90
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Don't waste your time, look further. Hotel is old and musty. Not very clean. There are many options available in the little town and surrounding towns - This hotel definitely does not meet the normal Best Western Standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank TexasToot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was just so-so. Usually Best Westerns are a safe bet to stay in and reasonably priced. Though having a clean room it wasn't worth the $161 we paid for the night.
I'll start off with the positives. The most to recommend this hotel is its reception staff. They were fantastic! Super friendly and helpful. We arrived very late after a day at Yellowstone and didnt have reservations and lucked out getting a room. The woman that checked us in was super nice amd tried to find us the best rate with AAA. The same can be said about the man that checked us out. Very friendly and nice.

Now for the not so great parts. We had tried calling before we arrived but couldn't get through so we chanced it and did get a room. When we got our room we went upstairs and found the 3rd floor to all be in a state of remodeling. There were wires hanging out of fictures and the walls in some stage of painting, priming or removal of something. Then we got to our room to find the door open. It was a bit disconcerting and couldnt tell if someone had been in it or not. Scared my kids but the very nice lady at the front desk quickly moved us to another room.
The other room though clean, needed updating like the rest of the hotel. I am sure this is in the remodeling plans.
The next morning we went down to the complimentary breakfast to find it a bit meager and lacking and the lady that was in charge of it not too friendly to almost rude. She reprimanded both my husband and I (on two separate occasions) when we went to put out dirty dishes in the bin behind the breakfast area that we didn't know was off limits until she told us rather rudely. We also saw another family ask her a question where something was at only to be ignored or forgotten. They seemed irritated but luckily found for themselves where it was located. The cereal was ok but the rest of the breakfast could have been better, a few more selections and a bit more appealing.
Of the hotels we stayed at on this 11 day trip this was just so-so but if I had to rate it by cost to value it would almost be at the bottom. Though a clean room is #1 on my list when I stay at a hotel for the 9 hrs we were there just sleeping and eating a paltry breakfast the cost was a bit high.
Hopefully with the renovations, changes to the breakfast should also be in order. But be sure to not change the very nice and helpful people at the front desk. They are this hotel's best asset!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Excellent staff at front desk. Amanda was very helpful making sure we were comfortable during our stay. We will definitely be coming back again. Great hotel for the price. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The pool was very nice and relaxing. Over all the stay was wonderful. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erinebbbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alli S, Guest Relations Manager at Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are excited to know that you appreciate our staff as much as we do! They are incredibly helpful and friendly and we are proud to know they provided nothing less than the best service for you during your recent stay!

Please also take note that we are under new management and are currently working to renovate the property to make your next stay even better than the first! We will be replacing the carpet, repainting all of the walls, renovating the rooms, and replacing the roof!

With all of these changes, we hope when you return, you will be even more impressed and satisfied with your stay as you were with this past stay! Thank you so very much for the positive review and for the time you took to give us feedback! We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Alli
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

It was very hard to reach this hotel's reservations desk by telephone. However, once I arrived, the room was ready, the staff was very helpful and the parking garage was a big plus. The location is excellent, near the freeway and downtown. The bar tender was very helpful and encouraged us to have dinner in the dining room. The ribs I had were excellent, but the potatoes were under-cooked.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Weldon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanna V, Guest Relations Manager at Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Weldon,

We would like to apologize for the difficulty in trying to reach our front desk. At times when they are checking in guests, it becomes hard to answer the phone, however, this issue has been brought to the managers attention and a solution has already been implemented.

Despite the phone issue, we are very happy to hear your stay was pleasant. It is first and foremost our goal to make sure each guest leaves pleased! We provide a parking garage for the convenience during storms, as we know they do some damage at times! Also, our staff is always willing to help where they can, as they are commonly recognized for being helpful and friendly!

Currently, we are in the process of renovating the entirety of the hotel. Some of the things that are being renovated include each of the guest rooms, painting the walls, replacing the carpet, and repairing the roof which was damaged during this past storm season leading to our walls and carpets being damaged as well.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a few comments regarding your recent stay, we always appreciate the feedback from each of our guests! We hope that since you enjoyed your last stay with us, that you will be returning again in the future next time you are in the area!

Sincerely,
Alli
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I booked this hotel because of its proximity to Yellowstone N.P. and the trust I had in the Best Western brand - what a mistake I made!
Yes, the proximity to the N.P. was perfect but what we experienced during our two day stay adversely affected our view of the Best Western brand and negatively influenced our enjoyment of that part of our holiday.
The bathroom was dirty, particularly around the toilet bowl and bath rim and appeared not to have been properly cleaned for some time.
The plumbing in the bathroom areas were extremely noisy, which meant that the noise created by anyone showering or flushing the toilet in an adjoining room or above was shared by us. In fact the flushing of a toilet was similar in sound to a muffled jet engine.
The soundproofing of our bedroom was inferior as the disturbance caused by occupants of the room above simply walking around (not being boisterous) and the ice machine which was further down the hallway was extreme, so much so that our rest was badly affected.
Extremely inadequate breakfast on the second day of our stay - first day was fine.
General appearance of the hotel was one of being "tired" as, in places it needed redecorating/refurbishment or simply just smartening up.

Collectively, these issues were bad BUT what made it worse for me was that the manager has not responded to my numerous attempts to communicate with him. This has been personally, via several emails and lastly via the Best Western Customer Care Department.
Each attempt (even via B.W.) has met with no response, which I consider to be most ignorant and perhaps indicative of his attitude towards customer care and satisfaction. It leaves me with the feeling that feedback of any description is not important to him and will not cause any improvements to be made to his premises. I would certainly not recommend anyone to stay there.
I will point out a positive though and that was that I found the Reception staff and Breakfast Room staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Forget it - my "special request" was for a room in a quiet area but it was totally ignor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanna V, Guest Relations Manager at Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Bernard,

First, I would like to apologize for the delayed response to your concerns. We in no way want you to think that your issues and concerns are not important to us!

Regarding your concerns, please accept our sincerest apologies for not meeting your standards for Best Western. It is incredibly essential that we make every guest comfortable and satisfied during their stay. We were greatly effected by a recent season of big storms and our hotel took some detrimental damage, which we are currently working to fix. As far as breakfast, our staff works hard to provide a fully stocked breakfast for each of our guests which may include pancakes, sausage, oatmeal, and assorted cereals. It is unfortunate that you were not able to enjoy your breakfast! We are in the process of renovating the property, ranging from things like a new roof to new carpet and everything in between.

We would like to thank you for giving us honest feedback of your recent stay. No matter if it is positive or not, we can always improve. Lastly, we hope that, as a loyal guest to our Best Western brand, you will see our efforts in improvements and give us another try in the near future, as it is guests such as yourself that keep us going.

Sincerely,
Alli
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Was hotel #9 of a 9 day driving vacation through the west. Wasn't the worst but was 2nd worst we stayed at. But the room itself was clean. Hotel itself is extremely dated and dirty. Looks like they were working on something in the lobby but they sure need to work EVERWHERE in the place. Only plus for us was they were kind enough to let us swim past pool closing...we'd been on the road for almost 13 hours...that was beyond nice to let us use the pool. Outside that I wouldn't go back.

And really...what business do you know that serves burnt food at their breakfast buffett. I'm talking all but 4 pancakes & they had to start over with a pan of bacon because it got so burnt! Find a new cook!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alli S, Guest Relations Manager at Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Heidi,

I would like to extend my sincerest apologies to you for your recent experiences during your last stay.

I am happy to inform you that we are currently in the process of renovating our property and are under new management. Some of our major renovations will include new carpeting, freshly painted walls, renovated guest rooms, and a new roof which was severely damaged in the recent storm season. This also effected our walls and carpets. Also, our staff is indeed kind and helpful, so I am glad they were able to accommodate your needs once you checked in.

Thank you for taking time to share your comments and concerns regarding your last stay with us. We would, again, like to apologize for the inconveniences during your time with us. We hope that knowing our plans for change, you will be encouraged to return to for another visit!

Sincerely,
Alli
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingston hotels
1.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#3 of 10 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
14.6 mi away
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
Yellowstone Valley Lodge
#1 of 10 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#8 of 10 in Livingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Livingston
Super 8 Livingston
#4 of 10 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Livingston
Quality Inn Livingston
#7 of 10 in Livingston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge

Property: Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge
Address: 1515 W Park St, Livingston, MT 59047-3840 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yellowstone Hotel Livingston
Best Western Livingston
Livingston Best Western
Yellowstone Pioneer Lodge Livingston, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing