We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bonanza Creek Guest Ranch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bonanza Creek Guest Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Martinsdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bonanza Creek Guest Ranch
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bonanza Creek Guest Ranch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

My family just spent the most wonderful and exciting week at this ranch! You can absolutely not beat the views of the scenic wide open spaces of Montana. The quality of the horses is exceptional and the beauty and excitement of the rides unique. If you enjoy fast and long rides, which are not as commonly offered at other guest ranches (have been to six others), this place is for you. Working the cattle was a bonus for us! In addition the cabin was fantastic, the staff super friendly, respectful, fun, professional and very helpful. The food was great too, so what else can you ask for? I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudolf J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
15
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Yehoshua, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

When you're entering the guest lodge you see the sign "welcome to god's country", after a week I can say they were right. The cabin, the food, the horses, the view and most of all the hospitality.
This is a vacation you'll never forget.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sul29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Our apprehension as novice riders soon dissolved in the expert care of the wranglers and the wonderful horses. The whole experience exceeded our dreams being entranced by wonderful scenery in the mountains of Montana and greeted with warmth by June, the owner, and the three friendly border collies. The lodge and the cabins were superb and fitted well with our visions of a cowboy/girl ranch. There was plenty of quiet and privacy after the days exertions were over in the well appointed cabin. The cooking and food was superb and plentiful which was good in the clear mountain air. The riding was excellent and varied with a small group choosing to go at whichever pace suited. The cattlework was also very exciting and interesting which also added to the variety. Our wranglers were very kind and patient to us especially as we had not ridden very much before. We were allocated horses to suit us out of the forty or so available which also means the horses are fresh and can be changed if for some reason the fit between rider and horse does not work first time. For the meals we eat as a group including the wranglers which gave us chance to ask questions , review the day and to talk about tomorrow. Our group comprised three Swedish people, two americans and us two which was a nice mix and helped the week to flow. June and David provided a holiday to cherish the rest of our lives. We definitely want to go again -soon

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigAl39186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Took my granddaughter who is 12 years old for a week at Bonanza Creek and had the best time and experience with the horses, riding, the accommodations. We loved it because we wanted to ride every day [all day if we could]. Dave and June are the nicest hosts and the wranglers were exceptional as well. We really enjoyed the other guests and will treasure our time spent there. A special treat was Jill who did the cooking and Karen and Katy - great food. The solar energy is a downside as far as I'm concerned when you're running a business, but it was part of the experience and we survived.

Room Tip: All of the cabins are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

It is rare to visit a place and find that it exceeds your expectations - BCR was one such experience for me. I had a GREAT time. I don't even know where to start with my praise. June (the owner), the wranglers, the cook, the rest of the staff, the ranch dogs, and the horses were all wonderful. The scenery is absolutely stunning. And being so far away from the "real world" with no TV or cell reception was a welcome change. The horses are top notch -- they are well cared for, have plenty of go, and are sure-footed even in the most rugged terrain. I think they make a real effort to to find good rider/horse combos and are happy to switch your horse if the fit isn't right. There are many more horses than guests, so they always have options. The food was delicious and they were very gracious in accommodating my dietary restrictions (I don't eat meat). It was nice sitting down family style for meals and June was with us at almost every meal. She and her husband David are lovely people. It really felt more like you were visiting someone's home than a guest ranch. The rides were great. I am a competitive hunter/jumper rider and was not sure what to expect. I went during the advanced riders week and I was not disappointed! The cattle drives were lots of fun, as was the team penning. I really enjoyed the other guests I met there as well -- they were all very nice. By the way, I went by myself and it is a perfect vacation to do alone, with friends, or with a significant other. Whatever the case may be, you will be made to feel welcome. It was a really special week and I was so very sad to leave. I will definitely be going back! It is very unfortunate that there is one negative review of BCR because it is flat out not true. I read the review before I went and I am SO glad that I disregarded it. The numbers speak for themselves -- when 99% of the reviewers have good things to say and there is just one bad review -- I think it is pretty obvious this is a disgruntled guest who is absolutely the exception.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostersund, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

The most wonderful time ever, delicious food, great horses, lovely people and of course breathtaking scenary. Restful place to recover from our stress in the city. Wildlife near your lodging. Wonderful for walking, rinding and probably could go fishing nearby. Quite close to nice cities as Helena and Bozeman for shopping - if You'd like to take a day off.

Will be back for sure!!! Returned back home in total peace of mind!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

If you are looking for: some awesome sceneries, good quality horses, nice and clean lodging, friendly and welcoming staff, excellent food, on a small scale (maximum 8-12 guests per week) your best choice is Bonanza Creek Ranch.
We stayed there beginning of september 2011, we had nice warm wheather (which is not always the case in september). The wranglers Jenn and Cassie were very helpfull and a lot of fun too. June and David, the owners, are warm people with an open mind and an open heart! The first day they picked out a horse for you based on the form you fill out in advance, so be honest in what you write on it, no need to write you're an excellent rider that can handle any horse, when that is not the truth, they have 40 horses to choose from. They have younger, faster, "friskier" horses for those who love that, but they also have older, steadier horses for those who prefer that, so be honest and the horse they pick out for you will be the perfect match. If on the first day you don't feel like it is, you can honestly tell them and they'll give you another horse based on your comments. The rides vary a lot, every day you see another part of the ranch, or even further, into the Crazies for the whole day trip. The staff treats the horses with respect, so they ask you to do the same. I think that is a very fair deal, considering what they give you in return!
If we ever have the opportunity to go back to Montana, it will certainly be to the Bonanza Creek Ranch!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathl1Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinsdale
0.0 mi away
Bear Creek Ranch
Bear Creek Ranch
#1 of 1 in East Glacier Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bonanza Creek Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonanza Creek Guest Ranch

Property: Bonanza Creek Guest Ranch
Address: 523 Bonanza Creek Rd, Martinsdale, MT 59053-8704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Martinsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Martinsdale
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let your inner cowboy or cowgirl come alive at Bonanza Creek. We cater to those who like good horses, good riding, adventure, comfort and personal attention. A working cattle ranch that is a true horse riding experience. Four new cabins and a fabulous cook in the Crazy and Castle Mountains of central Montana. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bonanza Creek Guest Ranch Hotel Martinsdale
Bonanza Creek Guest Ranch Montana/Martinsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing