We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secure Parking”
Review of Great Northern

Great Northern
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Malta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Great Northern
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Malta
Reviewed 10 July 2012

If you have to spend the night in Malta then make sure to stay here. The place is adequate enough and of good value. If you don't mind driving another hour and if it's on your route you'd be better served sleeping in Glasgow at the Cottonwood in their newer building full of suite rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank granitepeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Great Northern
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

The rooms were very spacious and clean. My room was street level, and right next to the street so I had to be sure to close the drapes at night. The attached restaurant was very nice though fairly expensive. The special of the day was a good deal (short ribs of beef). It was easy walking distance to the post office, train station and several local restaurants and bars. They watched my bags for a few hours after check out so that I could tour the nearby Great Plains Dinosaur Museum and the Phillips County Museum. Both were outstanding and very well done. A vey good choice if you find yourself in Malta.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on second floor or not facing the street
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bpl888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I pulled into Malta late on a Thursday night not expecting much. I mostly just wanted to be able to get a hot meal and some sleep in a clean bed before having to hit the road again early in the morning. I was pleasantly surprised by the Great Northern. From the street and even the lobby, it looks dated. Clean, but dated. My room was a pleasant surprise. I could tell it had been recently renovated, and although the decor might have been a little too girly for some, I actually really appreciated a break from generic hotel rooms. The bed was very comfy, and they had reliable wireless (not always a guarantee on Montana's Hi-Line). Plus the restaurant served the full dinner menu until at least 9 pm, along with stiff drinks, which I definitely appreciated after a long drive. One last nice little bonus was the underground off-street parking garage. Friday morning, I woke up to 29 degrees (yes, in early October), but didn't have to scrape frost off my window. I can see the parking being a real plus on a cold Montana winter night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank stlawraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Had a nice stay. Not fancy but clean and affordable. Friendly staff (Hi T-Bone) good cafe. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenaTiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

If you need a place to stay on this part of the Hiline (US 2 across Montana, just south of Canada), the Great Northern is a pretty good option. (Havre to the west and Glasgow to the east are big enough to have more standard motels, but they’re not that close.) It looks kind of bunker-like in Malta’s tiny downtown (which is probably a good thing in the Montana winter). Has indoor parking (also for the Montana winter). The rooms are clean and comfortable; mine, at least, was kind of girlie in the décor (see photo). One downside: from the indoor parking, you have to schlep your stuff up one narrow staircase to the lobby, and then up another half-flight of stairs to the first-floor rooms.

The lobby is tiny and the front desk staff and restaurant staff seem to be all big buddies, wandering in and out of each other’s domains (meaning there may be nobody at the front desk because she’s in the kitchen).

Restaurant was fine in a down-to-earth way. I had the walleye, which was delicious but HUGE. (Waitress promised that my leftovers would go to a deserving cat.) Salad was very ordinary, but you also got a “relish tray” with a few olives and celery sticks and such – very 1950s. Wait staff were very nice. Limited wine selection but cheap and big glasses!

The café for breakfast was also basic and good. Most other patrons seemed to be locals and of course everybody knew everybody.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank FoodieOnAHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Recommended if you want a comfortable place to stay. Very clean. Not deluxe, but the price means the value is excellent.
We were on our motorbikes and happy to have good secure underground parking.
The hotel is on the main street of town, which is off the main highway, and therefore away from the railway and highway noise.
The original hotel was mostly lost in a fire, so the owners built this replacement in the '70's, and the architecture reflects that.
We had a very good dinner in the restaurant, and a good breakfast in the cafe (not included in room rate.)
Was surprised to have no shampoo in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svbreila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The room was big and clean. I agree with everything in the review dated July 2010. There aren't many options in Malta and we were glad we chose this one. Bring your own shampoo!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Jmh410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Great Northern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern

Address: Second South First Ave. East, Malta, MT 59538
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Malta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Malta
Price Range: £30 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Great Northern Malta, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing