We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McLeod
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawley Mountain Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Honestly, this was one of the best vacations our family of five has ever had. The staff is knowledgeable, respectful and kind to all. The owners are not only on the premises, but they are involved in the activities and will do their very best to accommodate your wishes--the schedule is not set in stone. If you choose to ride the horses, you will receive excellent instruction and it's a beautiful way to see the Montana wilderness--the ranch is surrounded by the Gallatin National Forest. There is a lovely lodge with a fantastic mountain view, but we stayed in our own cabin--plenty of beds and hot showers for all. We ate three wonderful, home-cooked meals each day with the other guests, and so enjoyed getting to know them. Hawley Mountain is a very special place, and we really hope to go back.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
Thank love2hike2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2011

Our families stay at Hawley Mountain did not disappoint in any aspect of the word. We are actually headed back this year, July 2011, for our third time! We first stayed at Hawley in July of 07, second in July of 09, and now in July of 2011! The activities to do there are abundant and you will never find yourself bored in any way shape or form. The food is delicious and you will never go hungry! The owners are wonderful and very kind- you feel almost apart of their family during your stay. Wether you're a horse enthusiast or just love the great outdoors this is the spot for you! You also don't need to be an expert when it comes to horses, Hawley Mountain takes the time to place every guest with a horse that fits their riding ability so they can enjoy the Beartooth and Absaroka mountains to the fullest! Overall, this wonderful guest ranch offers some of the best food, fishing, views, hiking, horse-back riding, and experiences in Montana!

Room Tip: Lodge rooms have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yanfam2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

From the first view of this ranch I knew I had chosen the right place to go. The area is absolutely breath taking, the company by the staff is outstanding and the food is wonderful. Some days there is eloquent cuisine and other days it is cook out. There is always something to do for everyone. It is said that you need to see what God made from the back of a horse and I believe it now. I have traveled extensively and this is one of the finest places to visit. The staff treats you like family... anything they can do for you they will. If I could choose a place to revisit, it would be this one. For family or all by yourself... it does not get any better. I plan on going back again this year. It can be exciting and peaceful all at the same time. What a combination. What a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judiema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I just returned from spending a week at the ranch attending their Wellness Retreat. The staff provideed very high quality service, were always responsive and very friendly. You can do as much or as little as you like. Lots of good hiking, horseback riding and fly-fishing if those are your interests. This was my first exposure to yoga and meditation, and I would go again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_Wr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

We came to the ranch with four people that were horseback trail guides and ride all the time, and found that the horses (hey Bodie) and trails are great. The staff and owners made sure that you felt comfortable at the ranch. The food was plentiful and good, when you go on one of the lunch trips and ask for a sandwich it was made with real meat not lunchmeat. After three years I still tell people about it. You got to try it.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justthecowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

If you're an avid fly-fisher and enjoy a rustic outdoor adventure, there's probably not a better vacation value to be found than Hawley Mountain Guest Ranch! Just look at the photos: as gorgeous as they are, they don't even begin to do justice to what you see! The accomodations are comfortable, although rustic: if you're looking for deluxe or 'resort-style' accomodations, this isn't it. But if you're able to enjoy completely getting out of your routine and roughing it a bit for a week, 3 great home-cooked meals a day, meeting new people from all over the world and some of the best fly-fishing you'll find anywhere, this is for you. I've gone there 6 years now and it never gets old!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BocaDr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

My week at Hawley Mountain Ranch was one of the most memorable, enjoyable vacations I've had. The staff are wonderful and so hands-on. The meals were great (be prepared to gain weight in only a week). And I went on a yoga retreat, and found the glory of eating steak and sausage while doing kundalini yoga. A rare, but fruitful, combination.

The hikes, fishing and horseback riding were great, and the folks at the ranch really know what they're talking about.

I highly recommend this getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC_phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hawley Mountain Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawley Mountain Guest Ranch

Address: 4188 Main Boulder Rd, PO Box 4, McLeod, MT 59052-8834
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > McLeod
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in McLeod
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Montana in middle of a pristine wilderness just north of Yellowstone Park. Wild and remote, the last ranch at the end of a gravel road, you will get a mountain wilderness experience that includes a variety of activities: Horseback riding on spectacular mountain trails; Fly fish away from the crowds in a breath taking mountain setting; Hiking to unique scenic spots; A 4x4 ride to a ghost town and gold mines, a scenic boat float, and more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing